We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice for an overnight stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Salt Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mantra on Salt Beach
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very nice for an overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed here overnight for a business meeting and found my hotel-style room very confortable for a short stay. However, there was no desk, table, or comfortable seating apart from an outdoor balcony setting which could not be used in the bad weather.

The resort is quite large and spread out, and it was a bit of a walk from my room to all services, some of which was outdoors. This was a slight inconvenience in the bad weather.

The room was very clean, modern and well-equipped. However, I wish hotel room designers would realize that clock radios should be beside the bed, not on the other side of the room, and that most travelers these days need an accessible power point at the head of the bed to charge a mobile phone.

I was not able to take advantage of the beachfront location, but the facilities look appealing. I would prefer a room with some sitting and eating area if staying longer.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nambourlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear Nambourlady
Thanks for taking the time to post a review - these do help us to make improvements and also to communicate with our customers.

When next you have a chance to get away from the Sunshine Coast, I would suggest booking a 1 bedroom apartment - this would meet all your needs as you outlined in your review.

We do look forward to welcomong you back in the future - and not on buisness!

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    769
    275
    84
    50
See reviews for
577
1,090
64
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Ocean view rooms are just glimpses. Poorly maintained apartments. Bins were still fully from previous guests. More like 3 star accommodation with the 5 star price. Pretty disappointing. I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear Hugs88,
Thanks for the review - I would be interedted to hear any more comments - areas where we may have let your down and areas we can improve. I apologise for the levels you experianced - as you can see this is not the normal high levele we operate under.

I must ask if you stayed in a private unit or a Mantra unit?

Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here for a business conference and it was great. The apartments are roomy and staff are very friendly. The location is the real prize though. Great pool area but with the beach only 50 meters away I didn't spend much time there. Had fun staying there for business but will be back for a longer relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfactorminus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Dear summitsw,

Thanks for the review - with spring in the air, hopefully you will get a chance to escape from Brisbane again to enjoy the resort!

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a 2 bed apartment on ground floor overlooking the main pool. The apartment was huge (actually one bed apartment plus hotel style room combined). Great buffet breakfast inlcuded for everyone (4 of us) for an additional $20 per night. Lovely location, great recreation facilites ( 2 x pools, tennis courts, bike hire, beach). Cafes/resturants/surf club are just a 2 minute walk away. No need to get the car out while you stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bossladymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear bossladymum,

Great review - great to read you enjoyed your time here and everything was as required!

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We arrived after dark and were pleased with the clear signage off the main highway taking us to this well appointed and impressive sea-side resort. Staff were efficent and professiona. Travelling as a family of five with three children aged 15, 9 & 8 we booked a two bedroom apartment which worked very well. We were delighted with resorts look and feel, with modern and very high standard of furnishings, view from our balconies over the main pool, adjoining rooms with shared entrance foyer for ease of access; with one suite having the kitchen, dining and lounge (fold-out double bed), along with larger bathroom inc spa.

We enjoyed bright sunshine (22-23 degrees C) during our three days, surfing and walking along the beautiful sandy beach right out the front of 'Salt'; we even saw a large Humpback Whale swim past. We also visited Fingal Head Lighthouse where we saw more whales and dolphins from the bluff; good spot for a picnic. We also hired a Surf Board from Tony at Kingcliffe Recreation Hire Shop (--) who was very helpful. Plenty of other things to do at Salt including playing table tennis, enjoying the smaller heated pool & relaxing outdoor spa located next to the tennis courts. In relaxing by the heated pool and outdoor spa we noticed some younger people with glass bottles in the pool / spa area, which was handled efficiently by the staff.

Overall a lovely place to come and relax, with plenty of recreation activities both nearby and within the resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Dear Adelaide_hills,

Thanks for the great review - pleased to see we turned the weather on for you - and the whales!

Hope we are on the intinerary when next you travel this way north!

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

If you need a quiet getaway and can book a room when they are on sale (we paid AU$190 for 2 nights Inc breakfast for 2 daily) the hotel is hard to beat and you can look past its bad qualities. I would not recommend paying rack rate for the room or breakfast. 
The Room is farely small with a tiny balcony and the king bed was very hard with the lumpiest pillows I've ever had to endure. Very large bathroom with a separate shower/bath. 
Rooms were very quiet, never heard the people in the room next door or people in the corridors.
The Hotel has lovely gardens and lawns.
There are plenty of quality dining choices in the Salt dining precinct to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AU_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Au_Traveler,

Thanks for the comments - pleased to see you enjoyed your time here in the area - sorry the weather has been a bit patchy, but warmer weather is coming!

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooroy, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

The Sun was shining when we arrived at the lovely Mantra on Salt at Kingscliff, we were a bit concerned about our accom after reading a few reviews here. We were not at all disappointed. We booked a 2 bedroom ocean view room, we was just lovely. We were in block 2 overlooking the pool and from the 2 bedrooms and the lounge we could see the rolling surf-Amazing. The living area was a little small but it was fine for us as I travelled with my Mum and 2 small children. The kids loved the spa bath which we had 2 of as the 2 bedroom is made up of a 1 Bedroom apt and a Hotel room(which Mum had) connected by a little entry. This type of accom really worked for us. The only downside which occurred aprox 10.45am on the morning of checkout I received a call from reception asking if I was aware the check out time was 10am?? The day before we had organised a late check out and paid the $20 required to have the extra hour(this took about 20mins to do too???). When I informed the girl what arrangements had been made she said "oh yes I didn't press a button" no apology was given. When we made t downstairs at 11am I noticed the girl who phoned was the same one that I organised the late check out with so I was not impresses and from my body language I guess she worked that out. There was also an extra charge on our account which she was not able to fix and we had her wait for someone to get of the phone in the back office to sort it out. So Yes its a beautiful place to stay and I would consider returning but it still leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Dear sandan77,

Thanks for the feedback - I have spoken to the team and read your review to them - they to are sorry they let you down and really do apologise.

We will endeavour to ensure all team members communicate to minimise these mistakes.

Thank you again.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Mantra on Salt Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscliff
1.2 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
8.2 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Cabarita Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
Ingenia Holidays Kingscliff
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
Paradiso Resort Kingscliff
#2 of 4 in Kingscliff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Salt Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Salt Beach

Property: Mantra on Salt Beach
Address: Gunnamatta Avenue, Kingscliff, New South Wales 2487, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kingscliff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingscliff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kingscliff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Salt Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found in Kingscliff in northern New South Wales, Mantra on Salt Beach offers exceptional facilities and a beautiful beachfront location just 90 minutes drive from Brisbane, 30 minutes from Byron Bay and only 15 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. Offering elegance and style with sweeping easterly views to the Pacific Ocean and lush, green grounds to complement its naturally beautiful surroundings, Mantra on Salt Beach is the ultimate coastal getaway. We offer Hotel, One and Two Bedroom Rooms and Suites each with air conditioning, private balcony, cable TV and most offer breathtaking ocean views and wheelchair accessible rooms are available. Centrally located within Salt Village, Mantra on Salt Beach offers direct access to a variety of restaurants, retail stores and the onsite day spa. The hotel features a lagoon pool, tropical pool, rock spa, two tennis courts, gym & free undercover parking (subject to availability). We also have 24 hour reception and a concierge. On the weekend Salt Bar offers a bus service to the main street of Kingscliff where there are even more shops and restaurants to enjoy. Enjoy breakfast or lunch overlooking the resort's lagoon pool and Salt Beach while indulging in the delightful menu of Surge Restaurant & Bar. Using the freshest local produce the head chef creates an enticing breakfast & lunch menu that will impress and satisfy everyone. For the family Surge Restaurant & Bar has you covered by creating affordable kids meals and provides high chairs on request. Numerous leisure activities are available when staying at Mantra on Salt Beach. Whether it be climbing Mount Warning, bike riding the 7km beachside path to Kingscliff or Cabarita, fishing the Tweed, or any other activities you can think of we would be happy to arrange it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mantra on Salt Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Salt Beach Hotel Kingscliff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing