We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced over rated extremely noisy and very very crowded.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BIG4 Easts Beach Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Kiama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

When I planned our first big trip, we were so excited to be going to the east coast of Australia. After traveling over 7 hours from Albury, we finally get there. I very kindly ask the receptionist if we could we be placed next to our friends who had arrived a day early. We understand it was a hard request, but seeing as both if the sites next to them were free, we thought we would ask. The receptionist rudely gave us a NO! After friending the people who came in and filled that empty spot, they were more than willing to swap, but it all was a bit too hard. She gave us no information about different things happening at the camp site, but was eager to accept our payment and talk to the next in line.
The place was bumper to bumper, to the point were our neighbors, kindly asked if they could park their car under our buddy (verandah) of our caravan otherwise they wouldn't fit it in the site.
The ground has a small amount of dusty (muddy when raining) which made it nearly impossible to stack up the annex.
There are no where near enough toilets to handle the hundreds of people there. The pool looks nothing like the web site on the big4 page.
Our back neighbors partied into the late night, and even after i called security no action was taken.
The children's planned activities were few and far between. Very expensive too.
We payed just under $700 for a powered site for a week and they still made you pay for the Bbq's in the camp kitchen, and some of them didn't work well either.
The only benefit was the easy access to the beach.
They did have a good band playing one night for entertainment. The hot chips sold at the in house shop are great and the play ground was really good too. But that's about it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastsbeachkiama, Front Office Manager at BIG4 Easts Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to pass on your thoughts to us as we take any feedback, either good or adverse, very seriously. It assists us in improving our services and facilities to ensure we are catering to our guests needs.
It is encouraging to note that you and your family enjoyed the live band and some of the food on offer at our on site Café. And yes many families enjoy our unique position being right on the beach front.
I would be more then happy to discuss with you some of the other items you felt that were not what you had hoped for if you would like to contact me on the details below. Thank you again for your feedback.

Trish Field
Front Office Manager
pfield@eastsbeach.com.au
BIG4 EASTS BEACH HOLIDAY PARK

Ph:(02)42322124 or Toll Free Ph:1800 674 444 Fax: (02)4233 1009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 282 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the holiday park in October 2012. Sure it was filled to capacity due to the school holidays, but the location...right on the beach makes us want to go back....the kids had a wonderful time playing on the beach, getting tatoos and cycling around the park. The only flip side - the pool, even the childrens one was too cold. The rooms ( we stayed in the cabins) were not as big as some of the other holdiay parks we've been to, but they were comfortable. Overall, a good experience. We'll definitely be back.....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneytoIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This park has all of the must have facilities for a family vacation. The direct beach access, resort style pool and jumping pillow make very attractive to the traveller. My wife and two children (9 & 5) stayed on an extremely clean and tidy ensuite site for over a week. During this time my mother stayed in a cabin and mother on law stayed in an ocean front villa. As a family we had invested quite a deal of money to have a peacefull break out of school holidays. Imagine our surprise when 200 high school students lobbed through the gate and dominated all of the facilities. Small children forced to the very end of the jumping pillow so the big kids could all sit on it and talk. Families lined up at the gate to leave the swimming pool as their fun time and swimming lessons were cut short due to overcrowding. When the large group headed towards the beach any chance of relaxation in the overpriced second row of beachfront villas went out the door as 30-40 school students just hovered around trying to see how much noise they could make. My advise to the park operators, Please let us know if you have one of these large bookings. I understand that you are in the business of making money, but I would like to be given the option. As a result I doubt that you will see any of my money or any of the other two groups that packed up in the twilight disappointed at the access to facilities. In my experience if you chose to stay and don't have groups thrust upon you East's beach is a pleasant place to stay, Just do yourself a favour and ask the question.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was our first stay at East Beach, and we loved it. The staff at reception were helpful and very pleasant, and the communal facilities, such as the pool area and playground were fantastic. We stayed in a 'Holiday Villa' near the entrance, looking down toward the pool. In the future, it would be great to stay down near the beach, but we can't fault the accommodation for the price we paid - it's not as though we actually spent much time within the cabin, so it was all we needed.

The kids loved feeding the ducks that wandered around in front of our cabin too.

All in all, very happy with this holiday park and we plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Choose the best cabin that your budget allows, being close to the beach would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wow!!!! One of the best parks we have visited by far. Professional friendly helpful staff, immaculate amenities, awesome facilities and the sites are to die for. Suitable for families to enjoy the facilities that include the stunning pool, the tennis court, the camp kitchens, and also very impressed with the recycling system in place. The resident ducks on site was an elegant site. A short walk to the little blow hole.The beach was so close, the walks fun and interesting and a short drive away to Kiama township.Will be recommending this park to everyone. The sound of the waves and the singing birds made this trip a memorable one, and yes we are definitely coming back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ring ahead to book well in advance for a great spot near the beach. Happy travels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen65652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

the facilities at this caravan park are excellent whether you are in a cabin or setting up the tent. It has two camp kitchens with stainless steel bbqs and big sinks. Communal bathroos are well maintained. If you are in a tent make sure you book a powered site so you can boil water and make life slumming it a little less traumatic.

The walk to Gerringong along the coast is spectacular. You could be in the middle of nowhere. It is a little difficult for young ones as it is not a marked track and is quite steep in parts. Between Easts beach and Werri lagoon is about 14km return and well worth it. May consider taking the train one way next time as the train journey would be spectacular.

We'll be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to pick a cabin or tent site close to the beach as it is so soothing to fall asleep with the rhy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18pumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Spent a weekend in an ensuite cabin with an ocean view! Budget tariff but the location was so much more! Cabin was small but we expected that, next time will spend longer in a bigger cabin and enjoy the facilities and beach more. Would have liked extra blankets for the single beds, but really have no complaints. We arrived late on the Friday night, but it didn't seem a problem for the lovely Carol on reception. An onsite cafe and mini-store is handy too.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiama
1.6 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
3.4 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
732 reviews
19.3 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Discovery Parks - Gerroa
1.2 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#3 of 3 in Kiama
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kendalls on the Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Easts Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Easts Beach Holiday Park

Address: Ocean Street, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2533, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Kiama
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Kiama
Price Range: $123 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned & operated for over 80 years, our 35 acre park is nestled in the valley with mountain backdrops and absolute beach frontage. The park is steeped with natural beauty from lush green grass to the golden sands and sapphire water of the beach. A range of self contained cabin accommodation and powered or ensuite sites for caravans and campers is available. This includes access to a myriad of family friendly facilities including our resort pool, jumping pillow, massage studio, Breakaway Cafe & Mini mart, children's playground and camp kitchen, just to name a few! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Easts Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing