We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,641)
Filter reviews
3,643 results
Traveler rating
1,650
1,272
482
145
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,650
1,272
482
145
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewthe gold coastmain poolgreat resorthotel roomtennis courtsbyron bayspa suiterelaxing staytropical poolbuffet breakfastsalt beachbottle shopone bedroom apartmentshort breakself containedgreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
3,377 - 3,382 of 3,643 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed here three times this year with Family of two adults and two boys aged 7 and 9. Lots to like about this place. Rooms are large, well appointed, super clean and well maintained. We had a 2 Bed Suite with Kitchen facilities. Bed is a little firm for my liking. Our deal included Buffet breakfast each day. The whole family enjoyed the big range of food on offer, its a great start to the day. My boys adored the cute bunnies that hop around the resort gardens (would be magical for the kids at Easter time). We are tennis players and they have two mod grass courts that are always available. We take the kids bikes and they have a ball riding along the safe wide tracks along the foreshore. We played quite a few games of table tennis at the resort. The lagoon pool is great but has been too cold to swim in at the time of year we were there. There is a smaller heated pool and spa near the tennis courts that we enjoyed. The beach is lovely, with lots of clean white sand and safe clean salty water for the kids to swim and boogie board. The lifeguards have the flags set up right in front of the resort. There is a huge landscaped park for familes to congregate and play ball games. My kids joined in a game of cricket with another family and had a few hours of fun. There are many dining options at Salt, from a roast chicken at the IGA, to restuarants with One Chef's Hat. There is Cable TV in the room too. The service from all staff and all times is truly brilliant. Highly recommend for an active family holiday with young kids. We are going back for another two weeks at Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view, Pool view or Garden view on a higher floor. Carpark view or above the Tavern is not the best I've been told.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrizVegasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Great Review - happy to see so much crammed in your stay!
We look forward to welcoming you back when next you escape Brisbane
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Knowing October was a busy holiday time and after reading pervious feedback I felt it necessary to follow up with our booking thoroughly. I booked 2 months ahead because this was a special stay for my husband and I to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary. So when booking our unit I requested an updated email confirming our booking details for a one-bedroom unit. Luckily I had this email with me at the time of check-in. The receptionist confirmed our booking for a 1-bedroom suite on arrival and assured us it was a one bedroom unit. My happiness changed to disappointment when we walked into a hotel Studio room. We then had to wait over two hour for a suite to be clean n ready. Not once did anyone apologized or tell us of what the resort oferred to fill in our time while we waited. Apart from the inexperienced staff at reception the resort is fantastically located. The beach is close, short stroll to some great restaurants in Salt Village. “Seasons” at peppers across the road. The Resort offers two swimming pools, tennis courts and bike hire. This is a great resort to take the kids. Wouldn't call it a couples resort.

Room Tip: you need to double check our booking. studio rooms are very small. one bedroom are double the size of a studio.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dellobears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for the review - sorry about the confusion we do apologise for the delay.
We do hope you will allow us to make amends in the future.
Best regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Travelled as a couple, had a lovely stay. Stayed in an apartment room all facilities available. Rooms were neat and clean. Service was excellent and the restaurant was fabulous for breakfast. There is not a lot to do in the immediate vicinity, which makes this perfect to relax.
The only thing was the fridge and dryer were not working in our room. Dryer we lived without but the fridge was a pain.
All in in highly recommended and would stay again.
Try out the Golden Door Spa for something special, which is just across the way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for the Review - I do hope you let us know when the items in your room didn't work, and I apologise for this.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I tend to stay at Mantra a lot for holidays and i must say I never look forward to it...i know its not a hotel for kids but it would be nice to maybe put a little more effort into the kids needs. You have the new bikes which are fun but VERY expensive. the pools are nice but your can't really be that noisy because you'll annoy many people.
if you are looking for a family holiday Mantra is not good for kids. and i have a 10yr and a 12yr old sister and brother and they are always bored.
also the way you made the bathrooms arent very smart there's not much privacy in the bathrooms as you have stupid shutters and the beds are comftable but everyone have different opinions.
although the beaches are great and the restaurants down below are fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitejadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for your comments - everyone does have different expectations and we try to meet these and sometimes this does not occur.
We do try and offer great experiences and for our guests to embrace the surrounds and the location. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found an amazing rate for a 1brm Suite on wotif.com and decided to book 3 nights in late Aug/early Sep to celebrate an anniversary.

After a bit of a mix-up with our booking name on check-in, the pleasant surprise we got when we eventually got to our room melted any first impression doubts we had.

From the room facilities & position, the comfort of the King Bed, the balcony & the outlook to the bicycles we hired - we rode along the seafront pathway into Kingscliff , it was a fabulous stay an we will definitely be returning - soon!

The only one thing we thought needed a bit of improvement was the Buffet B'fast inclusions. Nothing major but if we were glad it was included in the room rate otherwise we would much have preferred to eat elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thanks for the review, and i will pass on your comments to the team.
We do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews