We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artesian Baths”
Review of Artesian Baths

Artesian Baths
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free entry. They are a really beautiful spot in the morning when the sun rises, especially in the winter when it's chilly there.
Drouin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Artesian Baths”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Loved loved what the shire have done here. Open to the public 24/7, clean beautiful hot springs. I have never seen something so beautiful, clean with no cost. A credit to the town and shire.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    95
    19
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Millicent, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot baths”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Nice to have a lovely warm dip in some warm water in the cold air of a morning and the locals are quite friendly - the baths are only a small walk from the Opal Caravan Park

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An excellent way to unwind your weary bones..”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in the caravan park across the road from the Artesian baths and used the baths at the end of the day. It was so relaxing and the temperature of the water helped ease the weary bones and any aches & pain. We could only stay in the water for 20-30mins as the water temp was 40C, gets a bit too hot. You can have cold showers to cool down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OzEwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great place to get rid of aches and pains”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently spent two days at Lightning Ridge.

The last time that I was here was the best part of 20 years ago. Today the town is larger and could hardly be called ‘remote’. Together with a mate we camped at Lightning Ridge outback resort and Caravan Park. This is a nice clean park with good facilities. Additionally it has a licensed bar on the premises-utterly essential as the original Diggers Rest Hotel burnt down many years ago.

If you have never been to the ridge before, you are in for a surprise. There are many attractions to be seen-including homes made out of beer bottles and the odd full sized castle. Other locals choose live in Double decker buses and there are many strange characters to be found.
The main street is now well serviced with shops and banks and there is a small but effective hospital.

Early morning and evening was spent luxuriating in the natural artesian bore baths which are located on the outskirts of town. We watched the sunrise and sunset, and chatted with many of the locals who choose to start and end their working day at this sublime spot.

Many ‘Grey Nomads’ were out and about. For those who are not familiar with this term, a Grey Nomad is a retired person who is travelling around Australia.

Dinner was enjoyed at the Bowling Club. This proved to be exceedingly good value for money. The roast of the day setting me back $10. The serving was huge and very tasty:
The following evening we dined at ‘Bruno’s Pizza and Italian Restaurant’.
Both the food and the service were very good indeed and it was BYO. I can thoroughly recommend this place.

If you are interested in purchasing an Opal you can get a price that is considerably better than in Sydney. You can negotiate a price.

Although it is not as remote and rough as it once was, Lightning Ridge is most certainly worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank abreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So relaxing”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We visited the baths several times over a few days. Very relaxing & calming. A wonderful place to watch a beautiful Lightning Ridge sunrise.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mudbrays2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artesian Baths also viewed

Lightning Ridge, New South Wales
Lightning Ridge, New South Wales
 
Lightning Ridge, New South Wales
Lightning Ridge, New South Wales
 

Been to Artesian Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing