We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better”
Review of Rosey's BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rosey's BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should be better”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The food here looks and smells delicious, but was almost tasteless. We ordered ribs, brisket, and sides. The food just needs more oomph and needs to be more distinctive. The service wasn't great either. It is convenient because of the parking lot; generally parking can be annoying in Jenkintown.

Helpful?
Thank JWSPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible ribs, quality is down - don't waste your money”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I'm writing this review to share the changes in quality I've seen at this restaurant. We've frequented Roseys since it opened (and even prior when it was Abners). Our usual order has been pork babyback ribs, bbq beans and greens. Our greatest disappointment has been the decline in the quality of the ribs over the last couple of years. On the positive side, the ribs are very nicely smoked and look delicious, but watch out..... the meat is dry and chewy - these are NOT fall-off-the-bone ribs. When Rosey's first opened, the meat was much more tender - now much of the tough meat stays on the bone. Also, they no longer remove the membrane before preparing the ribs - I guess it speeds up their prep time but it is disgusting to have to peel this thick membrane off before eating. Other changes in quality we've noticed on our recent trip: The house BBQ sauce recipe has changed from thick/delicious to watery/bland. Also, there's no more self-serve BBQ sauce and pickles for take out service. The BBQ beans used to be absolutely suberb - but now they taste like something out of a can. Lastly the greens have been consistently over-salted each visit to the point that they are inedible. It feels like Rosey's has been cutting back on the quality to improve their bottom line. I'm really disappointed and won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margareta09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try Rosey's in Ambler! Awesome on Friday nights!”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you like blues, BBQ and free beer, this is it on a Friday night. Step off the main drag slightly from Butler to 9 N. Main and loosen your belt -- you're gonna eat! Best BBQ north of the Mason-Dixon, and seriously cool music and service. Leave your attitude at the door, and go South! Love this joint!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good ribs”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Rosey's BBQ is a very good local place. We don't normally eat there. We usually take out and bring home. The pork ribs and beef ribs (yes they do have beef ribs) are very good...soft, tasty and delicious. Skip the collards...either no taste or tooooo salty. The sweet potatoes are very good, even though a bit too sweet for my taste. I usually bake sweet potatoes at home and make a salad to have with the ribs. The sandwiches are great.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank artymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham, pa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great BarBQue!!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Love this place. It feels like it should be located somewhere in the south as a road side 'joint', but there it sits in the heart of Jenkintown, PA! We go there often. Everything is good. I've tried just about the entire menu and I haven't had anything disappoint. The pork, beef or chicken is so tender you could cut it with a spoon. The cornbread and beans make you feel like you are sitting at Grandma's table. I even got them to cater a luncheon at work. Everyone loved it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fifthandjapip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosey's BBQ also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing