We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food poor atmosphere”

Beachhouse on the Moon
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food poor atmosphere”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was good bistro style food - overpriced but that is the case everywhere on Lord Howe and Milky Way aka 'Beachhouse on the Moon' is no exception here. The service was unprofessional, but pleasant enough. The setting however, was very lacking - plastic outdoor chairs in what seemed to be a garage with extra windows and concrete floor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Generous fish and chips..”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had the Friday night fish and chips at Milky Ways restaurant which has gone upmarket and up priced since our previous visit 5 years ago. However the portions of kingfish, calamari, prawns were excellent and far larger than we experience in any of the other eateries on the island. The fish was perfectly cooked and the service was very friendly. Price of $25 was some $5 less than we found in the other restaurants and the portions much larger. Very reasonably priced cheesecake rounded off the meal. Over the last 20 years this has evolved from takeaway on the beach to full restaurant service.It been one of our favourite eating spots and despite the changes we still rate it highly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank glensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sit down fish and chips”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely bushland setting in large conservatory area. My fish was very tasty, salads fresh, service good. Wine list was as you would expect for casual dining place and they did not over price. Prices like everything else on the island are high but you have to remember almost everything is imported.
Fish and chips and salad $28 Wine about $ 30 for a pleasant little white

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodtrishmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expensive Fish and Chips”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had takeaway seafood basket from Beachhouse on the Moon my last night on Lord Howe Island back in April 2012. For around $20, I expected better. The food was too greasy and the fish and seafoods' lack of seasoning showed they didn't really care. My tip is go to one of the more highly-rated restaurants.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CubicletoReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloela, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Friday night dining on Lord Howe”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We attended the fish fry/steak buffet at the Milky Way accommodation which is near Old Settlement Beach.

I had steak and my husband had the fish. Both meals were under $30 each which included either the steak or fish, salad buffet and garlic bread. Desert could aldo be ordered for an extra $8.

The food was fresh and tasty and the whole thing was well organised. We put our names on the booking list and on arrival were shown straight to our table and the waitress explained what was on offer.

Eftpos was available. We would dine here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qldgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachhouse on the Moon also viewed

Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 
Lord Howe Island, Australia
Lord Howe Island, Australia
 

Been to Beachhouse on the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing