We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good presentation”

Anchorage Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $36
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Anchorage Restaurant, situated just a stones throw from the iconic Lagoon Beach, is the perfect venue, whether it be for morning coffee and breakfast, a quick lunch between walks or tours, a boozy afternoon in the sun, or a relaxing dinner after a hard days exploring. We are open 7 days for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Anchorage Restaurant is your go-to location during your stay.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good presentation”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Good food, pleasant location. Few customers on a Tuesday night.

It was here we first encountered the island quirk where you take the bill up to the bar to pay. We sat forever waiting for the waiter to come back and get our card to process.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smilingiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    129
    33
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good all-round option”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Anchorage is now located where Humpty Mick's was, opposite the post office. I don't know why TA hasn't updated the info and keeps listing Humpty Mick's when numerous people have pointed out the change. It has a lovely outdoor area with a view to the lagoon. Our group of 12 had dinner here twice, as well as numerous lunches, coffees and brunches by several of the group. Overall we were very happy with the quality of the food and service though there were a few glitches. On our first night the usual chef was off and one of our party did not get her meal for some time, and someone else's kingfish was almost raw. This was rectified (new dish provided) and the missing dish also turned out to be delicious when it finally arrived. My kingfish was slightly undercooked so I ate around it and left the raw bits, not a problem because I am not a huge eater. I pointed it out to the waiter so the chef would know there was a problem and they gave me a complimentary glass of dessert wine, which was appreciated. Desserts were divine. Another day I had the antipasto plate for lunch which was really good. It had some fried chicken which seemed an odd addition to an antipasto but was very tasty. It also had real Italian prosciutto. My friend had a beetroot salad which she said was delicious. Brunch another day was excellent, with delicious corn fritters. They also have ice cream, lovely bakery items, yummy muffins and beautiful sourdough bread, a real find when the other grocery stores sell really horrible bread. And you can get fruit as well as organic eggs. The fruit and eggs seem to vary according to availability as we didn't notice any eggs till the end of our trip. At certain times if you are on the left of the bar when facing the restaurant there is a whiff of sewerage so try not to sit in that area! All in all we rated it as one of the best restaurants we'd eaten at, along with Pandanus, with the Pandanus winning by a nose. But given its convenient location and its versatility as a cafe etc, it's a terrific addition to the Lord Howe scene. (They also have a shuttle bus if you need a lift home at the end of the evening.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neve97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corindi Beach, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Happy Faces”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very high quality food throughout the day at island prices. The service is excellent and always delivered with a smile. One can start the day with breakfast which is ideal before climbing aboard your aircraft for the flight home.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excruciating service”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

While we appreciate the food especially the rye bread, the setting and the amenity, the service is excruciating, slow and wrong. Anything beyond a cup of coffee was a challenge. i think it is communication between waiting staff and kitchen, the former do not follow through. Spoilt the great potential of this establishment. FYI the picture is wrong.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clairerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Badservice, overwhelming sewerage smell”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It's unfortunate that this restaurant must owe its livelihood to the fact that visitors have very little alternative.

We ate at the Anchorage 4 times - 3 times for lunch and once for dinner. Yes, we must be suckers for punishment, because each time was as bad as the last.

Each time we walked in for lunch we were ignored. When I say ignored, I mean we stood at the door for 10 minutes until we simply decided to seat ourselves. And then we were ignored even more. Which made it even funnier when a couple of (possibly local?) ladies walked in and were greeted loudly and warmly with "afternoon ladies, how are you today, what can i get you?" etc etc - while we looked on with horrified bemusement.

Eventually we just went up to the counter and ordered, where they looked a little surprised we'd approached - and before you question it, yes it is supposed to be table service.

The one time we dared try dinner we were seated on the edge so we had a view. What we got was an extreme odour of sewerage all night - apparently the restaurant had run our of water and so had to buy some elsewhere, but were running the toilets on water from the public loos next door. It was horrible. Makes you nervous about the kitchen.....

To top it off, dinner took well over an hour to come out - when the restaurant was well under half full.

The reason it gets 2 stars instead of 1 - the food is actually pretty good, especially the dinners. And Ben (who I think is the manager) does a decent job of trying to be friendly and cover for the rest of the staff who just seem to be absolutely useless.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage Restaurant also viewed

Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 

Been to Anchorage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing