We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Mantra Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Salt Beach
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We just spent 2 nights here and almost everything was great, friendly staff, loved the pool, great sized 1br Ocean spa apartment and comfortable bed the only negative was a funny musty or previous guest cooking smell in our apartment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleMaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Danielle,

So glad you enjoyed your break with us. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Cheers

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,833 - 2,839 of 3,242 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have been holidaying in Kingscliff for a number of years now, and have stayed at Mantra many things. The property is in a great location ,good condition, and friendly helpful staff. But Mr manager, your specials are not so special. Not the room rates, the poolside BBQ special. We looked forward to the odd night having the BBQ dinner ,as it was a great treat of a selection of meat, fish and chicken cooked fresh ,and how you like it. The sides were a great mix of salads etc, but this year the price has gone up and the selection has decreased and the sides have disappeared. For a family wanting a mix we could no longer see a value in this special. $29/p.
You might think that's not a bad price, but when you have had the selection of a steak with a chicken piece either a sausage or two with a choice of a couple of salads and fruit with a bread roll, down to one piece of meat or fish or chicken (smaller sizes as well) and only one salad of mainly green leaf ,we felt the need to eat else where. When on hol's you still look for value in all that you do ,eat and drink... Staff as great as always

Room Tip: Still a great location and place to stay, on the beach front and hand to Kingscliff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkierob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Sparkie Rob,

In response to your comments on our food offerings. Mantra has always aligned its pricing with the current market and local surrounds. It is a buffet style menu designed for the entire family and made to order on an outside BBQ.

I am glad the rest of your stay was to your liking and mantra has been your chosen accommodation for many years.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Our room was booked at the last minute and was rack rate given this is peak season. We paid for an ocean view which was fine and the apartment had a reasonable fit out, including kitchen. However the standard of cleaning was not good with grubby fingerprints on surfaces and the room looked faded and tired. The oven which we didn't use smelt of fish from a previous guest even when the door was closed The kitchen glassware etc didn't match as often occurs in units that are strata titled which takes the gloss off the stay a bit. Breakfast was not of an international standard in terms of choice. On the plus side the gardens and grounds were well maintained and the boardwalk is great for morning exercise. Good dining options at Salt Village connected to the hotel.

Room Tip: The beach looks great, go for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thanks Ross for taking the time to review the resort,

As mentioned the leisure facitlies are a highlight for the resort. A little concerned on the lack of attention to detail in the cleaniness of your room and something I will address.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here for three nights the first week of school hols. Surprisingly, it wasn't too packed which was nice. you could always get a lounger by the pool and it wasn't too chaotic.
The pool: Is great especially for young children. Our son (2) was able to walk into the lagoon pool and there is a small toddler area at the far end which was great.
Location: Awesome, you are out of Kingscliff itself though, we knew that though it didn't bother us. Walk to the beach, restaurants, fish and chip shop and a small IGA. Having a small child we got takeaway fish and chips two nights in row - was beautiful food and ate in the grounds of the resort.
The grounds are very well looked after, shame about the rooms though. This is where my review turns slightly negative I'm afraid.
The room (4202) had a musty smell quite overpowering after the room was locked up.
I went out to the kitchen one night to find a huge cockroach on the floor. Could have been cleaner. There was no room servicing which was disappointing also, kinda what a mum looks forward to when on holidays! But again my fault for not looking at the finer details more closely.
The final negative point, is I actually emailed reservations after reading reviews, and requested room that had been refurbished with a new bed. I explained I was recovering from an injury and it would be greatly appreciated. Kia replied saying it had been requested on our booking, but of course couldn't be guaranteed. disappointingly, this didn't happen. As I mentioned at the beginning of the review, you could tell the resort wasn't overly busy, so not sure why they couldn't do this. Perhaps because we got their special rate 'stay longer and save'? Who knows.
Don't get me wrong we did have a great time, but I will struggle to return even though my extended family wants to go there at Easter - we'll see.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyofthree1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hi Family of three,

Thank you for taking the time to review the resort. Our resort is currently working through replacing the bedding. This should be completed by the winter months providing a new an improved product.
Disapointing to hear you had issues with the room on arrival, however comforting to know your issues were dealt with promptly.

So nice you chose Salt as your family destination, wish you well on future getaways with your family.

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived the room wasn't ready,( we did arrive too early) the guy asked me for my Australian number (which I of course don't have) so he could call me when the room was ready, I offered him my cell number to which he replied he couldn't call that number. A blatant lie that forced us to stay in the restaurant where screaming children and their depressed parents sat by the pool. The food btw was very gross, no love at all. It was to much of an effort for them to come to us to tell us if our room was ready so I was expected to check with them every 20 min. Apartment was nice enough but for what you pay I expect service aswell and none was given. Everything is outsourced ( wifi/movierentals) so if you have a problem with anything the reception just smiles and says that it's out of their hands. So if you want to be surrounded by crying families, disgusting food and bad service you really should book a room here, you will not be disappointed.

The beach is very beautiful though.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TripTripTrip333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dissapointed to hear you did not enjoy Mantra at Salt.

I am concerned on your check in service. Our staff are held in high regard for customer service and these comments indicate we have missed the mark- I apologise for this.

Our food offerings are fresh daily and change seasonally to ensure the best presentation to our guests. This is not a usual comment from our guests, however I will ensure my team are informed.

I wish you well on future travels,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed in a hotel room which was very comfortable with a small balcony and a pleasant view. The resort is very busy but the amenities were excellent. We hired bikes and explored along the fantastic cycle paths north to Kingscliff and beyond and south to Cabarita Beach. Only downside was there is no housekeeping and the hotel rooms have no laundry facilities to wash towels. Otherwise, I would recommend this place as good value for what it cost.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RuthC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hi Ruth,

Thank you for writing an honest review. I will take your comments on hotel rooms for review at my next meeting, it is a very good point.

Many Thanks

Lisa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

its really well catered for if you have a family , close to beaches, kids swimming pool , shops , iga for your own shopping as you can cook in your unit ,iga is a bit expensive though , you can always go to woolies 5 mins drive into kingscliffe where there is lots more shops and restaurant.
the mantra also has breakfast. coffee all day with an area overlooking the kids pool. . parking is under but no designated area, you just find a spot , when you arrive get a trolley if you have lots of stuff as the carpark has access to elevator and you just go to your level , easy . some rooms have ocean views . there are 2 pools one for kids one for adults where you can sit and read and have a spa. The rooms are quite nice , the beds can be hard and uncomfortable .value depends when you book.

Room Tip: ocean outlook , most rooms have a good outlook,ground floor has access all things .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carribean59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your review.
You are so right Mantra Salt and the Salt precient is PERFECT for families!

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscliff
1.2 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 1 in Casuarina
725 reviews
3.7 mi away
Halcyon House
Halcyon House
#1 of 3 in Cabarita Beach
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,808 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Cabarita Beach
208 reviews
3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscliff
Price Range: $93 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Salt Beach offers exceptional facilities and a beautiful beachfront location Hotel, One and Two Bedroom Rooms and Suites each with air conditioning, private balcony, cable TV and most offer breathtaking ocean views and wheelchair accessible rooms are available. Centrally located within Salt Village, Mantra on Salt Beach offers direct access to a variety of restaurants, retail stores and the onsite day spa. The hotel features a lagoon pool, tropical pool, rock spa, two tennis courts, gym & free undercover parking (subject to availability). We also have 24 hour reception and a concierge. On the weekend Salt Bar offers a bus service to the main street of Kingscliff where there are even more shops and restaurants to enjoy. Enjoy breakfast or lunch overlooking the resort's lagoon pool and Salt Beach while indulging in the delightful menu of Surge Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing