We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & under delivered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra on Salt Beach
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Have been so looking forward to our 4 night stay after a busy working year. Apon check-in where given a map & instructions on how to find our room, which turned out to be as far away from reception/carpark as possible with a "lovely" view of the spare blocks & excavator across the way oh & the tennis courts & carpark. This must be where they put the couples with out children to saves them from the constant sqeeling noises coming from the main pool area? Room is fine, but for the amount of money we paid (granted its peak season but....) we expected a little more. Also no housekeeping, or daily papers, minimal TV channels, oh & tried to purchase a movie (stupidly as we could go to the movies for what the cost is) but the system wasn't working. There is so much wasted space in the grounds of this resort, really should have made another pool area as you can't get anywhere near them unless you "bar" a deck chair in the wee hours of the morning! Could be so awesome but just isn't.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hi Belinda,

Thank you for your review. Feedback is important for our business and I appreciate your honesty.
I apologise for our shortcomings in some services we provide. Our movie system server did break down during your stay, this was out of the resorts control, however was rectified on the next business day.

All our apartments at Mantra are self contained for families to enjoy all the comforts at home and to keep our prices compeitive in the market place for this location we do weekly servicing. We have found this to be the most popular with majority of our guests.

I am dissapointed Mantra Salt was not your favourite destination, I wish you well on future travels,

Kind regards
Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,705)
There are newer reviews for Mantra on Salt Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,306 - 2,312 of 2,705 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent five nights here and wanted to extend out stay we loved it that much (sadly they were fully booked). This resort is large but we stayed in the SE facing block 6 and we were right away from the busyness. We also had direct access to the beach which meant we didn't have to go through reception, pass the pool and through the gardens to access the beach. The rooms look great, we stayed in 1BR spa suite, but they are small. My one complaint were the king zip beds, very hard and have a big hard ridge in the middle, also ours were at slightly different heights. For the high tariffs we paid we expected the room to be serviced but there was no servicing and we found ourselves washing our towels (not that big a deal but as I said we paid a lot of money to stay there). The buffet breakfast was nice but over five days the offerings were exactly the same, a bit of variety in the hot food would have been great. We spent many hours in the awesome lagoon pool, the kids especially enjoyed the pool noodles provided. The staff were all lovely, my 6 yr old son even noticed how "everyone is nice amd really look after us." All in all we loved our stay here, Kingscliff is our new favourite place and we hope to return next summer and would probably stay for 7 nights instead of 5.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thanks Laura for your review,

For families Mantra Salt is ideal! It was nice to hear again our staff were friendly and welcoming.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom delux room which meant we had sea views. What a lovely apartment. Plantation shutters and modern decor. Very relaxing and tropical. Clean, modern and quite simply we did not want to leave!
Friendly service and the resort pools were lovely. Great village underneath complex with a great bar/bistro that had a great kids area which they loved.
Would recommend but only if you had ocean views.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edcat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

When you are in a resort in a beachside location it is a must to have ocean views!!!!

So happy you chose to review this resort. Look forward to having you back.

Many Thanks

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here at the end of October. We were in a one-bedroom spa suite for a weekend away. The hotel is ok but little things make you feel let down. For one, the carpet is really dirty and a bit "musky" from age and does make the place feel dated. I know that winter can get chilly which is why someone thought carpet would be a good idea when they originally put it in.....but realistically tile flooring would have been a much better choice and keeps the place looking new longer. The bathroom was a bit of a let down as well as it was getting a bit worn out looking in the shower area. When I envisioned the spa in ths spa suite, I thought of something a little more than a bath tub. I felt that calling this bath tub a spa was a bit of a stretch. The breakfast and the service was good and the pool was divine.

Overall, this place is ok but it would be improved with a few "updates" around the place.

Also, this is no fault of the hotel, but just information for others trying to decide where to stay or take their holiday, the Mantra is a big place and is full of people so you do not get that relaxing, away from the hustle and bustle feel when you stay here. But if you are happy to be amongst lots of people in a nice spot then this place is a fine choice. And I reiterate...the staff here were really great and they do make it an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vs2008vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

I thank you for your honest review of Mantra on Salt beach.
I encourage all guests to be open about their experiences as you have been. Great to hear nice things about our staff. Service is important.
I wish you well on future travels,
Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We usually enjoy our weekends away, and had high expectations about staying on a top floor unit overlooking the Mantra pool area.

Then on saturday night it started....the tavern opposite, with all it's doors open, and loud music blaring away until 2am made it impossible to sleep.

On Sunday Night, a live band playing so loud that we could not even hear the television in our own room, and that went until 11pm.

If you want a nice relaxing, peaceful stay.....find somewhere else.

BTW the beds are all zip up king size that split into singles. They are getting that old that you rollover onto pretty hard lump down the middle of the bed. About time they upgraded a few things.

Room Tip: Avoid the wings around the pool, better facing the garden/ocean view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you Tom for your review,

It is disapointing to hear your stay was not as expected. The resort has high standards in all common areas and rooms. I cannot speak for the salt bar or retail areas in terms of noise.
Currently all our bedding is being upgraded.

Tom, thank you for your honest opinon,

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We paid a pretty penny for our suite at the Mantra on Salt, and while we didn't lose any sleep over the cost, we did lose sleep over the positioning. Because this beautiful, spacious suite with beach views (not the most spectacular I've ever seen, looking across the pool to the bushy sand dunes with a bit of a look at the ocean), has only wooden louvred blinds on all the windows. Lovely to look at, but when the sun comes up, the light comes in and that's it, you might as well get up too. Bummer if you wanted to sleep in.

If we're being picky about this place - and I guess we are because we expect a high standard for a large tariff - I'd say it is probably too big to have much character. The staff were very nice and all - although we got on better with the cleaning staff than the restaurant staff - but it's just a bit lacking in soul. Although the fellow on reception was very chatty and friendly and helpful.

The location is marvellous, the facilities are first class, but maybe because I was tired from all those dawn awakenings, I didn't find too much to rave about here.

Room Tip: Don't gte an ocean view, it will bring the sun into your room very early.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrib310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

You are right -plantation shutters do not provide the same effect as a blockout blind or roller and this is a feature through our entire resort. It is not for everyone and I appreciate the comment. The resort is a large resort, low rise and spread out, although with this we are able to have many areas and views.

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at Mantra on Salt Beach at Kingscliff for 3 nights. It was very rejuvinating with beach walks, swimming and relaxing in the sun.
Mantra has a large lagoon pool (it does get busy) with lots of sun lounges. There is a very shallow wading pool for toddlers and the lagoon pool is very shallow except for a small area at one end. It has a couple of waterfalls and is very clean.
We stayed over a weekend, so there were quite a lot of children (some very loud & screaming) which spoilt the relaxation for us. We would stay during the week next time and definitely avoid school holiday time.
Our apartment was on the top floor, one balcony back from the front. We had a superb view of the ocean as well as over the pool area. Large balcony and the apartment was 1 bedroom with a separate lounge/dining/kitchen. Air-conditioned with a ceiling fan in the bedroom. We found that during the day, by leaving the air-con on (& the bedroom fan on) all the time it cooled the bedroom for sleeping at night.
The apartment was clean but needed some maintenance, e.g. air-conditioner needed cleaning, kitchen light was blown, front door handle loose, but this did not impact on our enjoyment.
Mantra is in the Coolangatta Airport flight path. Depending on which approach they are using, it can direct the aircraft straight across/above Mantra. It is pretty loud, but they stop before 11pm so we didn't find it disturbing.
We think the units are value for money. I wouldn't be happy on the lower floors without the view and with more noise from the pool. I suggest not taking a room above the Salt Village shops - it would be really noisy. I think they start with 1***. Rooms starting with 3*** are above the reception and breakfast area, again quite noisy and look out over the pool with distant water views. Rooms starting with 2*** and 4*** are the 2 blocks on either side of the lagoon pool. Blocks 5 & 6 are the next 2 blocks away from the main pool/reception/restaurant area. They would be much quieter, but if you are not on the top floor near the beach front you would be looking at jjust gardens/lawns.
We will be staying again.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, we would choose rooms starting with 2 or 4 top floor near the beach front end (o...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerald8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

What a great review- This website is a fantastic tool for all consumers and your review certainly would help all potential guests to Mantra Salt.

Little dissapointed to hear your unit has a few maintenence issues however great to hear you had a good time.

Many Thanks,

Lisa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscliff
1.2 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
630 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#5 of 12 in Coolangatta
1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
3.8 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Cabarita Beach
195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
#2 of 5 in Kingscliff
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range: $91 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Salt Beach offers exceptional facilities and a beautiful beachfront location Hotel, One and Two Bedroom Rooms and Suites each with air conditioning, private balcony, cable TV and most offer breathtaking ocean views and wheelchair accessible rooms are available. Centrally located within Salt Village, Mantra on Salt Beach offers direct access to a variety of restaurants, retail stores and the onsite day spa. The hotel features a lagoon pool, tropical pool, rock spa, two tennis courts, gym & free undercover parking (subject to availability). We also have 24 hour reception and a concierge. On the weekend Salt Bar offers a bus service to the main street of Kingscliff where there are even more shops and restaurants to enjoy. Enjoy breakfast or lunch overlooking the resort's lagoon pool and Salt Beach while indulging in the delightful menu of Surge Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing