We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,644)
Filter reviews
3,644 results
Traveler rating
1,651
1,272
482
145
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,651
1,272
482
145
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewthe gold coastmain poolgreat resorthotel roomtennis courtsbyron bayspa suiterelaxing staytropical poolbuffet breakfastsalt beachbottle shopone bedroom apartmentshort breakself containedgreat facilities
Filter
Updating list...
3,527 - 3,532 of 3,644 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Conferencing: We held a conference here. Overall it went very well and we would run a conference for up to 200 here again. There were some minor issues for the meeting like the tea and coffee service being a little laid back - luke warm water for tea and the coffee machine broke. The room for presentations was very good although noise from ? rooms above might be a slight intrusion at times.

Hotel: There was some delay in getting into rooms on the first day, although this just because of delays in people checking out. The rooms are well appointed and set out with kitchenettes and large bathrooms and balcony. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the extended finger food reception on the first evening was of unparalleled quality and received rave reviews from a fairly discerning international audience. When we told staff that a group would have an early departure for Gold Coast and Brisbane airports on the final morning, they provide a continental breakfast from 5am and hot buffet from 6am. Internet in the rooms is a little pricey at $25/day.

I would also return to this place with family for a week at the Australian beach side. There are two nice pools in the resort, tennis courts, local golf courses, walking and bike ride along the shore to Kingscliff, local shops (Supermarket, Liquor, etc) and restaurants and direct access to the beach which is good for a dip or body surfing.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear Doesnotgetoutmuch

Thanks for the review - Great to read you enjoyed your time here and your conference @ Salt

I look forward to welcoming you back with the family in the future!

I thank you again for the comments.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Mantra on Salt Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

As the website showed ocean view and non ocean view rooms we booked by telephone to ensure we would definitely get an ocean view (we payed the higher rate). The booking clerk assured us our room would face the ocean and have uninterrupted direct ocean views. We were surprised to be given a room facing sideways over the pool with only partial ocean views.
No assistance was offered with luggage-although we were obviously elderly.
The room was really tiny-the only place to put our suitcases was in the bathroom.
The room lacked basic facilities-no bedside table or reading light on one side of the bed. The only overhead light was so dim it was impossible to read.
Since we couldn't read we had to watch TV. The problem now was that there was no comfortable chair or sofa (the room was too small) so we had to sit on the bed.
We did have a small wicker chair with a metal frame-the frame was rusty.
Breakfast (in Peppers) was basic eg no fried eggs, jams were those nast Kraft packets.
By way of contrast the next night we stayed in the Crown Plaza Terrigal-what a difference. Assistance with luggage was immediate, a large well equipped roomwith ocean views, excellent breakfast - and the cost about 2/3 of the Mantra room
Mantra is clearly overpriced and staff could benefit with training

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElderlyTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We were charged twice for the accommodation, which we discovered on check in. The reception staff told us we had to sort it out directly with central reservation (what???). They couldn't, and wouldn't, help resolve the issue. Very rude. The bars and restaurants were rarely open, so there really was no convenience of having those services in the resort. We stayed a few nights, and housekeeping was inconsistent each and every single day - some times the room wasn't even made up by 4pm (and that was after a call to check if someone was coming?)! I'd keep driving straight past this place.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lionlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear Lionlocks

Thanks for the review - I am sorry to read we did not meet your expectations - we do try and meet all guests expectations and are successful in most cases.

I would ask - did you stay at Mantra or Peppers?, and please let me know. Mantra does not offer a daily service - we like the guests to relax and enjoy the resort with out constant interuptions and staff and trolleys in the corridors. But we will service your room daily should you wish - just contact the recetion desk.

I thank you again for the comments.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Mantra on Salt Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed at Mantra on Salt Beach the week after Easter for 3 nights. Having stayed here before we knew what to expect and we were looking forward to some time on the beach and at the pool. Unfortunately the weather was not on our side and with the wind and rain howling we did not see much beach time. We had breakfast included in our package and the buffet was very good, Karen looked after us at breakfast time and was very kind to our 2 yr old. The pub next door is very handy to the resort and serves nice meals.
Overall we enjoy the Mantra on Salt Beach and would return.....but we check the weather report next time.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
Thank gazgolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear Gazgolf1

Thanks for the review - I am sorry to read about the weather - its the one thing we can't do much about!

Great to read Karen looked after you - she is a valued part of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back - when the sun is shining!

I thank you agin for the comments.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Mantra on Salt Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

After a disappointing experience at Peppers we booked a 2 bedroom ocean front room at Mantra through Rays Real Estate at Salt. Rate was much better than booking through hotel itself and room was great. Resort itself is fairly basic with limited facilities. Great location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dineman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraSalt, General Manager at Mantra on Salt Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear Dineman69

Thanks for the review - we do try and meet all guests expectations and are successful in most cases.

When booking via an agent you do not have access to the full resort facilities - In house Movies, Room Service and customer assistance from the resort. You are just purchasing a holiday unit with no service.

If you are happy with this great, but your comments of limited facilities and services are avaiolble to guests of the resort.

I thank you again for the comments.

Best Regards

Scott Lynch
General Manager
Mantra on Salt Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews