We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing seafood and steak”
Review of Fins

Fins
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood and steak”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This far surpassed our expectations - the food was amazing, the service excellent (I think Andrew was our waiter) and it had a lovely vibe. Top notch food (albeit with high prices) but in an environment that is relaxed and not pretentious. The scallops, snapper and the salted caramel chocolate dessert were all amazing. My husband said his steak was up there in the top 5 he's had in his life.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anevinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    113
    49
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Over-complicated food. A huge disappointment.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I made a return trip to Kingscliff to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. We made a booking at Fins with great expectations for the degustation menu. I was thrilled to find the degustation menu featured fresh fish, crab, and duck - all of which I seek out on the menu when we have the opportunity to dine out. While all the dishes were elegantly presented - the flavour failed to satisfy . The delicate flavour of the fish was overpowered by the accompaniments, the crab bisque featured a piece of crab the size of a fingernail swimming in what appeared to be a potato and leak soup (possibly made on a seafood stock) and the duck was smoked to the point that it was unidentifiable - reminiscent of jambon, or ham. Such a pity to spoil such beautiful base ingredients with culinary 'showing off'. Unfortunately the service on the night we attended matched the food- the waitress accidently tipped our bottle of wine and it's ice bucket over - spilling perhaps a glass of wine onto the floor before than saving it. Rather than offering us a new bottle (which is what I would expect in a restaurant of this calibre) she just walked off. The bottle was replaced begrudgingly at our request. We are not serial 'complainers' however this was a sadly disappointing experience for us - and we have discovered we are not alone. Other friends of ours were similarly under-whelmed by their experience at Fins after all the accolades.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS FOOD !”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

if you love seafood, you will LOVE Fins !!! have been here a few times and the food is nothing short of sensational w/ a great cocktail menu too !! yum yum !!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alyssa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed Creek, Gold Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect with no walrus”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I won a compition for myself and 7 others to dine here and we had the best time. The food was out of this world and the service and staff were amazing. There was at least 8 very happy people the that night.
I've rated 5 on all the boxes above including value, even though we didn't pay, but we would have paid what they were asking without hesitation.
Fins was the perfect night and its now on the cards to have a yearly pilgrimage.
P.S. It's worth booking into the Mantra, lots of wines to drink with each course.
Well done to all the staff at Fins and Snowie for making it such a wonderful occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent Service, great seafood”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great service and atmosphere. Food was delicious! Staff knowledge of the menu was second to none and very helpful. Will definitely return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins also viewed

Kingscliff, New South Wales
Casuarina, New South Wales
 
Kingscliff, New South Wales
Kingscliff, New South Wales
 

Been to Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing