We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Weeks in Paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I just got home yesterday after two weeks staying at arajilla, there is no other place to stay on Lord Howe. Wonderous service superb A1, food the best,The best massages EVER..A peaceful Tranquil feeling comes over you when you stay among the forest on Lord Howe Island.The wonderous songs of the beautiful birds are continuously heard throughout the day.The flow of the breeze goes through the Kentia palms and the Banyan trees.A short distance away the waves can be heard washing ashore on the beach.This is a heavenly place to come to rest and forget the noise of the cities far away.....J.M.F.

Room Tip: They all looked to be good but i stayed in a two bedroom suite and i also had two bathrooms one with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juleenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 242 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have traveled the world my entire life and I have never stayed at a more wonderful resort ever. The food was without a doubt the best food I have ever eaten period and the staff was so friendly it boarded on to friendly :) If you visit Lord Howe Island you must stay at Arajilla Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JebCorliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Jeb. We acknowledge how well travelled you are, so we’re absolutely thrilled to hear you refer to Arajilla as the best place you have ever stayed! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our food and our friendly staff so much! It was fabulous to have you and your team of adrenalin junkies stay with us – and a great experience to see you in action on Ball’s Pyramid! Hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Thank you to Arajilla and the wonderful staff. Lord Howe Island is a magical place to visit with everyone being so friendly. Arajilla ensured our stay was 5 star and it was a pity we didn't stay longer. The food was excellent, the rooms were very pleasant. The lodge is close to the turtle spotting and only around the corner from the fish feeding at Ned's beach.
My wife is only new to Australia and what a way to introduce her to it. Special thanks in particular to Rebecca, Kate and Rochelle for all our requests during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your review – we appreciate you taking the time to give such positive feedback. We too believe Lord Howe Island is a magical place, and we love to share this with our guests!
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay within one of our Banyan Suites - we have recently completed a major refurbishment to our Banyan Suites and we could not be happier, they are fabulous!
Arajilla’s location by Old Settlement Beach and close proximity to Ned’s Beach is ‘second to none’ – what a great Australian destination to introduce your wife to!
Thanks again for your review - our staff find great pleasure in knowing guests have had a wonderful holiday, I will be sure to pass on your special thanks to Rebecca, Kate & Rochelle!
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We can recommend unreservedly a relaxing holiday at Arajilla. The attentive, caring and friendly management and staff helped make our stay at Arajilla a very relaxing time, which was just what we both needed. The suites were extremely comfortable with every amenity provided - all snorkelling gear, bikes & helmets to get around the island and vehicle transport if requested.
The four chefs at the resort do a fantastic job providing 3 meals daily as part of your package and the quality was sensational.
Tip: If you wish to take a fishiing boat book well ahead (preferably at time of booking - Arajilla will do this) as 3 of the 4 fishing boats for hire were out of the water because the mechanic was visiting the island for boat servicing the week we were there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you Elizabeth, for your lovely review. It was wonderful to have you here at Arajilla and we are so pleased you both found the relaxing time you needed. Furthermore, thank you for your kind words regarding our fabulous Chefs and staff here at Arajilla - we absolutely agree, the food is sensational and so is our team!
Be sure to visit again some time soon.
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

As a first time visitor to LHI there was not enough time to do what you wanted to achieve in just 7 days. That's how fantastic the place is.
Our stay at Arajilla was complete. The resort is ideally positioned at the northern end of the island with easy access to Settlement beach and also to the town centre.
The staff at Arajilla were delightful, the meals were of a high standard and the only problem was that we had to leave. Thanks to all at Arajilla for a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Tony thank you for your review, it's great to hear you had such a fabulous stay at Arajilla!
We’re so happy you enjoyed our delicious menu, and that you found our staff so delightful – we completely agree with you! We‘re all passionate about ensuring our guests enjoy their stay while on Lord Howe Island and it makes our day to know your break away was so special.
We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The most fantastic holiday we have had. Arajilla was without a doubt outstanding in all aspects, the rooms, the people, the meals, and the location. Lord Howe Island was absolutely wonderful and a testiment to those who work there, live there and to those who visit it. We went as a family and we, and our children loved it all.... bush walking, snorkelling with fish, turtles, bikeriding, and the freedom of the island. Without a doubt we will be returning. Thank you again for everything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review Kirsty - we pride ourselves on each and every aspect that your review so favorably mentions, our rooms, our staff, our food, our wonderful location on Old Settlement Beach – thank you!
It makes us so happy to hear that your holiday at Arajilla Lodge was the most fantastic holiday you and your family have had – this is what we strive for!
Lord Howe Island is a very special destination, it is wonderful to hear you and your children experienced many of the amazing things the Island has to offer.
We look forward to your next visit to Arajilla!
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The island, the resort, the food and the staff at Arajilla are truly exceptional. Lord Howe Island is without a doubt one of the most magical places that we've had the pleasure of visiting. Our stay could not have been more enjoyable with well appointed and very comfortable rooms, absolutely delicious meals in the restaurant and 5 star service from every staff member throughout our stay. Arajilla is a credit to it's owners and staff and our sincere thanks to all for a magnificent holiday.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, Owner at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you Amelia, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that your time with us at Arajilla was truly exceptional. We make every effort to provide a wonderful experience for our guests and to hear this has been achieved – makes our day! We are extremely proud of our staff, our food, our rooms and our lodge, it's great to hear you refer to your time spent with us as magnificent – on behalf of Arajilla, you are very welcome!
Be sure to visit again soon!
Kind regards,
Janne & Bill Shead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#5 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island

Address: Lagoon Road | Old Settlement Beach, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: $753 - $1,530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its warm and friendly service and laid back ambience, Arajilla Retreat encapsulates the very essence of Lord Howe Island, offering guests a haven of tranquillity and peace. Arajilla is perfectly positioned on the northern sheltered end of the Island’s lagoon just behind Old Settlement Beach, where meandering pathways lead through native gardens to the beach, to its serene Ayurvedic Spa luxurious suites and renowned restaurant. Explore the extraordinary scenery and wildlife of World Heritage listed Lord Howe Island. Walk bush trails, climb mountains, swim, surf, snorkel, fish, cycle around the Island, play golf beneath the mountains, take it easy on a deserted beach, enjoy a massage or treatment, savour fine food and wine. And it’s all less than a two hour flight from Sydney or Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arajilla Retreat Hotel Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat Lord Howe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing