We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lost their way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiama
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hobart
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lost their way”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

this hotel has lost its way and is not a tourist type establishment
it is more interested in weddings (4 while we were there) with the associated noise
the comfortable lounge type area which was frequented by guests and local families is now for single locals and drunken wedding guests, it is just a PUB
back of house staff were great, as was breakfast dining staff
reception and office staff were poor
this hotel is NOT for Accor advantage plus people

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank pardre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSebelKiama, General Manager at The Sebel Harbourside Kiama, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Pardre,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for reviewing The Sebel Harbourside Kiama. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us. Weddings are a regular event at the motel due to our great location and at times we are kept busy with several functions happening at the one time. I am happy to hear that all bar and breakfast staff were friendly as we strive to make everyone feel welcome while visiting the hotel. I am upset that you didn't find the front desk staff helpful and will follow up your concerns.

You are correct when saying that we don't accept Advantage Plus cards, however we hope to have this changed by the end of the year.

I hope you will give us another chance to prove that we are the best option in Kiama and our service, food and beverage are of high quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    368
    156
    42
    18
See reviews for
167
546
25
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, if you want a room with a view of the harbour and ocean go for balcony room as many rooms do not give you this option. Of course it does cost more for this outlook.

A welcome addition to quality accommodation options in Kiama.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSebelKiama, General Manager at The Sebel Harbourside Kiama, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Philip F,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests and as you can see from previous comments that our guests have left, it does happen on a regular basis. As you mentioned the harbour view rooms offer a spectacular view over the water and at times you can see whales and dolphins having fun in the water. We hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the pleasure of attending a wedding weekend here. The service was outstanding, the location stunning, the food was fantastic and we loved that everything was held here. From wedding ceremony, pre-wedding drinks, reception and accommodation. It had it all!

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSebelKiama, General Manager at The Sebel Harbourside Kiama, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Vanbloom,

Nothing give us more pleasure than to hear that you enjoyed the wedding that you attended at The Sebel Harbourside Kiama. Our events team do a wonderful job when we have a wedding function on and I will make sure to pass on your comments to them. Thank you for the review and we look forward to offering you the same quality of service and food that you experienced previously on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
371 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

RECOMMENDED: Kiama is not a spot an int'l visitor is likely to hit. Small sleepy seaside town. But a popular weekend getaway from Sydney and reachable via train (a slow mode of transport in Australia).

This property sits next to the sea, though few of the rooms open to it. It's a nicely laid out property in general good repair. The restaurant/pub is popular with locals. The food is not spectacular but adequate. Breakfast buffet in a nice area looking on to sea, nice selection and adequate.

Our business conference was during a quiet winter mid-week. The hotel was not bustling so the level of noise may vary. Your room choice is face the street (not much traffic) or the local railroad tracks. My room sadly faced the tracks with nothing of merit on view. Double doors ensured I didn't hear the train though.

Room size is large. Bedding comfortable. Stains on couch and desk chair. Horrid fluorescent lighting is the norm in Australia though the room had 2 softer bed side lights. Air handling cycling on/off was bothersome (you can switch to continuous fan on). Like most of my Australian hotels visits, room decor is minimal/sparse.

Bathroom was large. Walk in shower. Good lighting. Ironic sink is tiny considering bath size. In good repair and all tile.

Overall good stay and very good by typical stds found in Australia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSebelKiama, General Manager at The Sebel Harbourside Kiama, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Roadwarrior30,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Sebel Harbourside Kiama.

I have taken note of your comments and have asked for the team to investigate further. As you mentioned not all of our rooms can face the ocean however the rooms do have double glazing to reduce exterior noise. I am currently receiveing quotes to replace the lounges in the guest rooms and hope to have them installed before the end of the year.

I hope you can visit us again and that we can improve on your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed at the Sebel 3 times over the past 2 years. Most recently I purchased a Scoopon voucher for a 1 night stay for 2 people. It was a bargain price of $149 & included was a Superior room, welcome drinks, buffet breakfast, $40 voucher towards dinner in their restaurant & free internet. Even though previous stays had been great we were a little worried that we wouldn't get the same level of service as we were using a voucher, but we need not have worried. From the moment we checked in (which was incredibly quick & easy) through to the time we checked out(even quicker & easier) everything was just perfect. The room is very nice, clean & comfortable. Nice modern & stylish bathroom. Dinner in the restaurant/bar was lovely. Previous stays had been midweek & the restaurant/bar was very quiet, but this time we went on a Friday & couldn't believe how popular it was. It must be the place to go on a Friday night in Kiama! There was live music & the $10 cocktails between 5:30 -8:00pm went down very nicely. There was a nice selection of food at the buffet for breakfast & we really liked the new location for the breakfast, above the restaurant & bar. Beautiful views whilst you are enjoying your breakfast. All the staff we encountered were extremely polite & the service as a whole was impeccable. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiama
4.9 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
706 reviews
17.8 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
17.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#2 of 3 in Kiama
129 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiama Shores Motel
Kiama Shores Motel
#3 of 11 in Kiama
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Harbourside Kiama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Harbourside Kiama

Property: The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
Address: 31 Shoalhaven St, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2533, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Kiama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Harbourside Kiama 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sebel Harbourside Kiama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Harbourside Kiama Hotel Kiama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing