We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Salt Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mantra on Salt Beach
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Travelled as a couple, had a lovely stay. Stayed in an apartment room all facilities available. Rooms were neat and clean. Service was excellent and the restaurant was fabulous for breakfast. There is not a lot to do in the immediate vicinity, which makes this perfect to relax.
The only thing was the fridge and dryer were not working in our room. Dryer we lived without but the fridge was a pain.
All in in highly recommended and would stay again.
Try out the Golden Door Spa for something special, which is just across the way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for the Review - I do hope you let us know when the items in your room didn't work, and I apologise for this.
We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    769
    275
    84
    50
See reviews for
577
1,090
64
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I tend to stay at Mantra a lot for holidays and i must say I never look forward to it...i know its not a hotel for kids but it would be nice to maybe put a little more effort into the kids needs. You have the new bikes which are fun but VERY expensive. the pools are nice but your can't really be that noisy because you'll annoy many people.
if you are looking for a family holiday Mantra is not good for kids. and i have a 10yr and a 12yr old sister and brother and they are always bored.
also the way you made the bathrooms arent very smart there's not much privacy in the bathrooms as you have stupid shutters and the beds are comftable but everyone have different opinions.
although the beaches are great and the restaurants down below are fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caitejadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for your comments - everyone does have different expectations and we try to meet these and sometimes this does not occur.
We do try and offer great experiences and for our guests to embrace the surrounds and the location. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found an amazing rate for a 1brm Suite on wotif.com and decided to book 3 nights in late Aug/early Sep to celebrate an anniversary.

After a bit of a mix-up with our booking name on check-in, the pleasant surprise we got when we eventually got to our room melted any first impression doubts we had.

From the room facilities & position, the comfort of the King Bed, the balcony & the outlook to the bicycles we hired - we rode along the seafront pathway into Kingscliff , it was a fabulous stay an we will definitely be returning - soon!

The only one thing we thought needed a bit of improvement was the Buffet B'fast inclusions. Nothing major but if we were glad it was included in the room rate otherwise we would much have preferred to eat elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for the review, and i will pass on your comments to the team.
We do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had never been to Salt before and our first visit will not be our last! The open foyer at Mantra which looks over the lagoon pool towards the beach gives a great first impression. The room was a little small at first sight but the bathroom was well appointed and quite spacious. We liked the louvres between it and the bedroom area. The restaurants and shops in Salt Village together with options offered at Peppers and Bale make the whole area very appealing. Sure, there was a lot of family activity over the three days but somehow that did not deter us. Next time we would probably stay at Peppers (part of the same group). We enjoyed the work retreat and were well looked after. The food and service were of a high standard. Finn's restaurant was outstanding.

Room Tip: The whole resort is very comfortable, enjoying a modern ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks Steve for the comments - great to have you down from Rocky.
Hope you can come back and visit again soon
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times over the last 3 years (with a big group of friends & the hubby) & it's fabulous.The breezy huge foyer makes you feel like you're on holidays right away. The decor is relaxing the setting is gorgeous.
The buffet breakfast is scrumptious & would please anyone with so many choices.
The rooms are always immaculate, fresh & clean. The pool area is beautiful & plenty of sun lounges to chill out. The garden had lots of baby bunnies (black, white, brown, grey) hopping around when we were there last (dec '11) which the children adored, it made it feel a bit magical.
You can be left alone to relax which is great or have friendly prompt service when needed.
There are restaurants & a pub just a short walk around the hotel corner where you can wine, dine, dance & sing along.
We went to the beach at night & it was incredible- the lack of lighting makes the whole milky way explode above your head, it was just breathtaking, everyone should see it in it's glory, we lay down & stared at it for hours.
Would absolutely go back, time & again.
LOVE IT!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72sunbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks Tracey, great review - great to read you enjoyed your stay.
We hope you can visit us again soon.
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundowran Beach, Qld Aus
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Mantra and took an Ocean View room.
It was the smallest room we have every stayed in, about 18" between the bed and the wall.
The Balcony was about 1.5 sm. It would not have been livable for more then the one night we stayed.
The rest of the resort appears to be good and up to the standard you would expect for the price but nothing more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozbraids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for the comments - our 1 bedroom apartments are a great size and offer a seperate living area - perfect for a longer stay.
We do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for my wife's birthday, single night escape. If your after a break from the rut, then Salt is a good location. The beach is across the road, short stroll to Kingscliff, some nice restaurants are in Salt Village (adjoining the resort). The spa bath in the room (with sliding windows) is great. Also visited the Golden Day Spa for some extra pampering.

I would say the resort itself is geared towards families, the resort pool has a max depth of ~1m, and would be great for kids, there is also table tennis and bike hire.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for the comments - great to read.
Next time check out cusoon.com.au for some great specials for your next escape.
Best Regards
Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscliff
1.2 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Cabarita Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
#2 of 4 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Property: Mantra on Salt Beach
Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found in Kingscliff in northern New South Wales, Mantra on Salt Beach offers exceptional facilities and a beautiful beachfront location just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane, 30 minutes from Byron Bay and only 15 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. Offering elegance and style with sweeping easterly views to the Pacific Ocean and lush, green grounds to complement its naturally beautiful surroundings, Mantra on Salt Beach is the ultimate coastal getaway. We offer Hotel, One and Two Bedroom Rooms and Suites each with air conditioning, private balcony, cable TV and most offer breathtaking ocean views and wheelchair accessible rooms are available. Centrally located within Salt Village, Mantra on Salt Beach offers direct access to a variety of restaurants, retail stores and the onsite day spa. The hotel features a lagoon pool, tropical pool, rock spa, two tennis courts, gym & free undercover parking (subject to availability). We also have 24 hour reception and a concierge. On the weekend Salt Bar offers a bus service to the main street of Kingscliff where there are even more shops and restaurants to enjoy. Enjoy breakfast or lunch overlooking the resort's lagoon pool and Salt Beach while indulging in the delightful menu of Surge Restaurant & Bar. Using the freshest local produce the head chef creates an enticing breakfast & lunch menu that will impress and satisfy everyone. For the family Surge Restaurant & Bar has you covered by creating affordable kids meals and provides high chairs on request. Numerous leisure activities are available when staying at Mantra on Salt Beach. Whether it be climbing Mount Warning, bike riding the 7km beachside path to Kingscliff or Cabarita, fishing the Tweed, or any other activities you can think of we would be happy to arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing