We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointed”
Review of Bluey Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluey Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lightning Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed for a few nights. The room was tiny but clean. Should be a single not a twin room. Parking is woeful., Not enough for the amount of rooms.Owner was friendly. I would look elsewhere next visit maybe the resort which looked nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rustylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Blueys was fantastic value accommodation right in the heart of lightning ridge. Kay is one the best hosts you will find anywhere with great pride in providing an exceptionally well presented older style motel that has been cleaned to perfection. Beds were comfortable and the basic cater for yourself facilities were just right. I would not hesitate in recommending this motel to anyone wanting to enjoy the sights, sounds and very different lifestyle of Lightning Ridge. Well done Kay and the team.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed one night at the Bluey Motel and found everything clean and well presented. Bed was comfy, room had everything I needed and loved the microwave.

Only thing was I had trouble finding an iron, but Kay soon showed me to the laundry and problem averted.

Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bathursthayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lightning Ridge is a satisfying place to explore and offers many experiences. We stayed just two days at Bluey Motel and enjoyed the quiet sleeping atmosphere, but being tall, found the bed inadequate. In general, we agree with other people's comments except for wi-fi . . we were unable to use it in our room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueyMotel, Manager at Bluey Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Our twin rooms have two king size single beds and our double rooms have a queen size bed. I am sorry but we do not have king size beds in the double rooms.
Regarding the Wi Fi not working in the room, the Wi Fi was upgraded about a month ago and is extremely strong in all rooms so it is unfortunate that my guest did not come and inquire about the problem as I live on the premises and am available 24/7, often times the problem is the upper or lower case is used incorrectly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Kay is very hospitable and they have thought of everything. Rooms smell clean and fresh, toaster and microwave. Love the reminder on the door about common things left behind. Wil be back when we return to lightning ridge. Thanx Kay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovingFun11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We found the Bluey motel in lightning ridge a small, well priced, clean, comfortable and tidy motel. The facilities put some higher priced chain motels to shame with the toaster and microwave giving traveller freedom. The little things were also welcome features eg shower gell, toilet spray, good sized cold fridge to name a few. The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Bluey Motel proved to be very comfortable & provided everything we needed, as well as free WiFi. The motel is well located & within walking distance of shops & restaurants. Rooms are small, very clean & include a microwave, & basic kitchen utensils. The owners are very friendly. We went to the recommended Restaurant, Bruno's Italian restaurant - & it was a real find.
We would thoroughly recommend this motel as a no fuss, basic motel.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lightning Ridge hotels
0.2 mi away
Lightning Ridge Outback Resort & Caravan Park
0.7 mi away
Sonja's Bed & Breakfast
Sonja's Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Lightning Ridge
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wallangulla Motel
The Wallangulla Motel
#1 of 3 in Lightning Ridge
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluey Motel

Address: 32 Morilla St, Lightning Ridge, New South Wales 2834, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Lightning Ridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lightning Ridge
Price Range: $57 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bluey Motel. We are a privately owned motel with 10 rooms. Situated opposite the Bowling Greens and walking distance to shops, we offer friendly service, fresh rooms, off street parking, guest laundry and shady BBQ areas. The rooms include: reverse cycle air-conditioning; tea/coffee facilities; fridge, microwave colour TV, DVD/VCR; ensuite. We Offer: fax and Wi-Fi Broadband; tourist information and tour bookings. We accept Eftpos, Mastercard and Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing