We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to dine”

Coral Cafe at the Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 1, 2014

If you get a chance, order the squid entree, it is the best tasty and most tender squid I have EVER had!

Thank Hallett505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 220 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

The worst meal I have had in years my partners was as bad as mine, it was so bad we sent the whole meal back, I would never go back,all 6 meals at our table had the same overpowering sauce, all on different meals, and also the fish we had was over cooked and was like eating cardboard,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSia, Owner at Coral Cafe at the Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Nalder ,
Thank you for your feedback and I am sure we can learn a lot from your feedback.
First of all , I am sorry if you have such a bad experience and we wish we could have given the opportunity to make it up to you there and then on the night itself. We did however , gave you the different options after your complaints and you accepted different dishes on the menu. If you were not satisfied with the replacement , we would have refunded your money.
Please understand we accepted the six of you without any prior booking after you walked out on another restaurant. because they did not give you what you want. We do our best to give you what you want if there is any issues , we do appreciate you telling us and we definitely will do our best to satisfy your requests.
I dropped you all back to your apartments as part of our courtesy bus service . Nobody in your group ever mentioned to me about the problems you have that evening and I assumed you have a great evening .
I hope the bad experience do not stopped you from coming to Lord Howe Island and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We found this cafe/restaurant and thought it was just a cafe but found it was open some nights for dinner as well. Excellent food (I believe the owner also owns Pandanus Restaurant). There is often informative talks at the museum by local people so this is great to be able to have a meal afterwards at the same venue. Open 7 days breakfast, lunch and some nites. Need to book.

Thank crompos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We ate here on Asian night and really enjoyed our meals. The menu and the wine list is small but our meals were delicious and was very reasonably priced.

Thank Shep196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great place to pick up a sandwich or coffee with a museum to wander through. Good service with yummy food.

1  Thank Jetlady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Cafe at the Museum also viewed

Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 

Been to Coral Cafe at the Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing