We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Harbourside Kiama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiama
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Weekend escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was a last minute booking for weekend away @ Kiama. Staff were friendly and courteous. The room was good size, temperature controlled with basuc tea/coffee available in the room. The Buffet breakfast had plenty to choose from with wait staff frequently checking on guests and the tables.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank simoned68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    356
    148
    40
    18
See reviews for
162
525
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hotel is situated in an ideal location, the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room, including bathroom was clean to a high standard and very roomy. The breakfast was first class andas it was included in room rate, great value. We have stayed at the hotel on a number of occasions and have alway enjoyed the experience, we are look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Traveller110-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for just 1 night to get away from Sydney. While the place was lovely, it probably wasn't 4.5 stars, but it's also a lot more affordable than most 4.5 star places. While the balcony had views of the train tracks, it was very quiet. The bar was lovely with great service & the breakfast was amazing with a huge choice and complementary newspapers. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

great place to get away from sydney - close enough for convenience and far enough for a breath of fresh air - great service - lovely hotel - delicious breakfast - a lot of nice places to eat in town - could not ask for more - we are looking forward to doing it again and again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank relaxedagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a conference. Hotel is in a very pleasant location. Rooms reasonable size and comfortably furnished. Very comfortable bed.

Large TV with free to air and limited range of Foxtel channels (mainly sport). Staff friendly - though we twice had to get reception to fix our room cards which had stopped letting us into our room. I believe this was because some new staff members had trouble properly programming the cards. The food was pretty standard fare but generally OK.

The bathroom was quite large. The bath tub was very deep which was nice in a way but I could imagine some people having trouble getting out. The shower is over the bath.

Would be happy to come back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paddingtontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermagui, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beautiful town Kiama, the hotel blending in with the surroundings, great friendly staff, groovy rooms, great food, if I could be picky the only thing I found wanting is the beside lamps weren't bright enough for reading in bed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times over the past few years, and have always found it to be an excellent hotel.

Kiama is a lovely place, and would suit either a winter or summer weekend getaway from Sydney. If it's wet and wild you've got the blowhole and the shops and cafes to visit. If it's sunny you've got the coastal walk, beaches, parks and the blowhole (which may be a little smaller if the sea isn't choppy).

The staff in this hotel are great - all are very friendly and helpful, while still managing to be very efficient. It really has that relaxed and friendly country town vibe.

We bought a can of peaches for dessert from the nearby Woolworths, but needed a can opener to open them. I went to Reception and asked for one - the woman on the desk said they'd probably only have big industrial ones (in the kitchen downstairs), so she sent another female staff member up to our room to collect them. Less than 10 minutes later she appeared with our opened can of peaches on a tray, along with tablecloth, napkins, cutlery and two bowls. All of this for a $2 can of peaches that we had bought from outside the hotel!

We were very happy with the service - the staff certainly went over and above what would have been expected of them.

I'd highly recommend this hotel, and Kiama.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Minnamurra Road are preferable to ones overlooking the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_L14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiama
4.9 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
17.8 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
17.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#2 of 3 in Kiama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiama Shores Motel
Kiama Shores Motel
#3 of 10 in Kiama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Harbourside Kiama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Harbourside Kiama

Property: The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
Address: 31 Shoalhaven Street, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2533, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Kiama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Harbourside Kiama 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sebel Harbourside Kiama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Harbourside Kiama Hotel Kiama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing