We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Nearby Hotels
Pinetrees Lodge(Lord Howe Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leanda-Lei Apartments(Lord Howe Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Capella Lodge(Lord Howe Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Somerset Apartments(Lord Howe Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
    Beachcomber Lodge(Lord Howe Island)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Earl's Anchorage(Lord Howe Island)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Milky Way Holiday Villas(Lord Howe Island)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    Oceanview Apartments(Lord Howe Island)
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (265)
    Filter reviews
    265 results
    Traveler rating
    231
    23
    7
    4
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    231
    23
    7
    4
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssettlement beachkentia palmsbanyan treesfishwonderful massagespa treatmentstrying too hardincredible staffincluded mealsbbq lunchsnorkeling equipmentother guestsbbq packhigh tideattention to detailfive nightsfirst name basis
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    145 - 150 of 265 reviews
    Reviewed December 3, 2013

    We chose to stay at Arajilla on the basis of other trip advisor reviews and we were glad we did. This beautifully designed complex offers privacy and comfort in a glorious garden setting amid kentia palms and banyans, located conveniently near most of the major attractions of the island. We were in the most basic level of room and it was spacious, well-appointed, immaculate and comfortable. A network of boardwalks through the gardens connects the rooms to the restaurant and the spa-massage building.
    Everything has been carefully considered to give guests a pleasurable stay. The staff are all warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Staff advise on the walks and trips available and will book them for you. All equipment you might need, bicycles, snorkels, masks and fins, beach towels etc is included in your tariff as well as all meals. Indeed, the food in the restaurant is so good that people staying at other resorts book in there for dinner when there's room. If you're going out for a full day's walking or swimming, you will be provided with a packed lunch to take along.
    The rooms are serviced daily, with clean towels and replenishment of catering supplies and in the evening, the beds are turned down while guests are at dinner so you come back to a softly-lit room with a herbal fragrance to invite you to bed.
    During evening drinks or while sitting enjoying a cuppa in the lounge, it is interesting to talk to the owners, Bill and Jan, about the history of the place. They'll show you the photos of what it was like when they bought it. It's amazing to see what they started with and what they've achieved.
    We loved our stay at Arajilla and would certainly choose it again if we are able to return to Lord Howe.

    Room Tip: Kentia rooms are closer to the restaurant and lounge in the event of bad weather but all rooms have umbrellas provided for this.
    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Bjerkana
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 1, 2013

    I just got home yesterday after two weeks staying at arajilla, there is no other place to stay on Lord Howe. Wonderous service superb A1, food the best,The best massages EVER..A peaceful Tranquil feeling comes over you when you stay among the forest on Lord Howe Island.The wonderous songs of the beautiful birds are continuously heard throughout the day.The flow of the breeze goes through the Kentia palms and the Banyan trees.A short distance away the waves can be heard washing ashore on the beach.This is a heavenly place to come to rest and forget the noise of the cities far away.....J.M.F.

    Room Tip: They all looked to be good but i stayed in a two bedroom suite and i also had two bathrooms one with a bath and the other with a shower. Excellent.
    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank juleenF
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 26, 2013

    I have traveled the world my entire life and I have never stayed at a more wonderful resort ever. The food was without a doubt the best food I have ever eaten period and the staff was so friendly it boarded on to friendly :) If you visit Lord Howe Island you must stay at Arajilla Lodge.

    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank JebCorliss
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review Jeb. We acknowledge how well travelled you are, so we’re absolutely thrilled to hear you refer to Arajilla as the best place you have ever stayed! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our food and our friendly staff so much! It was fabulous to have you and your team of adrenalin junkies stay with us – and a great experience to see you in action on Ball’s Pyramid! Hope to see you again soon!
    Kind regards,
    Janne & Bill Shead

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 19, 2013

    Thank you to Arajilla and the wonderful staff. Lord Howe Island is a magical place to visit with everyone being so friendly. Arajilla ensured our stay was 5 star and it was a pity we didn't stay longer. The food was excellent, the rooms were very pleasant. The lodge is close to the turtle spotting and only around the corner from the fish feeding at Ned's beach.
    My wife is only new to Australia and what a way to introduce her to it. Special thanks in particular to Rebecca, Kate and Rochelle for all our requests during our stay.

    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Eddie C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

    Thank you for your review – we appreciate you taking the time to give such positive feedback. We too believe Lord Howe Island is a magical place, and we love to share this with our guests!
    We are pleased you enjoyed your stay within one of our Banyan Suites - we have recently completed a major refurbishment to our Banyan Suites and we could not be happier, they are fabulous!
    Arajilla’s location by Old Settlement Beach and close proximity to Ned’s Beach is ‘second to none’ – what a great Australian destination to introduce your wife to!
    Thanks again for your review - our staff find great pleasure in knowing guests have had a wonderful holiday, I will be sure to pass on your special thanks to Rebecca, Kate & Rochelle!
    We hope to see you again.
    Kind regards,
    Janne & Bill Shead

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed November 19, 2013

    We can recommend unreservedly a relaxing holiday at Arajilla. The attentive, caring and friendly management and staff helped make our stay at Arajilla a very relaxing time, which was just what we both needed. The suites were extremely comfortable with every amenity provided - all snorkelling gear, bikes & helmets to get around the island and vehicle transport if requested.
    The four chefs at the resort do a fantastic job providing 3 meals daily as part of your package and the quality was sensational.
    Tip: If you wish to take a fishiing boat book well ahead (preferably at time of booking - Arajilla will do this) as 3 of the 4 fishing boats for hire were out of the water because the mechanic was visiting the island for boat servicing the week we were there.

    • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Elizabeth439
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

    Thank you Elizabeth, for your lovely review. It was wonderful to have you here at Arajilla and we are so pleased you both found the relaxing time you needed. Furthermore, thank you for your kind words regarding our fabulous Chefs and staff here at Arajilla - we absolutely agree, the food is sensational and so is our team!
    Be sure to visit again some time soon.
    Kind regards,
    Janne & Bill Shead

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews