We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Blue Lagoon Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lord Howe Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Lagoon Lodge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The units at Blue Lagoon are clean comfortable with lush grounds, and the staff are fantastic. It's also in the best spot on the island ... Close to the lagoon, Neds Beach, numerous walking tracks and the Anchorage.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
40
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had previously stayed at Leanda Lei on Lord Howe and were very happy there, but they didn't have any 1 bedroom apartments in the week we wanted (Rockfest week!), so we booked a 1 bedroom apartment at Blue Lagoon. TA reviews looked promising and we were not disappointed. The buildings are older style - look like they were built in the 60s or 70s, but therooms have been well modernised internally.

We were pleasantly surprised to be given a 2 bedroom apartment (Unit 1), this gave us plenty of room for the 2 of us to rattle around in. Second bedroom had 4 single beds, but we just used it as a place to put the cases. The master bedroom was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The lounge/dining/kitchen was quite roomy and we were able to have friends over to dinner on a couple of nights in comfort. Kitchen had a 4 burner gas stove, microwave, full size fridge, kitchen and heaps of cupboard space. The TV was of adequate size - but like everywhere else, viewing options are limited to a couple of free to air satellite channels aimed at the Northern Territory.

There was a good sized timber deck with outdoor furniture at the front. Bathroom was very roomy.

We made good use of the covered gas BBQs outside.

The laundry has 1 washing machine (4X$1 coins), but there is no dryer. 2 laundry tubs.

Bathroom and beach towels are changed on request.

Combined with proximity to the "town centre" (Thompson's store, the Co-op, post office & the Anchorage cafe), Lagoon beach and Ned's beach, this was a great place to stay. We'd happily stay here again.

The team at Blue Lagoon were great - when flights were delayed due to weather, they went above and beyond expectations to keep us informed and help sort it out.

The only down-side, in common with most properties on the island, is the speed of the internet access - to all intents and purposes it isn't usable. Speeds we accepted on the mainland 10 years ago just aren't adequate for modern websites.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were completely happy with out 10 day stay at the Blue Lagoon Logde. From the minute we arrived until out departure we felt like one of the family. The location is perfect, right in the middle of town, close to the Lagoon and Neds Beach, bike hire available, rooms cleaned daily.
Next visit we will not hesitae to stay there again, thanks to all the staff for making our stay so pleasant and memorable. The onsite transit lounge was a bonus also on fly out day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marksquizzytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My family of 4 stayed on the island from 18th Jan for a week, and what a great place.

We had 6 good days of great weather and were able to enjoy all the water activities snorkelling, scuba, paddle boarding, etc

Accommodation is a basic room with a kitchenette , microwave and small electric pan. we were expecting something a bit more substantial to self cater as food on the island is very expensive.

Average price of dinner for 4 was $150 to $200 per night.

The rooms are comprised of a double bed, tv , kitchenette and bathroom - all very clean and tidy with a small verandah. Grounds are very tropical and very private.

The rooms have a skylight so take some eye shades if you are a bit sensitive to morning light.

Great location and we thoroughly enjoyed our week

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I had a week on Lord Howe Island in November 2013 staying at Blue Lagoon Lodge. We had a studio which was entirely suitable and spacious for the two of us. Kitchen facilities were adequate for cooking meals, with a microwave, electric frypan, and toaster. There are bbq facilities within the grounds. The room and ensuite were very clean and it was a nice touch to have flowers on the bed and table when we first arrived. Staff were friendly and were happy to replace towels, remove rubbish daily and change the bed linen after 4 days (we thought they would leave it for the week). The lodge is in an excellent location with a store next door, shops very close and a restaurant which is open for breakfast through to dinner just a few metres away. We did a lot of walking, since the Island is relatively small, but did use the Lodge's bicycles one day which we found to be very good for a couple of oldies who hadn't been on bikes for a very long time! We were impressed with the way Blue Lagoon, and other Lodges, offer a free minibus to take guests to their choice of restaurant each evening and with the chosen restaurant returning diners to their accommodation after the meal. A suggestion - if walking or cycling to get food from Joy's Store, take a little chilly bag, especially if buying perishables like icecream, or it might be melted by the time you get back to Blue Lagoon! Loved Lord Howe Island and really enjoyed our stay at Blue Lagoon - would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Studio room entirely adequate for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiwi13john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and adult daughter and I shared a studio for a week, and whilst a bit cramped with 3 people, the room was spacious enough for light cooking, with a small table, an electric fry pan, a microwave, toaster and refrigerator (and there is a grill on the grounds, so you can cook fresh fish easily). The room was simply furnished, but had everything we needed, with fresh towels whenever we asked for them. I think they've thought of everything a visitor might need, including internet that worked pretty well much of the time. The staff are lovely -- this is a family-run establishment with a long history (ask for the story of the family photo in the office), and each member of the family is very friendly, and they all take pride in their lodge. Everyone is very helpful, and eager to share tips and recommendations for walks, beaches, restaurants, etc. The location is ideal for walking to both Old Settlement and Ned's beaches, and it's very convenient to the free phone and the general store. Really an ideal location.

Everyone gets around the island on bikes, and you can rent one easily at Blue Lagoon, but they aren't the best quality. If you're going to ride a lot, it might be worth getting a better bike at Wilson's. We ended up walking more than riding, so it didn't matter too much.

Lord Howe is a magical place, and Blue Lagoon is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed for five nights in December. We were met at the Airport and given a guide to the Island on our way to the Lodge. The rooms were clean and the serviced daily. Blue Lagoon is ideally appointed, close to the general store, some great restaurants, the beach and the activities. A great additional service is offered each night to anyone visiting a restaurant a little distance away, with the Lodge supplying transport and the restaurant driving us back after dinner. The bush walks were spectacular (no snakes!).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathieS92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#6 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Milky Way Holiday Villas
#3 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Lodge

Property: Blue Lagoon Lodge
Address: 10 Neds Beach Road, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Lord Howe Island
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is located moments away from shops, restaurants and pristine beaches; and because of our prime position, we are the ideal venue for you to stay whilst you enjoy all that this idyllic part of the South Pacific has to offer. Blue Lagoon Lodge welcomes singles, couples, families or group bookings. We offer studio, one and two bedroom apartments, with great value accommodation and rates to satisfy any budget. We are proud of our friendly holiday lodge and want you to feel welcome and enjoy your stay with us on World Heritage listed Lord Howe Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing