We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for casual dining”

Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro
Ranked #10 of 61 Restaurants in Kingscliff
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Salt Bar Beachbar & Bistro is the perfect spot to have a meal with the family, grab for a quiet little drink with friends, or the place to let your hair down and party 'til the wee hours on Friday and Saturday nights. Our bistro has an extensive menu with classic pub fare, gourmet options, including fresh seafood and steak, kids meals and a variety of dishes under $20. There is free weekend entertainment, sports bar, happy hour cocktails, huge indoor playground for the kids and much more for all ages. Salt Bar is also an ideal location for functions and events including weddings, corporate, birthdays and kids parties.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for casual dining”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It's situated right near the beach, and offers good pub food. There is no tables service, so you must order all drinks and food from bar. We were there during school holidays, so yes abit hectic and slow on service - though you don't mid. Only negative is the lack of taking away empty glasses and plates from your table.
The food menu offers a good variety of food to suit all tastes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimz140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    218
    119
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

My mum brought me here for morning tea and lunch because it was really nice a few years ago when she came. When we were ordering the staff didn't seem to know about the food and came off a bit ditzy. When we collected our food it looked nice but tasted average and was overpriced. However the actual building is very nice and modern, there is a big playground for kids and the view is great. A bit disappointed though overall.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maboo_Bisbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location, family friendly”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Located in the section of the shopping strip at Mantra on Salt that is closest to the beach, the food and ambience is good, and the bistro is family friendly, which saw plenty of kids running around - not to our liking, but good for those looking to travel with the family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornlands, QLD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super fast & yummy”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch hear & was pleasantly surprised. Place was packed but our food was ready in about 10minutes, and it was really good too! Even had ocean glimpses. Great value for money & much better than food we got next door at Mantra!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingscliff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worst food ever”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We live locally to the salt bar.The food is overpriced you never know what your going to get. We have tried many times and find that enough is enough. Save your money and go somewhere else
there are plenty of beautiful resturants in kingscliff and Salt village. The Salt bar does have cold beer and a kids room. That is as good as it gets. Have a drink and eat somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro also viewed

Kingscliff, New South Wales
Kingscliff, New South Wales
 
Kingscliff, New South Wales
Casuarina, New South Wales
 
Kingscliff, New South Wales
Kingscliff, New South Wales
 

Been to Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing