We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant stay by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Salt Beach
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“pleasant stay by the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here after winning the door prize at an event earlier in 2012.

The room we were presented was on the northern side of the building and the ocean could be seen from the private balcony. Our room had a very good bed, seating and table plus a deep wide bath, which we appreciated. We were able easily enjoy our few nights although the weather was not fantastic.

The staff were pleasant even though they were dealing with many people who seemed to be there for a conference.

During our stay, we managed to cycle to the neighbouring towns that dot the northern rivers coastal region.

We tried various restaurants in the area plus in the neighbouring towns (which we preferred).

Still - over all - this was a pleasant stay by the beach

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsultantDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay.

I do love to hear of our guests, relaxing and utlising the surrounds of the village while here.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    818
    292
    89
    54
See reviews for
623
1,160
69
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here several times on weekends to get away from the city and just relax. Kingscliffe is just over the NSW border an easy 2 hour drive from Brisbane. Parking is plentiful and close to the entrance. Once inside you marvel at the pool and surrounds opening up in front of you and the sea beyond. The hotel is situated right on the beach which stretches for many kilometres in both directions. There is a patrolled beach for the kids but most often you have the beach to yourself. The rooms are lovely, finished off nicely with stunning views. All are air conditioned with kitchenettes if you dont want to attend anyone of the fine eatries downstairs. We love the place and would recommend it to any traveller.

Room Tip: The twin rooms with sea views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Good morning!

Thank you for your kind words.
It was great to hear you love Salt and the resort.

Look forward to welcoming you back real soon..

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

After being assured of a room looking over the garden or pool we found we practically needed a segway to get to the room that looked out over shabby vacant lots and people's backyards. No room change available. As locals looking for a resort experience we would have booked a different weekend if told the truth. The balcony was tiny ; even the radio was broken. Awful experience. An Expensive Big Mistake. Try Peppers instead.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pelicans01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments from your recent visit.

As you have mentioned it was a busy weekend when you stayed with us, which does sometimes make it hard to allocate as per requests. I do apologise your requests were not met.

Our ocean view room types do guarentee you the best possible views from the resort for future reference and of course here at Salt we do have Peppers Salt Reosrt & Spa.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Best place we ever stayed it. Yes a little more costly but definitely worth it. Your own private beach so clean and pristine. Immaculate apartment and amazing manicured grounds. Never seen anywhere else! Only an hour to surfers for that ''busy' buzz but beautiful area. Homes are to die for in this suburb. Would love to move there!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nothappykathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Good Morning,

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your kind words.

Salt is a great place which is unspoilt and the resort really compliments the surrounds.

Our landscaping team work very hard in ensuring our grounds are immaculate and will really appreciate these comments.

Kind regards,

Lisa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Room & facilities fabulous
Reception staff curtious & helpful
Reported loose door knob & maintenance person responded within 15 minutes, to fix.
Restaurants & tavern very comfortable, brilliant ambience.
A delightful short stay !!

Room Tip: 2nd floor or above, facing the lagoon pool or rock pool, spa. Overlooking the gardens....very peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi Stuart,

Great feedback -Thank you. It is great you chose to dine in many of the fabulous dining venues here at Salt.

Look forward to welcoming you back real soon,

Kind regards,

Lisa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our family of four recently stayed at the Mantra on Salt Beach. We had a 2 bedroom dual key room with ocean views on the top floor which was fabulous. Our children are 14 and 12 so it was a perfect set-up with enough space for all of us - 3 televisions, 2 big bathrooms and a great big balcony/terrace. The weather wasn't ideal but the easy meal options available from the various food outlets made it easy to please everyone. The staff were all lovely and friendly and happy to assist. It was a busy period so the buffet breakfast was a bit chaotic at times. The bike hire option and bike/walking paths along the oceanfront was perfect for family fun and fresh air. The Mantra is a great place to get away from it all and just chill. The kids loved the pool, the steady stream of garden weddings we could watch from our balcony and the really cute bunnies roaming the garden. Our room faced the garden side and not the pool and were really quiet at nightime with super comfy beds. All good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south/garden side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rose2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Fantastic feedback -Thank you!

So glad you enjoyed Mantra Salt and the destination. Love to hear it ticked all the boxes for your family getway.

If you have cause to holiday again soon, I do hope Salt is your chosen destination.

Many Thanks

Lisa
resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Attended a BBQ dinner at Mantra last Friday night. My husband was part of a Group holding a charity bike ride. I found a hair in my coleslaw which put me off my meal. The bar was a "cash bar" which we didn't know so couldn't use our credit card. We asked if we could charge drinks to our room at Peppers (sister property). Bar staff said they didn't have a facility to do that but there was an ATM in the Village - it wasn't working. Fortunately someone told us there was another ATM. Not a 100% sure but don't think even people staying at Mantra could charge drinks to their rooms. All very strange for a hotel. Also very limited beverages on offer. We stayed at Mantra last year; Peppers Resort is much better.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita-Marie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi Rita-Marie,

Thank you for your feedback in regards to dining. I was certainly disspointed to hear your comments and can assure you I have forward these comments to our kitchen team for review.

I do sincerely aplogise for the miscommunication and the lack of service provided.

Kind regards,

Lisa
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscliff
1.2 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Cabarita Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
#2 of 4 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Property: Mantra on Salt Beach
Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found in Kingscliff in northern New South Wales, Mantra on Salt Beach offers exceptional facilities and a beautiful beachfront location just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane, 30 minutes from Byron Bay and only 15 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. Offering elegance and style with sweeping easterly views to the Pacific Ocean and lush, green grounds to complement its naturally beautiful surroundings, Mantra on Salt Beach is the ultimate coastal getaway. We offer Hotel, One and Two Bedroom Rooms and Suites each with air conditioning, private balcony, cable TV and most offer breathtaking ocean views and wheelchair accessible rooms are available. Centrally located within Salt Village, Mantra on Salt Beach offers direct access to a variety of restaurants, retail stores and the onsite day spa. The hotel features a lagoon pool, tropical pool, rock spa, two tennis courts, gym & free undercover parking (subject to availability). We also have 24 hour reception and a concierge. On the weekend Salt Bar offers a bus service to the main street of Kingscliff where there are even more shops and restaurants to enjoy. Enjoy breakfast or lunch overlooking the resort's lagoon pool and Salt Beach while indulging in the delightful menu of Surge Restaurant & Bar. Using the freshest local produce the head chef creates an enticing breakfast & lunch menu that will impress and satisfy everyone. For the family Surge Restaurant & Bar has you covered by creating affordable kids meals and provides high chairs on request. Numerous leisure activities are available when staying at Mantra on Salt Beach. Whether it be climbing Mount Warning, bike riding the 7km beachside path to Kingscliff or Cabarita, fishing the Tweed, or any other activities you can think of we would be happy to arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing