We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“are you serious?”
Review of Kiama Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kiama Cove Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiama
Reviewed August 28, 2011

my partner and i stayed here and were disappointed with the room and service. We were told after paying for the night that we could not smoke on the balcony. Fair enough too i say after all we were having a relapse and appreciate it for the dirty filthy habit that it is. However, when we enquired why we were told that the OH&S inspectors would be out to fine us if we did. We did ponder what authority would allow such an OH&S inspector to enter a privately run property and issue a fine but could not work that one out. anyhow fair enough, you might want the oh&s inspectors to check the rust in the balcony handrails if they happen to be out next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mickynfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

We paid $185 for a deluxe king room (booked online), what a ripoff! The "king size bed" was 2 singles of different heights (not much good for a romantic weekend) to say the least, TV was old and blurry and not HD, handbasin tap was difficult to turn on and off and there was a loose tile on the bathroom floor.Room was very small. A gale blew under the front door (no weather seal) so the aircon was struggling to keep us warm. On the positive side the view was lovely. One motel we will not bother to visit again! Motel owners should spend a night in their own rooms.
ServiceValueLiked: Disliked:

Room Tip: Go to a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

There will not be a chance to fool me twice. Kiama is not a big city so there is not a "hotel row" kind of area in town. But you wont have to look hard to find a better hotel better than this! My wife and I actually spent a few hours looking for another hotel for our next Kiama trip. The Kiama Cove Motel is run down and the rooms are small. The televisons are old CRTs with vary limited channel selection and the king sized beds are 2 twins pushed together. One of our mattress' was so worn that it had a deep bowl shape causing a poor nights sleep. The parking is inadequate and what they sell as ocean facing rooms are nothing more in that ... They face in the direction of the ocean. What they dont say is that there is a football field in between. (Photo taken from room is attached) But we were stuck as we pre-paid for 3 nights when we booked the room so ... In some ways, a cheap lesson as even while checking out they never asked if we enjoyed our stay, we will not be back for them to find out.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2wheeltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

please avoid this motel AT ALL COST. there is about 10 motel down the princess highway that are at LEAST 2x better and half the price.

upon arrival we were rudely treated by the manager who rudely informed us that we cannot have any visitors - which is impossible for us because we have a local friend coming to visit us.

the service is also horrible as our room was missing some basic toiletry like not enough soap and etc.

I only spent one night in this motel and then drove about 20 mins down the princess highway and find myself another motel the next morning.

again, HIGHLY UNRECOMMANDED, Think twice before entering!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HappyTraveller1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Yes, this hotel has views, but to be honest so do so many others in Kiama, So what does it have to offer? The answer is nothing!
I have never been treated with so much disrespect and contempt by hotel staff in many years of travelling. The room is standard in terms of hotels, and standard would be fine, if they were charging a standard fee for their accomodation. The bathroom was tiny, dirty with a fan constantly on that sounded like a jet plane, and would it hurt to give guests a tiny cake of soap to shower with?
The door was difficult to open, constantly sticking, the air conditioner did not function on the heat setting leaving the room freezing cold.
If I had to pick one point of my stay that was positive at The Kiama Cove Hotel, I would have to say it was my company, because there is nothing positive at this hotel.
Stay over the road!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed on our way back up the coast and was recommended the Motel by the Information Centre.
The Room was clean, and the furnishings were lovely, it had a HUGE window overlooking the beach which was awesome.
We used the pool at the motel, which was great.
The Motel looks a little run down, and desperately needs a makeover on the outside, but you could see they were trying to do the best they could. We layed on the bed and couldn't help but notice the paint peeling from the eaves.
The bed was a very comfortable king size, the sheets were clean, and the Bathroom, while small was clean and useable. It was the best nights sleep for me the whole trip.
A couple of issues;
* we managed to get a park inside the motel, and then refused to move the car at dinner as we feared having to leave the car out on the street and having to carry our bags out there in the morning.
* the breakfast was very basic, and was the main selling point for us when we decided to stay there.
* if you arent good on stairs and need to stay on the ground level I think you'd get a pretty dodgy view.
All not major issues, but for the price we paid for the room, I was expecting something a little nicer.
And just a heads up for anyone who stays there, if you go around the corner and there is a little italian restaurant near the park and the beach, I don't reccomend it. I've never gone to an italian restaurant who serves no name frozen garlic bread, and powdered parmasen. Both of us bought pasta meals which were tasteless and ended up making us both sick.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatandAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I arrived a little early and supposedly had to wait for the room to be prepared. I assumed the sheets had been changed but we were disgusted to find that there still was fesces on the bed sheets from the previous guests. I won't be going back to this dump in a hurry.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Casualtripper1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiama
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
4.5 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
760 reviews
18.2 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel 617
Motel 617
#2 of 3 in Kiama
58 reviews
17.5 mi away
Anchor Bay Motel
Anchor Bay Motel
#1 of 1 in Greenwell Point
387 reviews
5.3 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiama Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiama Cove Motel

Address: 10 Bong Bong St, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2533, Australia (Formerly The Pines Motel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Kiama
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kiama
Price Range: $74 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kiama Cove Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to all Kiama has to offer - blowhole, rock pools, lighthouse, eateries, surf beach and more. Please note that the motel pool is permanently closed yet we have been unsuccessful making these changes on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiama Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiama Cove Hotel Kiama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing