We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Group Stay”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Kiama B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Budget Group Stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed with a large group for a weekend just recently. Good price for basic rooms. People should remember that this is pub, not the Shangri-La. Pubs have music, are noisy and have pub food. All this suited us just fine. Staff could not have been more accomodating to our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    10
    8
    37
See reviews for
17
13
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Water in bathroom sink won't go down. No warning that there is going to be a live band playing till midnight when we have been traveling for so many hours and just needed to sleep so badly! Rabbit warren of a place. Itchy beds, communal bathrooms looks really dirty. But most of all its the noise that's way too much!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip_n1nja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kiama hotels

tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Looking for a place to eat on a visit Thursday choose the $6 lunch specials sat in beer garden very good value hubby impressed will return when in area. Service was all done by one person at bar she handled it well can't complain

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

When I arrived, the guy behind the bar could barely be bothered to serve me. I should have taken this as a warning sign.

My room was tiny with almost no furnishings: just a bed and a small chest of drawers. There wasn't even a powerpoint! The walls were scruffy.

The bathrooms were disgusting and in very poor condition. One had no sink; in the other the shower was broken. Both rooms were dirty and did not seem to have been cleaned for a while.

The tiny communal area was dirty, smelly and poorly equipped. The light did not work. A half-eaten plate of food sat on a table for the duration of my stay.

Overall, the whole place is dirty, neglected and extremely run down. Many things are broken, to the point of there being holes in the walls. It is probably the most squalid hotel that I have ever seen anywhere in the world (including India). Stay anywhere but here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gourmetcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had dinner at hotel 3 times. The steak was terrific and under $20. Service was very ordinary. Decor very very old and tired looking. Actual restaurant hot and stuffy. But the price was right! Did not stay there so no comment on rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went to Kiama for the first time on monday caught the train down first pub I went past was half price mondays all main half price. Went inside found kitchen order at bar get a buzzer and a drink cooked ready to eat in under 10 minutes. I am not a local some other tourists were there and obviously very impatient just some people have to learn to chill and wait their turn. I had the lemon pepper calamari salad and was full as very good serve especially for the price. Will return if in the area. Sat in the beer garden view not much but fitted the bill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went to kiama for a day thought we would have lunch at the pub even thou there was less than 5 people in the pub we could still not get a beer . The staff member just ignored us, tried to order lunch a pizza ,only to be told there was no pizza bases available.finished our beer and walked to other pub in town where we had a beautiful lunch with great service . We were happy to leave our well earned money there and not at your grand hotel .wont be back. Still waiting at the bar the second time and was the only person to be served at the time and then another person turned up at the bar and they got served straight away before me even though I had been the only person waiting before hand being a resident for a very long time and this place use to be staffed well until recently I would not recommend going anywhere near this place.we have heard that other people have had the same experience but thought we would give it a chance but where disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rainbowkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiama hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
0.1 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#2 of 3 in Kiama
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Studios Kiama
Grand Studios Kiama
#9 of 11 in Kiama
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kiama Shores Motel
Kiama Shores Motel
#3 of 11 in Kiama
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel 617
Motel 617
#3 of 3 in Kiama
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
BIG4 Easts Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: 49 Manning St, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2533, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Kiama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kiama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing