We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Milky Way Holiday Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I and another couple spent seven nights on Lord Howe Island at the Milky Way Holiday Villas.
After landing our host Josie picked us up and gave us a tour of the island. Our first three days were fun filled with good weather then unfortunately the rest of our stay was wind and rain. The islanders were smiling because their low water tank levels were topped up.
Milky Way is located in a leafy location at the northern end of Lord Howe Island. An easy and scenic twelve minute walk takes you into ‘town’. An equally easy two minute walk gets you onto the wide and gently sloping and sandy bottomed Old Settlement Beach. Old Settlement Beach is within the island’s lagoon. Quite often here sea turtles pop their heads up even at waist depth. Some 200m further out in the lagoon is the Sylph Hole buoy surrounded by coral and an assortment of fish. Keep an eye out for the lionfish.
The Milky Way staff was fantastic and accommodated our every need. They booked and transported their guests to dinner at any of the islands restaurants and the deal was that restaurant then transported the guests back to Milky Way if they so wished. In place at the resort is an honesty system. Liquor and food items are kept in the rear of the always open restaurant. If any of these items are required you simply open a tab by entering your name on it, retrieve what you want, enter what it is and the price displayed and at the end of your stay you settle your tab.
Our one bedroom Mooreii unit was very clean and well appointed and close to the establishment’s Beach House on the Moon Restaurant. On arrival we found enough food in the fridge to keep us going for a couple of breakfasts. In the unit was the bedroom with two very comfortable king size single beds pushed together. Off the bedroom was an en suite and walk-in robe. The living/kitchen area has a TV and DVD player, a table and two chairs as well as a two seat sofa. The kitchen area has a four burner gas stove, microwave and small fridge. A good range of crockery cutlery and cooking utensils are kept in the kitchen’s units
Because of heavy bookings at the time, we were moved into a Belmoreana one bedroom studio for our last night. The unit was located in a more private part of the property and was probably the most northern holiday accommodation on the island. While smaller than our Mooreii unit the studio had the bare essentials. There was no walk-in robe which was understandable but annoyingly only one bedside table and reading lamp. There is adequate room for these two items to be installed. From the studio’s shared rear balcony we had fabulous views over open paddocks to Kim’s Lookout and Malabar Hill. The paddock view off to right took in what’s left of the wreckage of the 1948 crash of the RAAF Catalina flying boat A24-381.
The Milky Way’s Beach House On The Moon Restaurant opens for dinner Monday and Friday nights only. There is a daily takeaway service starting at 6pm which we did not use. Our Monday night seafood dinner was delicious and superbly presented. The Friday night Fish Fry of local fish was equally impressive.
Food and liquor prices throughout the island are inflated and most likely due to transport costs from the mainland. The Milky Way does not escape these circumstances. A 300ml bottle of tonic water was $4.00
In our group’s opinion Milky Way is ideally located and we would choose this Lord Howe destination above all others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 81 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was very impressed with how well set out the rooms were. We stayed 4 nights in one of the cabins, it had everything we could need, plus a few extra details like backpacks in case we wanted to go hiking. I toured all over the island, and came to the conclusion that the Milky Way was the best located hotel on the island. Their are turtles swimming at the beach opposite, great waves on the reef out the front, and it is a short walk to most of the shops. The staff were friendly, although they weren't around all the time, which wasn't an issue for me. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We ( couple & teenage daughter) stayed for a week (and then three extra days due to flight cancellations), in the Belmoreana unit. We loved the location & the view over-looking birds, grazing cattle & forested hills.
However... we did not find the staff very helpful - serviced rooms were advertised but this did not happen unless you asked... restaurant bookings were offered but no information on type of restaurants or prices... A bottle of sparkling was in the fridge as we had a special celebration , but it was off & undrinkable...
The unit was new & clean, & had a verandah -(which we could not use for three days as our adjoining neighbour smoked), but low ceilings, polyester sheets & paint by numbers artworks depicting generic sunsets & sea-scapes was not what we expected for the price.
The last straw was when our flights were delayed for three days.. we could stay on in the unit as no new guests could get to the island, but no discount was offered even though they were aware we had no travel insurance...
We did love LHI and would like to return- but not to Milky Way...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Milky Way is at the north end of the well-strung out accommodation in LHI. The plus is that you have a quiet beach within 100m, and mountain walks starting at the back door. The downside is that you have a 20-30 minute walk to shops and restaurants but walking around is part of the attraction of the island. The restaurant at Milky Way was closed so we self catered and used other restaurants which was no hardship. Milky Way staff were helpful, and provided taxi transfer to from the airport. Lord Howe Island? - a pretty special place for a week or two; but don't expect to rush back to work on a tight schedule as plane arrivals are dependent upon weather and you might be delayed 2 days (we were arriving).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here on a week of extremely windy weather. The accommodation was a high-point. We had a one bedroom Belmoreana unit which faced out over a large grassy garden and onto the mountains.The unit has a verandah looking out over the garden with 2 easy chairs and a table and chairs for 2 to eat at in good weather and still had plenty of room.There is also a smaller more sheltered verandah outside the kitchen entrance. The bathroom was new, spacious and everything was extremely clean and well kept. The kitchen was well equipped and included a rucksack with a full set of picnic plates ,cups cutlery etc. Other inclusions were beach towels, backpack, and a torch.When we arrived the fridge was stocked with bacon, eggs and margarine and also cereal and fresh fruit were in the kitchen - there was enough for 2 breakfasts for 2 adults.

The location is at the very end of Lagoon Rd. so it is a good 10 minute flat walk to the shops but after checking out some of the other lodges which were up the steep hills we felt we were better placed. Old Settlement beach is at the bottom of the garden and several walks start nearby. The staff couldn't be nicer we dealt with Josie and Lesley who were unfailingly cheery and helpful. They called each morning, made a restaurant booking for that night if required and organised transport to the restaurant of your choice - the restaurants all provide return transport. The restaurant which opens on Mondays and Fridays was extremely good and has communal tables which makes for a convivial meal

Overall we found the people on LHI very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydney_traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

LHI is a unique place. There are the residents who have been around for generations, the locals who are the resort workers, and the tourists. As a tourist you are the bottom of the pecking order. Smiles are hard to get and you feel a little out of place. Milky Way was a great location, close to the beach bbq's if you want to watch the sunset over the ocean. Check which room you are booking though. I thought we were overlooking the mountains, instead we were in a different part of the complex which was not as scenic. The room whilst neat was tired and in need of new furniture. It was very cold and we ended up turning on the gas oven for heating the room.

The feedback from most tourists was that no matter which accomodation they chose, they would stay some where else if they returned. We took as much food as we could and catered for ourselves which is the way to go unless you want to be held to a ransom for meals. Take cool weather clothing. Dean from LHI enviro tours is good. Neds Beach is a treat. Take a good book as it is bound to rain, and hiring a bike is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurafromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

If you want to be close to the beach this is the spot. Many of the other lodgings were up a hill inland. Nothing is very far on Lord Howe but being able to walk in 1 minute to the beach is excellent. Moorei Unit was clean and comfortable with everything you need. Loved the King sized bed and roomy walk in robe. Newish kitchen and bathroom. Lounge suite may need an upgrade as sagged towards the middle. Remember unless its raining all day you only sleep and sometimes eat there. The staff are friendly and laid back so you should be too. The drink and food honesty system is a real bonus. Restaurant was good value with good sized meals and fast service.

Lord Howe is such a beautiful island with gorgeous beaches and plenty of moderate and challenging walking trails. If you do Mt Gower be fit and prepared for ropes and cliff edges. Not for the faint hearted.
Using bikes to get around is a great idea, and the bike racks everywhere to park them with picnic tables and fireplaces at every beach (and there are many!). The lagoon colour has to be seen to be believed. The water is warm and there is fish and coral at this lattitude!!
We stayed for a week but need to return as we only just scratched the surface. Would definately stay again at Milky Way.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdelaideShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lord Howe Island hotels
1.2 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leanda-Lei Apartments
Leanda-Lei Apartments
#4 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Way Holiday Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Way Holiday Villas

Address: Lagoon Road, NSW 2898 | Hunter Bay, Lord Howe Island 2898, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Lord Howe Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lord Howe Island
Price Range: $216 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Milky Way Holiday Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Old Settlement Beach at the extreme northern end of the residential area. Set in a lush, peaceful palm & banyan grove with the beach just through the palms.Comfortable, modern one & two bedroom self catering villas with fully equipped kitchen & ensuite bathroom in all villas.Features include: Generous Breakfast/Fruit Hamper on Arrival King bed, Ceiling Fans,LED TV/DVD player,iPod Dock.Beach Towels, Hairdryer, Iron/Board, Coffee Plunger, Backpack, Picnic Basket/Utensils, BBQ Facilities.Airport & Restaurant Transfers,Convenience Shop, Blue Phone.Daily HousekeepingAustralian Champagne for Birthday or Anniversary. Internet available at reasonable rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Milky Way Holiday Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing