We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient but that's it”

Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro
Ranked #10 of 61 Restaurants in Kingscliff
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Salt Bar Beachbar & Bistro is the perfect spot to have a meal with the family, grab for a quiet little drink with friends, or the place to let your hair down and party 'til the wee hours on Friday and Saturday nights. Our bistro has an extensive menu with classic pub fare, gourmet options, including fresh seafood and steak, kids meals and a variety of dishes under $20. There is free weekend entertainment, sports bar, happy hour cocktails, huge indoor playground for the kids and much more for all ages. Salt Bar is also an ideal location for functions and events including weddings, corporate, birthdays and kids parties.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“convenient but that's it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Could be so much better. It's a pub that charges like a restaurant but with little quality.
Oysters twice the price of the pub downtown and they served them on a plate still warm from the dishwasher! Nothing wrong with the food just not good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicomumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emzie122, Manager at Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear nicomumanddad
Thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback.
We apologise that your experience was not up to our usual standard.
We do try and use fresh local produce as much as possible and sometimes this is reflective in our pricing.
I will pass your valuable feedback on to all of our team for discussion.
Happy New Year form the Saltbar team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    216
    118
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little expensive but you get a lot of food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate here and we thought the prices were a little expensive, but that changed once the food came out! The porpotions were big and delicious. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThefamilyTravelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emzie122, Manager at Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi The familyTravellers1
Thank you for leaving your feedback for us.
We are really happy that you and your family enjoyed your meals, it's great to hear.
Happy New Year from the Saltbar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visited here for dinner while at Kingscliff. Good vibe, roasted beet root salad was delicious. Too pricy though for the money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank room_downstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emzie122, Manager at Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Room_Downstairs
We are glad that you enjoyed your beetroot salad during your visit, it is one of our most popular dishes on the menu.
I will pass your comments about the pricing on to our team.
Thank you for your feedback and have a Happy New Year!
Regards from the Saltbar team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good "club" meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Saltbar Bistro meals were what you would expect from a RSL or surf club meal - good basic food. I think we were a bit spoilt after dining at some very good restaurants on other nights during our holiday, but we still enjoyed our dinner. The location is great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emzie122, Manager at Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Natalie 737
Thank you for the comments you posted on the 3rd January.
There definitely some fabulous restaurants in the local area and we pride ourselves on having something that might suit everybody here at the Saltbar.
Happy New Year.
From the Saltbar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
511 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“Decent Enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Decent enough pub food. A few local beers available which is good. Closed very early on Christmas Eve, which was disappointing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emzie122, Manager at Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Yorkie_Traveller
Thank you for your comments re your recent visit to the Saltbar.
You are right our local beers are quite popular with visitors and locals alike.
We will take your comment about closing times on board for next year.
Happy New Year!
From the Saltbar Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro also viewed

Kingscliff, New South Wales
Kingscliff, New South Wales
 
Kingscliff, New South Wales
Casuarina, New South Wales
 

Been to Saltbar Beach Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing