We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't risk it” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Salt Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mantra on Salt Beach
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't risk it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Don’t risk it is my summary. I have stayed all over the world and never given a bad review here – this is my first. As you can see there are many varied comments, some good, some bad. That should be the first warning sign. I can see if you have a trouble free stay how this place would be a great holiday – the problem is too many of us seem to have problems!

Mine started with a stay at Mantra for my birthday weekend in November. I am a Club C U Soon member and booked through there. But when I arrived I was in a disabled room. What this means is the bathroom and shower feel like you are in a hospital – it is a really poor experience for a weekend away. I understand they have disabled rooms and if the hotel is booked they may have to use them – but the guests should be told this and either given a discount or given the option to not book because the hotel is full.

I rang reception and asked to be moved and were told they were full. A few minutes later they rang back and moved us – which I am eternally grateful. But even the move was fraught with problems – they booked the new people into the room before we had even vacated. The new family turned up while we were still there – very awkward. Which also meant they did not check the room between us exiting and the new family staying. I felt very sorry for the new family. I even got a follow up phone call later that day saying we had left some of our bags in our öld room - not so, these were the bags of the new family staying there. The mix ups continued...

We were also told when we checked in that breakfast had been added to our stay. No, I did not book with breakfast, but they told us they were giving it to us - again we were happy for a moment. But when we went for breakfast the next day, we were told we were not on the sheet. They rang reception – nope, we were not getting breakfast. I went to reception to discuss this and explain we were given breakfast when we checked in – we were still told we were not getting breakfast and that they had no record of us being told that and we should not have been told that. No apology, no explanation for the mix up – one minute we were told we were being given it, then they took the offer away. We ended up paying for breakfast anyway, but that is because it was 10am and we were already there and did not have a plan b.

The facilities are just okay too – I have stayed in far better. The resort covers a lot of ground – it is a rabbit warren – so you could walk for a very long time and not get to your room. Similarly the small pool is tiny for a resort this size. And most of the rooms look out over car parks or into other people's front yards and houses!!

Salt Village is okay, but I found the service very ordinary. This village has 3 big resorts surrounding it so clearly does not have to work hard for their clientele and this shows.

And don’t get me started on the pizza restaurant in Salt Village. The rudest rip off merchants I have ever seen. Do not eat there.

The one shining light was the Day Spa at Peppers – the Golden Door Spa. It was divine. Definitely treat yourself.

But all in all one of the worst weekends away I have had (and we do this about 4-5 times a year) - there are many other choices far better.

Room Tip: Make sure you stipulate in your booking "No disabled room"" Also ask for a room faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi Vanessa,

I thankyou for your honest opinion of the resort it's layout and the surrounding facilites of the Salt Village. Some of these mentioned are out of my direct control,however so disspointing to read about the service and the mishaps which occured during your stay.

I sincelery apologise for the shortcomings during this stay. This is not what our guests have come to expect of this resort or a standard we pride ourselves on.

I have passed this feedback through to all team members who I know will be devestated with the comments.

Vanessa, please accept my apologies.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    769
    275
    84
    50
See reviews for
577
1,090
64
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights during early September, a little early for me to swim but a few kids were enjoying the pool.

This hotel was nice, clean and friendly staff. No complaints at all. They even moved us as our first room felt like people in the restaurant could see directly into our room, that was very kind of the staff.

Buffet breakfast was nice, not as efficient as Peppers though and sometimes had to wait but it's not a major issue.

We wanted to try this hotel after staying at Peppers and loving it, so my review is a little more of a comparison.

Personally, I'd rather spend an extra $20 or so a night and stay at Peppers, it's a bit more private (Mantra's rooms circle the pool), the movies are free in the room if you feel like chilling out, I thought the breakfast was a bit better - hey isn't that what holidays are for?? eating heaps, and they will give you a free late checkout if they can (Mantra will charge). I found that Mantra was a bit more of a family resort which isn't really what we are after.

Some positive points...
- The bathroom was really nice, and our room came with a bath that had jets, really nice bath gels and moisturisers.
- The room is huge for a "resort room" it had a little dining area, a kitchen, washing machine etc, bedroom that had cheeky blinds to the bathroom and some deck chairs to chill on the balcony, I enjoyed that a lot.
- The pool looked nice too even though I didn't brave it.
- The staff were all so friendly and welcoming.

In conclusion, I would stay here again but I think for a special couples occasion I'd rather spend a little extra at Peppers.

Hope this is helpful to you.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask to be moved, they might not be able to but they were very helpful for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffTiph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Good Morning,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay late last year. It is fantastic to see you have chosen this destination again for a getaway.

This destination has great facilites and surrounds to make it an attractive resort for families. I thank you for your comments on our staff. Our team do strive to ensure our guests have the best possible experience and service,

Wishing you a fantastic New Year,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great for families. Stay away from rooms over restaurants and pool area. Beautiful beach without the crowds of people. Pool has graduated entry for little kids. Some pleasant grass areas. Staff friendly. Had a minor prob but were comped with free breakfast. Easy day trip to Byron. Easy walk to shops. Kids eat free on certain nights at local pub. Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roystar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us over this festive time.

Mantra Salt is a great destination for families and has many of the 'simple' outdoor pleasures to enjoy.

Glad you enjoyed your time and look forward to weloming you back in the new year!

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a privately owned (not booked through resort) 2 bedroom apartment. We had a room overlooking a nice garden and beautifully maintained grass area. Plenty of room for the kids to kick a ball around. I don't think I would like to be close to the restaurants or pool area, too noisy and busy. The resort was booked out for the weekend but in our wing it didn't feel busy at all. There was a nice BBQ in the garden and well cleaned each day. We stayed on the first floor and preferred this for the kids as they could easily get out to the grassed area, and easy for us to keep an eye on them. The facilities are all nice. We had breakfast buffet one morning which I thought was nice, but average, but felt ok because kids under 12 get to eat free with each paying adult, so got some value there. The apartments are not large, but adequate for our stay. We didn't have beach views, but it made no difference to us afterall we were only 20 seconds walk from the beach. We enjoyed a trip to Final Head lighthouse, 10 minutes drive away, lucky to see many dolphins riding the waves, so if you have a car make the trip. The kids should bring there bikes, but be sure to also bring a chain to lock them up in the Mantra car park. The beach was nice, the holiday was nice, we would come again.

Room Tip: away from the pool and restaurants, ask for one overlooking a nice grassed area so the kids can easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim3513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Hi there,

Nice to hear you enjoyed Salt. Great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast- little things which Mantra have included in our daily packages.

Would love to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked five nights at Mantra on Salt as we wanted a relaxing break away. We were very impressed with the accommodation and area, we were certainly able to relax, even though it was the start of the school holidays and there were more people arriving as the weekend went on.

We asked for a room away from the restaurants (as suggested by other Trip Advisor reviewers) and were happy to be in a quieter block, away from any potential noise. We stayed in a one bedroom spa suite, which was more than adequately furnished etc, we had everything we needed if we wanted to eat in.

We'd highly recommend Season for an evening meal and we enjoyed walking into Kingscliff for breakfast a couple of times (approximately 30 minutes walk).

We don't usually go back to somewhere we have been, as we figure there are so many places in the world to see, however, we will definitely return to Mantra on Salt for another relaxing break!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurants and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebeccapotter78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Relaxing is a word we love to hear from all our guests.

Your 5 days with us was the ample amount of time to enjoy all there is to offer at Salt.

Glad to hear you loved Season restuarant -It is truly well worth a visit.

The team at Mantra thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Lisa Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here after winning the door prize at an event earlier in 2012.

The room we were presented was on the northern side of the building and the ocean could be seen from the private balcony. Our room had a very good bed, seating and table plus a deep wide bath, which we appreciated. We were able easily enjoy our few nights although the weather was not fantastic.

The staff were pleasant even though they were dealing with many people who seemed to be there for a conference.

During our stay, we managed to cycle to the neighbouring towns that dot the northern rivers coastal region.

We tried various restaurants in the area plus in the neighbouring towns (which we preferred).

Still - over all - this was a pleasant stay by the beach

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsultantDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay.

I do love to hear of our guests, relaxing and utlising the surrounds of the village while here.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here several times on weekends to get away from the city and just relax. Kingscliffe is just over the NSW border an easy 2 hour drive from Brisbane. Parking is plentiful and close to the entrance. Once inside you marvel at the pool and surrounds opening up in front of you and the sea beyond. The hotel is situated right on the beach which stretches for many kilometres in both directions. There is a patrolled beach for the kids but most often you have the beach to yourself. The rooms are lovely, finished off nicely with stunning views. All are air conditioned with kitchenettes if you dont want to attend anyone of the fine eatries downstairs. We love the place and would recommend it to any traveller.

Room Tip: The twin rooms with sea views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Good morning!

Thank you for your kind words.
It was great to hear you love Salt and the resort.

Look forward to welcoming you back real soon..

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscliff
1.2 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Cabarita Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
#2 of 4 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Property: Mantra on Salt Beach
Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found in Kingscliff in northern New South Wales, Mantra on Salt Beach offers exceptional facilities and a beautiful beachfront location just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane, 30 minutes from Byron Bay and only 15 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. Offering elegance and style with sweeping easterly views to the Pacific Ocean and lush, green grounds to complement its naturally beautiful surroundings, Mantra on Salt Beach is the ultimate coastal getaway. We offer Hotel, One and Two Bedroom Rooms and Suites each with air conditioning, private balcony, cable TV and most offer breathtaking ocean views and wheelchair accessible rooms are available. Centrally located within Salt Village, Mantra on Salt Beach offers direct access to a variety of restaurants, retail stores and the onsite day spa. The hotel features a lagoon pool, tropical pool, rock spa, two tennis courts, gym & free undercover parking (subject to availability). We also have 24 hour reception and a concierge. On the weekend Salt Bar offers a bus service to the main street of Kingscliff where there are even more shops and restaurants to enjoy. Enjoy breakfast or lunch overlooking the resort's lagoon pool and Salt Beach while indulging in the delightful menu of Surge Restaurant & Bar. Using the freshest local produce the head chef creates an enticing breakfast & lunch menu that will impress and satisfy everyone. For the family Surge Restaurant & Bar has you covered by creating affordable kids meals and provides high chairs on request. Numerous leisure activities are available when staying at Mantra on Salt Beach. Whether it be climbing Mount Warning, bike riding the 7km beachside path to Kingscliff or Cabarita, fishing the Tweed, or any other activities you can think of we would be happy to arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing