We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all-rounder”

Pandanus Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We ate once here a la carte and once on the Asian night. The food was consistently good to excellent, especially the Asian menu. (I'd recommend the spring roll entree - maybe unoriginal, but really well executed.)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AH5352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSia, Manager at Pandanus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 212 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved the food here so much we kept going back. The service was excellent and the food was amazing.

1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSia, Owner at Pandanus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We ate there on two nights, the asian night(weekends) was OK, not too spicy...but not spicy enough. The other, an A la carte night, was better, we had the Pork Belly, which was very good. Nice staff and good service. Like all the restaurants on the island, prior bookings are recommended and last orders must be in by 7.30pm or thereabouts(everyone eats at 6.30 it seems).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSia, Owner at Pandanus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We came on Fish Fry night (saturday) to try the fish of Lord Howe and Pandanus delivered a satisfying meal.

We had the option of steak or fish. We both opted for fish but was not given the choice of how it was to be done and was given battered fish (which was lovely nonetheless). You can choose grill if you are after another option. The salad buffet was the highlight of the evening with four varieties; 1) asian-influenced vermicelli (my partner's favourite) 2) fried rice style "salad" 3) roast pumpkin, chick pea, zucchini salad 4) garden salad.

The decor and layout of the restaurant was visually pleasing and relaxing so it made our meal very enjoyable. Lighting was good, so you could see what you were eating.

The head-chef Stephen chose our wine well. He was a very amiable and friendly gentleman who later drove us home and we had a very good conversation. If only all restaurants in Sydney provide such customer satisfaction.

If you are not looking for something over the top in value with a relaxing atmosphere for a relaxing holiday on Lord Howe, then don't miss Pandanus.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KimberlyJohnson88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We tried meals here on two occasions, with different menus on offer each night. Both were enjoyable.

Thank KimT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pandanus Restaurant also viewed

Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 

Been to Pandanus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing