We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but Master Chef Professional Meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fins

Fins
Ranked #3 of 59 Restaurants in Kingscliff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive but Master Chef Professional Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Every mouthful a delight but definitely highly priced for the privilege - a special occasion meal. The service was excellent, with wine recommendation spot on. 3 of us did not need a booking on a Friday night but does say reservations essential.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmileyTrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    105
    48
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could do without the dj”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Food as always was superb but the service was a bit mixed. Spoilt by the dj, particularly as next door had a live guitarist and they conflicted badly.

Helpful?
Thank Travellers396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka NSW
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expect fine dine - get Coles Cafateria”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Having dined at Fins some years ago in its Byron Bay incarnation, and following its collection of SMH Chefs Hats over the years, we decided to try Fins @ Salt for my fathers 82nd birthday dinner.
Having never been to the Salt precinct we had no idea of the restaurants situation, and you could not judge much from the photos on the Fins website.
The restaurant is located in what can best be described as a shopping centre food court situation with several restaurants & bars all lined up with vinyl partitions separating each one.
The ambient noise was terrible, the music so loud we could hardly talk, our waiter was very unfriendly and continually leant across the table in front of us to pour wine or collect plates (a pet hate). The food, while nice, was nothing exceptional.
When you are paying $100 per head you expect the experience to be a good if not great one. We could have had a better time in the food court of Robina Town Centre!!!
If you are after a special night out avoid Fins to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Top class food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved the food and service. Sure its pricey and food portions are not huge but its very slick. They had a live DJ when we dined. Its silver service with a cool twist. I'd rate this the best place to eat at Salt Beach.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BrizVegasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Over rated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

In a nutshell, "on the pretentious side, way over rated and over priced".
We had a table for four in October 2012. We had a reservation for 7.30pm and arrived on time. We were asked to wait at the bar, even though the restaurant was only half full, and waited about 45min whilst being over sold on their expensive drinks list. Entrees and desserts were OK. One of us had "Rubber" baramundi, and two of us had overcooked and dry rib-eye steak lacking flavour, even though we had asked for medium rare.
Such a shame to dishonour the beast.
Food mostly not that imaginative given the restaurant's reputation and price.
Not impressed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaC732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins also viewed

Casuarina, New South Wales
Kingscliff, New South Wales
 
Kingscliff, New South Wales
Kingscliff, New South Wales
 
Cabarita Beach, New South Wales
Kingscliff, New South Wales
 

Been to Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing