We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kingfish was amazing”

Pandanus Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kingfish was amazing”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had kingfish at a few restaurants on the island but this was without doubt a standout. The dessert was delicious too.
The service was good and on the way home, the owner took us to see muttonbirds near Neds Beach - an unexpected but welcome detour.
Make sure you dine at this restaurant if eating out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    76
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent menu & terrific staff”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Beautiful dinners. Food excellent with excellent chefs. Steve always friendly & just an amazing person. We enjoyed our dinners & service. Always a fun ride home to our accommodation by Steve.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“best food on the island”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent our honeymoon on Lord Howe in 1988 , for our 25th anniversary we returned and booked Pandanus for our special night . We were not disappointed , the food , wine and service was perfect . Thank you for making our special anniversary memorable .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobnrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSia, Manager at Pandanus Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Antipasto its Great”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Service, Food and Atmosphere are very excellent. The waiters are efficient, the food delightful with reasonable proportions. The antipasto for two was wonderful, a real treat. Chef-made Turkish Delight flavoured Ice cream accompanying the dessert was not to be missed. The wine list is limited though adequate (same owner as Coral Café). Pricing is on par with an equivalent Sydney restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RetireeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSia, Manager at Pandanus Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittagong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best place to eat on Lord Howe”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We ate out at a few different places on Lord Howe and thought this was the pick of the bunch. Amazing food! We had a pizza and steak for dinner and and a pork belly/squid entree. It was superb.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSia, Manager at Pandanus Restaurant, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pandanus Restaurant also viewed

Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 

Been to Pandanus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing