We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation made easy”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Lagoon Landing

Lagoon Landing is beautifully located opposite Lord Howe's pristine (and deserted!) lagoon beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lagoon Landing is beautifully located opposite Lord Howe's pristine (and deserted!) lagoon beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Lagoon Landing is beautifully located opposite Lord Howe's pristine (and deserted!) lagoon beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lord Howe Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
UKTripAdv...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxation made easy”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Lagoon Landing in January 2017. We booked it before the building work had been completed based on the reviews of the sister property.

Relaxation set in from the moment we landed on Lord Howe Island. Rod met us from the airstrip, gave us a guided tour of the island, pointing out the good places to eat, and delivered us to the property. He made it clear that we were to let him know when we needed a lift to one of the restaurants in the evening. A bottle of wine and some other goodies awaited our arrival. The facilities were explained and directions to the general store, out of the garden, and to the bottle shop were given. When we went to hire bikes we were told that we could have some on the following day. We were asked where we were staying and all of a sudden everything was sorted; Lisa had already made a reservation for us and we rode away there and then.

The property is just across the road from a long sandy beach, centrally located on a flat part of the island. It consists of two adjacent one bedroom bungalows and a really useful separate laundry building. It was spotless and the fittings and equipment were quality. The free wifi ran without a hitch. Rod was around most days, sweeping up the BBQ area, making sure everything was OK, and checking whether we needed a lift that evening.

Lord Howe Island is a little gem, and Rod and Lisa helped us make the most of it. Would we stay there again? Yes, in a flash!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0bski
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in one of the cottages here for 10 nights in Jan/Feb and absolutely loved it!

Lagoon Landing is in a great location, on the flat, really close to the lagoon (a great part of the beach), Joy's shop, the bottle shop, the museum, and some of the island's hikes.

The cottage is really nicely decorated and the perfect size for a couple. The wifi is really fast (which we didn't expect!), the library is good enough to keep you going and the welcome food and drinks and really generous and helpful. Everything works well and we had everything we needed. It was unusually hot while we were there and the ceiling fans weren't quite enough to keep us cool at night but I'm sure they're fine for most of the time.

The cottages are very close together but they're designed so you don't see the other guests unless you or they have a need to walk past your cottage to get through one of the two gates. We didn't hear a peep out of anyone in the other cottage our entire stay.

Ron and Lisa are both lovely hosts. We saw Ron most days when he dropped by to tidy up, and we loved having a chat with him. He very kindly took my husband fishing one day! We had a small issue with noise from the neighbours and it was very swiftly dealt with (thank you!). It seemed like nothing was too much trouble.

We loved saying hello to the resident horse and chickens too.

Highly recommended, and we liked it so much we booked for next year on our way back to the airport!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiftytrav...
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

On our 4th (or maybe 5th?) visit to Lord Howe Island we obviously love the place as a perfect relaxing and rejuvenating spot for a break. The opportunity to cycle, walk and swim in a beautiful environment is priceless.

Lagoon Landing was just opened after a refurbishment when we stayed and was really a great find. The cottage is light and attractive with a comfortable bed, lounges, breezy verandahs, modern bathroom - and best of all - on the flat right on the lagoon. Having stayed "up the hill' on other occasions it was nice to be able to cycle home without an uphill slog and also to set off each day at an easy pace. The lagoon is literally across the road and almost always empty (which astonishes us) so perfect for early morning walks and swims. A short walk to the nearby Bowling Club, the bottle shop and Joy's shop for supplies all make it a very convenient location.

Our hosts provided fresh bread, cheese, condiments, butter and eggs plus tea and coffee (and a bottle of wine and some beer I recall) which was a fantastic welcome and very generous.

Only slight down side - the other cottage is right next door and there are a few neighbours who come and go in the adjoining fields so absolute privacy not guaranteed - but probably isn't in other places either.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2017
Very pleased to report that our new planting around and between the beach houses has flourished since September- bananas are even fruiting! And yes, the location is in a rural setting so the animals do need some attention.....Meeko (our horse) has quickly learned the source of the chook bucket scraps in the paddock!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyDun
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven!”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment we landed on Lord Howe Island we knew we were in paradise.
Immaculate accommodation, beautiful decor, quality linen and fittings throughout, fragrant frangipani outside your door, simply gorgeous.
Lagoon Landing is directly opposite pristine crystal clear lagoon waters. Many relaxing hours spent swimming, reading and gazing at the gorgeous views.
Lisa and Rod are the perfect hosts, highly recommend this property.
Hope to visit again one day. Fingers crossed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;