We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arajilla Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Mosman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arajilla Resort”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Recently I visited the world-heritage Lord Howe Island off the New South Wales coast and stayed at Arajilla Resort. It was my second visit and I was incredibly impressed by the very high standard of accommodation and food. The staff and service at Arajilla were warm, friendly and accommodating.
The tariff includes all meals and I have to say that they were of a very high standard, particularly the 3-course dinners in the beautifully appointed verandah restaurant.
Ayurvedic treatments are available and conducted in a specially constructed yurt in the garden.
The island is only 7kms long and I had not ridden a bike for years but had no problems cycling all over the island. If you want night life then this is not the place to go however a perfect place if you're looking to relax and wind down. Highly recommended.
Sue Jenkins - Accoutrement, Sydney.

Helpful?
3 Thank sue_accoutrement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    22
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
145
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We were met at Lord Howe Island airport and driven to Arajilla. We were greeted graciously by the staff and given some tea while we registered and our bags were taken to our room. There is a very relaxed atmosphere and all staff from room service to management are there to help you. You get the feeling that you are the most important person and they have lots of time for you. Our suite had two levels - a living room area with comfy seats, television and a small table for eating with a small kitchenette. The bathroom with bath/shower toilet and sink looked out onto the garden. Upstairs the bedroom had a very comfortable bed, side tables with lamps for reading and a cabinet to hang your clothes and high windows so you could look into the tree tops - all in all a very peaceful and romantic atmosphere. There were overhead fans both upstairs and downstairs which could be operated as needed depending on the weather.
Arajilla is located a two minute walk from Old Settlement Beach which is a lovely place for a swim or walk. You can borrow a bike to explore more of the Island as we did and enjoy some of the amazing places such as Ned's beach where you can swim, feed the fish and snorkel. There are many other places to explore which are easily accessible by bike and then return to Arajilla for the most delicious meals. Their restaurant is surrounded by Banyan trees and, on a hot evening, the outer doors can be opened to let the ocean breezes flow through which gives a very relaxing feel as you enjoy your meal. We chose mostly seafood dishes and all were superbly prepared and served, especially the kingfish. You can get a delicious coffee or tea any time and enjoy it in one of the many seating areas while listening to the birds in the trees. There is a really wonderful spa where you can be pampered with a facial or massage and it is located along one of the many paths in a beautiful wooden structure. Arajilla is wonderful and I highly recommend it. If you are looking for a gentle and relaxing holiday in really wonderful surroundings then this is it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chskyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Our honeymoon at Arajilla Retreat (Romance package) was very special. It has a relaxed, secluded location amongst a small forest of palms, while being only a short walk from the centre of the island's tiny "town" and lagoon. We stayed in a split level Banyan suite, bedroom upstairs. It was fabulous, with a huge bathroom (with a sweet bay window box seat), a great kitchenette, and a very comfortable lounge and dining room. The bed was super comfy! Everything was spotlessly clean. We even had a covered verandah with table and chairs, where we had the most romantic dinner served to us on our last evening of our honeymoon. Sheree put up hibiscus flowers on the balcony and on the table, with candles around, and the ipod playing perfect background music. It couldn't have been more special. The service was fantastic. The meals were "to die for" (who said the French were best?). The staff were all so very friendly. Arajilla certainly helped to make our honeymoon so very special. We had the most scrumptious romantic picnic lunch provided for us at a beautiful spot at Cobby's Corner (a place of our choosing). We even got driven to this spot, with our picnic (including a bottle of wine) and picked up some hours later. Thank you Arajilla for a wonderful and relaxing stay on lovely Lord Howe. We'd certainly love to come back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gongtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We have spent four days in Arajilla in November celebrating our wedding anniversary.
Arajilla is well-positioned near the old settlement beach frequented by friendly turtles and with reasonable snorkeling, the water however it's quite cold in November so wetsuits come in handy. We have spent our days hiking, biking around the island using bicycles provided by the retreat, snorkeling, feeding friendly fish at Ned's Beach only to arrive in the evening to sample the fine cuisine that the resort offers. We had at Banyan tree apartment which was clean and very comfortable. One day we tried the Spa and had a wonderful experience having an Ayruvedic facial and the massage. The staff are very friendly in a casual, laid-back way and everything is well organised well planned for a relaxing and laid-back holiday. Well worth recommending.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We have always heard about Lord Howe but had no reason to visit. Finally we get there. After staying at The Arajilla we have found a oasis on our doorstep - 2 hours flight from Brisbane and Sydney
Bill Shead - the owner of Arajilla, could not have been more hospitable. The general running of Arajilla was relaxed and comfortable but incredibly professional. The staff are happy and committed to their guests, creating a very friendly and easy environment. The food was sensational - fish fresh from the ocean, quality meats from the Mainland, herbs from the garden and an abundance of fresh fruit and vegetables. Because of the full board option - breakfast, lunch and dinner were all provided, we were very happy with this arrangement, and would organise a picnic lunch to take fishing or walking when required. Bill works on his wine list regularly - there is always something available for all tastes.
The Ayurveda spa treatments were a real treat with Scott and yoga with Kim - Bill's daughter, was very special
Go enjoy a pristine island in a very special part of Australia, there is plenty to do but staying at the Arajilla gave us the opportunity competely relax and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolairvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figtree
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We recently enjoyed a 5 night stay which was very comfortably and relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed all meals - exceptional food and wine. The staff complimented the relaxing style of the holiday and were wonderful. Lord Howe Island is a great destination and Arajilla is very well located.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryLoraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upper hunter nsw
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2010

from the time we left sydney we were already relaxing the short flight and the spectacular view from the plane just enhansed that we had made the right choice in our destination .
The welcome at the airport and tour before we arrived at Arajilla to a surprise amongst the Banyan trees the staff were welcoming knowing just what was needed to make our stay pleasurable . From the welcome drinks in the afternoon to the room fairies nothing was amiss Days were spent as we wished we had organised a cooking weekend with peter evans met some lovely new friends and spent our time exploring the island snorkeling and walking bike riding and of course tasting some beautiful seafood . The meals are all inclusive as were the snorkeling gear and bikes tours can be organised and staff are always on hand with suggestions if needed or to pack your lunch for your day ahead we will return to conquor the walks and sites we missed definatly a place to visit add this to your must sees

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenUpperHunterNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lord Howe Island
0.3 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
280 reviews
1.2 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#3 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island

Property: Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Address: Lagoon Road | Old Settlement Beach, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm and friendly service and laid back ambience, Arajilla Retreat encapsulates the very essence of Lord Howe Island, offering guests a haven of tranquillity and peace. Arajilla is perfectly positioned on the northern sheltered end of the Island’s lagoon just behind Old Settlement Beach, where meandering pathways lead through native gardens to the beach, to its serene Ayurvedic Spa luxurious suites and renowned restaurant. Explore the extraordinary scenery and wildlife of World Heritage listed Lord Howe Island. Walk bush trails, climb mountains, swim, surf, snorkel, fish, cycle around the Island, play golf beneath the mountains, take it easy on a deserted beach, enjoy a massage or treatment, savour fine food and wine. And it’s all less than a two hour flight from Sydney or Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arajilla Retreat Hotel Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing