We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra on Salt Beach
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great location at Salt Village. The 1 bedroom was very spacious and more value for money then the small studio rooms. The hotel should have meet and greet staff to show you too your room, as the complex is very large and the map and direction they provided didn't help us not to get lost! If you sign up as a member to the Salt bar (you must do this beforehand and get a card) it entitles you to 20% off all meals and drinks, which over a weekend becomes worthwhile. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
HI Sam,

Thanks for taking the time to review.
Great tips and room types and the Salt Bar (not managed by Mantra)
Cheers

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    848
    306
    90
    56
See reviews for
644
1,211
72
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Spent one week here with my daughters aged 18 and 22. Had a lovely large one bed overlooking the tennis courts. Even though it was Jan school holidays, it was quiet around the resort. The main pool area was busy during the day, but we were still able to get lounges. Unfortunately the surf was fairly dangerous while we were there, but we spent a couple of days sitting by the local creek and swimming there which we loved. Breakfast was very good and we loved the fact there were restaurants/takeways. IGA etc so we didn't need to leave the resort to get anything. Highly recommend. Look out for deals. Ours was amazingly cheap and incuded breakfast.

Room Tip: Around the main pool was not private. Don't get get west facing...I think you would cook in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkennedy232@Gma... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Many Thanks for your review- it seems you enjoyed all water aspects of Salt. Creek, beach and pools and in January it was needed with the warm weather.

Would love to welcome you back.
Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We booked for three days to spend time with a group that meets up once a year. The stay 3 for 2 rate was good value and booked by several of the group. All, except us, had rooms with a view of the pool or similar, a spa bath and a kitchenette. We unfortunately had a room with a bar fridge and a kettle, and a view of the road. We weren't aware of the no service arrangement and ran out of toilet paper and put up with wet towels. Adequate for the price we paid but glad we didn't pay the full rate. The aircon was rattly but otherwise the room was clean and met our basic needs. Restaurants and shops okay for a weekend and the beach was lovely but almost too rough for swimming the days we were there. Staff not overly helpful or friendly. Breakfast pretty average, not a resort breakfast, and difficult to find a table out of the sun most days. Car parking on site was good and free. We didn't like the large clinical feel to the hotel and won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn0911_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi Kathryn,

I do trust your weekend with friends was a success. Sorry to hear not all rooms were close by. Our reservations team do try hard to keep all groups together, however not all rooms in the building are managed by Mantra,which makes it difficult sometimes to meet all requirements requested.

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed here for one night to attend a professional conference. I didn't pay the bill so I cant comment on the price.

The lobby area is large and pleasant. The food selection is OK but not top shelf. A property like this should have s barrista service included in the buffet.

My room was quite nice. Although I accept that plantation shutters are expensive, they actually backfire here because they obscure the ocean view. Mould in the bathroom was a bit off.

The double bed was in fact two singles pushed together which is a pet hate of mine.

No minibar in the room which is annoying and inexplicable.

Not really sure what there is to see and do in the general area as I flew in for the conference, and then straight back to the airport.

Apparently the beach is good but I didn't get a chance to check it out.

Staff were good and helpful with booking taxis etc.

Room Tip: try to get a room close to ocean for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booyeahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and your honesty.
Mantra Salt is a low rise apartment building. Its design and layout is perfect for familes and a getaway from the busy cities.
As all our apartments are self contained we have found mini bars have been not a priority with our guests, however for a one night stopover I can see how it could have benefited you.

Hope your conference was a success.

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent the weekend at Mantra on Salt in February this year. We had a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor overlooking the garden.
The apartment was very nice, clean and spacious enough for two people.
Even thought there appeared to be a lot of people at the resort we were not bothered by the noise of other guest, which was a bonus :-)
It is well situated close to a stunning beach but also having a good range of shops and restaurants attached to the resort. This meant we didn't have to leave the resort all weekend, another bonus.
We really enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank aljomisaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed Salt and never had to hop in the car. This is one of the features of the village with ample dining and activities.
Thanks for the review!

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mantra at the last minute recently . Good apartment , however not very private . This was our 3rd visit so we had asked repeatedly for a room that faced out from the resort as we were aware of the lack of privacy in a number of suites . We arrived pre check in time to increase our chances but the staff make no effort to assist .it would seem the very young staff are given a script to work from as they just repeated the same line over again ..."No, not possible " . We survived with room given to us but at $340 a night, think our next visit to the area to catch up with family and friends will be from a different establishment . The front desk and breakfast staff made up our minds for us . We are both in hospitality and perhaps we are more particular but flexibility and approachability are high on our list of priorities when we travel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny_hyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
HI Jenny,

Thank you for review. It does disapoint to hear the staff were not giving options or able to assist with your room allocation. Our team are encouraged to bring their own personality's to the forefront with all our guests.

Happy to see you did like the area and consider to return,

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have just read the last 5 or 6 pages of Reviews and I don't understand what some people expect. It is NOT a HOTEL. It is a lovely Resort with excellent Apartments. Our stay this time was for 5 nights, it wasn't expensive, and again, everything was nice.The Breakfast was very fresh, with no waiting at all for the hot foods to be topped up. The Chef here is very pleasant and the food has always been good since he has been here. Front counter staff, kitchen and cleaning staff are all pleasant. Overall, location and facilities are great. I would give it an extra half a star this time if I could. We will be back.

Room Tip: Have stayed in 5 different wings now, enjoy No.6 the most, even though it is a fair walk from car/br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie15882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mememeKingscliff, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
HI Elsie,

Thank you for your kind and honest review.
Many of our guests have varied expectations, it is nice to see you appreicate Salt for what it is.

Nice to hear of great customer service and food service.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscliff
1.2 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Cabarita Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
#2 of 4 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Property: Mantra on Salt Beach
Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found in Kingscliff in northern New South Wales, Mantra on Salt Beach offers exceptional facilities and a beautiful beachfront location just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane, 30 minutes from Byron Bay and only 15 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. Offering elegance and style with sweeping easterly views to the Pacific Ocean and lush, green grounds to complement its naturally beautiful surroundings, Mantra on Salt Beach is the ultimate coastal getaway. We offer Hotel, One and Two Bedroom Rooms and Suites each with air conditioning, private balcony, cable TV and most offer breathtaking ocean views and wheelchair accessible rooms are available. Centrally located within Salt Village, Mantra on Salt Beach offers direct access to a variety of restaurants, retail stores and the onsite day spa. The hotel features a lagoon pool, tropical pool, rock spa, two tennis courts, gym & free undercover parking (subject to availability). We also have 24 hour reception and a concierge. On the weekend Salt Bar offers a bus service to the main street of Kingscliff where there are even more shops and restaurants to enjoy. Enjoy breakfast or lunch overlooking the resort's lagoon pool and Salt Beach while indulging in the delightful menu of Surge Restaurant & Bar. Using the freshest local produce the head chef creates an enticing breakfast & lunch menu that will impress and satisfy everyone. For the family Surge Restaurant & Bar has you covered by creating affordable kids meals and provides high chairs on request. Numerous leisure activities are available when staying at Mantra on Salt Beach. Whether it be climbing Mount Warning, bike riding the 7km beachside path to Kingscliff or Cabarita, fishing the Tweed, or any other activities you can think of we would be happy to arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing