We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax with the sound of the ocean and room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Salt Beach
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax with the sound of the ocean and room with a view”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed on Sun, Mon, Tues nights and found it to be quieter at this time and extremely relaxing. It was wonderful to be right next to fabulous Restaurants a great choice of quality food, and happy to spend most of the time enjoying the accom. Great Spa bath and pool near our room and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear Seabel,

Great review - very pleased to see you enjoyed your time here and when next you travel from Adelaide, we can look after you again!

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,160
    898
    322
    96
    63
See reviews for
698
1,277
78
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Was by no means terrible but wasn't great either. The whole resort, including the room seamed a bit tired and like it needed a really good clean, disappointing considering the age of the place. Staff were polite enough but not overly helpful. We were there Friday and Saturday night and there was no live entertainment anywhere in the complex and the lobby bar was closed before 8.30pm both nights (which is 7.30pm to us as QLDers which should be a consideration so close to the border)
Our biggest gripe though would have to be that the breakfast was served on the terrace in the full sun. The few umbrellas do little to help and it was quite uncomfortable considering the temperature was in the high 20s by 9am.
Hotel room was tiny, bed was hard with zipper in the middle.
On the up side there are a number of small privately run restuarants in the complex. The 2 we dined at were really good. We also dined at "season" at Peppers (also in the complex) and it was excellent, as was the day spa at Peppers.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear blue083,

Thanks for the review - I am concerend to read some of your comments as this is not a common occurance.

I have passed on to the team to read and we will rectify.

Not sure when you stayed, but live entertainment is in the village every Friday & Saturday night.

We do hope that you will come back and visit again.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leongatha, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Stunning gardens and pool. Plenty of sun lounges.Beautiful beach 1min walk on path.1 min walk to 5 excellent restaurant, IGA , coffe shops and Tavern. We had a 1 bedroom apt.it was well appointed but it needed a good spring clean. Large balcony with chairs and coffee table , 2 sun lounges and stunning sea views.Reception was very helpful in arranging a car for pickup from other Restaurant in the surrounding area. Bus service punctual spotlessly clean and helpful drivers. Everyone who loves beach, pool , eating great food and relaxing this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barlow61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Dear barlow61,

Thanks for the great review - this reflects our aim here to cater to our clients and provide them with not only a holiday but a great experiance.

Great to read you comments and the team were pleased also.

We do hop you can visit us again - soon!

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

At $295 a day you would expect a little bit but don't expect it here.

The side walls of the room are about 10 inches from both sides of the bed, there was one eco light in the room (about the equivalent of a 40 watt normal light, so not enough to read by), you get sea "glimpses" but not much, no room servicing unless you pay extra. admittedly I went there during peak time, but no internet, no mobile phone coverage, $90 an hour to rent a pushbike, and restaurants that quoted me about 90 minutes to wait for dinner.

Obviously, like many places in QLD, the place has too many people as customers and not enough competition to force the value for money up. Try elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dene11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Dear Dene11,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review - good or bad it does allow us to look at the areas we need to improve on, and assist guests during and after their visits.

I am not sure what you booked and what your expecations were, but I do advise clienst that if they are not ghappy to talk to the hotel during their stay - lets us tray and fix for you what can be fixed, so you can enjoy the experiance, and also offer solution for your next visit.

Bit surprised to read you had no internet coverage - we have wireless across the whole resort that even extends to the beach!

Again, thanks for the commenst and hope you will give us anoth try when you are in Northern NSW.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Mantra on salt is a great place to stay with kids but if you have a problem within the room, they do not want to know about it. They manage the apartments and complex but do not own them. After being robbed of everything we owned while we were asleep and a 1000km from home we recieved little or no help and was even told by the manager they were not obliged to help us in any way. Poor service and attitude and at no point did they take into account our wellbeing and that of my 2 young children. I will never stay at a Peppers or mantra owned complex again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Dear KJMsyndey,

Thanks for the review - as discussed during you stay here, we do try and assist as much as possible, and offer support to all our guests. As we discussed, we do recommend that all guests do take precautions and secure their belongings in the room safes provided and ensure doors are secure.

We are sorry this incident occurred.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

View was fantastic stayed on 3rd floor. Got it at almost half price through departure lounge and was an absolute bargin! Read some reviews about the split beds etc so requested a King bed and not one with a zip - and we got it no worries. The beds though are a bit on the hard side for me liking. When we got to the room there was a congraulations card for our anniversary from the managers and also a bottle of wine, which was a great suprise. The place had great views of the ocean and was genrally quiet at night. The rooms are quiet large if you book an apartment style one rather than a hotel room. We also found there were a lot of little mini-restaraunt places in the complex as well that served good food. Well, we thought it was good. Great place to visit and if it comes up cheap again we will probably head back there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavaman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
Dear lavaman83,

Thanks for the review - great to see you enjoyed your time here.

We are constantly monitoring guest feedback to see where we can improve, and thankyou for the comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2011

WE stayed for 6 nights in 2 bedroom ocean front. Rooms are great size however are in need of refurbishment. There was no room daily service unless you pay additinal cost which we thought was poor considering the price. The pool is great but again the chairs are tired.
Overall a great location, good for walks or safe bikeriding.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aztecfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Dear aztecfs,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property.

We have already actioned or had in place some of your suggestions, and hope when next you visit you will see the difference.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscliff
1.2 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
606 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,042 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
3.8 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Cabarita Beach
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Property: Mantra on Salt Beach
Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found in Kingscliff in northern New South Wales, Mantra on Salt Beach offers exceptional facilities and a beautiful beachfront location just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane, 30 minutes from Byron Bay and only 15 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. Offering elegance and style with sweeping easterly views to the Pacific Ocean and lush, green grounds to complement its naturally beautiful surroundings, Mantra on Salt Beach is the ultimate coastal getaway. We offer Hotel, One and Two Bedroom Rooms and Suites each with air conditioning, private balcony, cable TV and most offer breathtaking ocean views and wheelchair accessible rooms are available. Centrally located within Salt Village, Mantra on Salt Beach offers direct access to a variety of restaurants, retail stores and the onsite day spa. The hotel features a lagoon pool, tropical pool, rock spa, two tennis courts, gym & free undercover parking (subject to availability). We also have 24 hour reception and a concierge. On the weekend Salt Bar offers a bus service to the main street of Kingscliff where there are even more shops and restaurants to enjoy. Enjoy breakfast or lunch overlooking the resort's lagoon pool and Salt Beach while indulging in the delightful menu of Surge Restaurant & Bar. Using the freshest local produce the head chef creates an enticing breakfast & lunch menu that will impress and satisfy everyone. For the family Surge Restaurant & Bar has you covered by creating affordable kids meals and provides high chairs on request. Numerous leisure activities are available when staying at Mantra on Salt Beach. Whether it be climbing Mount Warning, bike riding the 7km beachside path to Kingscliff or Cabarita, fishing the Tweed, or any other activities you can think of we would be happy to arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing