We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate on grass overlooking Bombo near the Blowhole.”
Review of Saltwater

Saltwater
Ranked #21 of 77 Restaurants in Kiama
Price range: $13 - $18
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ate on grass overlooking Bombo near the Blowhole.”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Always lovely seafood from Saltwater. We had barramundi with chips and salad.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank GourmetSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    45
    20
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire england
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good chowda”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Kiama is a small town located about two hours south of Sydney where the Saltwater cafe is situated on the main street. My son lives in kiama downs so whenever we are there,which is quite often we always go to the saltwater cafe for their seafood chowder. Reasonably priced and comes with warm bread. Filled with seafood and a good afternoon filler.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ann.cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food, fast friendly service maybe a little expensive for fish and chips”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I had beer battered barramundi and chips which were excellent. The portions were huge although quite expensive for fish and chips... You get what you pay for I suppose. We will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J0diel0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good for a Quick Fix”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just for the record this was not our first choice, after a beautiful morning of walking in the Rainforest we wanted to book in at a Winery however by the time we finished we had run out of time as most places finish serving at 2:30pm.
Whatever you do, do not go to the bathrooms at this cafe, you will end up trekking up to the back of the cafe, up stairs and the amenities are not kept well conditioned at all. The levels of hygiene are much to be desired.
Had the smoked salmon and the prawn salad which looked as if they just emptied the ingredients and dumped it on a plate with a hell of alot of balsamic. Lucky the salmon and the prawns were fresh because the oversized vegetables did not fit into my mouth unless I cut them in half again. My partner had the chicken schnitzel which looked like a oversized burger with not much flavour at all, the calamari was frozen and deep fried and all in all not the best value for money for $50.00 I am not joking but Red Rooster down the road would have been better.
If you can avoid leaving this one do it for your own stomach sake.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Good fresh food and great service . Fast service good value for money

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Developments61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater also viewed

Kiama, Kiama Municipality
Gerringong, Kiama Municipality
 
Kiama, Kiama Municipality
Kiama, Kiama Municipality
 
Kiama, Kiama Municipality
 

Been to Saltwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing