We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, very friendly and professional staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiama
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mordialloc, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, very friendly and professional staff !”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at the Sebel over new years in a superior king ocean view room. We had amazing views of the fire works for news years and great oceans views from our room.

The room itself was light and airy, huge bathroom with seperate shower and bath! Fully equipped kitchen too !

We were lucky enough to have great weather for our whole trip, so our days were fillies with swims in the rock pool and dinners/long lunches at the Diamond bistro or out in Kiama.

We loved our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNatasha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    368
    156
    42
    18
See reviews for
167
545
25
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The apartment we stayed in was spacious and fine, albeit overpriced. Cannot see much mention of it in other reviews, but there was a train line 10 metres from our room. Trains go through24/7.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

2 days at the Sebel seeing in 2012. Apart from Kiama putting on some fabulousu fireworks and beautiful weather we also enjoyed a relaxing stay at the sebel. Located across from black beach it has everything you need. Pluses...spacious rooms, many with ocean views, restaurant, bar and casual eating. easy stroll to town shops and town beach. Lovely grounds and outdoor seating.
Minus...slightly dated room decor. For coastal location the rooms would benefit from lighter decor. also note there is no pool but it isnt essential with ocean baths and beach close by.
All in all a lovely place to stay. Our 2nd visit and we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeredithMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here with my family of 5 for 3 nights in Dec 11' to explore the sublimely beautiful South Coast. The property is located across the Kiama harbour and is close to the town centre. Parking is free and our room was conveniently located near the carpark lift. The two bedroom apartment we had was nicely furnished and contemporary. Housekeeping was up to par. We didn't have the buffet breakfast even though they had a promotion. We wanted variety, so we had breakfast at different cafes which are located nearby. The reception staff is certainly excellent, and I believe this is what sets this property apart. The only gripe I had was that we were given a room on the ground floor and the apartments on the ground floor generally lacked privacy. But we didn't encounter any problems with this as the property was quiet during our stay. So be sure to request for the upper two floors if possible. We would definitely return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daziz_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had booked this as part of our honeymoon trip so we had high expectations. Things started good, great location and secure parking. Check-in was pleasant. We got a room with no bath so we asked to change to a room with one. This was no problem and the reception staff were helpful. Unfortunately both rooms were dirty and similar to another reviewer's comments there were dirty scuffed walls, dirty and dusty carpets along with dirty sheets/incorrectly made bed.

We asked for a refund on our room rate and checked out again the reception staff were helpful and apologised. It's a real shame as the place could have been great.

We secured accommodation elsewhere at the Harbourside Cabins and we were much happier with the standard and we would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJS1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I was put in a room right next to wedding guests and the ceremony was on My door step. My booking was made through a corporate booking agency and it was clear I had nothing to do with the wedding so I am amazed they even put a single traveller in this room to begin with. Then at 130am I had to change room as the drunken wedding guests decided it was time to bang on my door and yell abuse. The one thing I give the hotel credit for was the prompt reply with staff and security to relocate me. Given that there was 24 hr security I gather I'm not the only one to have had issues here. All this with no sleep and what appears to be one of kiamas more or most expensive rooms (been here for two weeks and its the most i have spent in one night for nil sleep and concern for my safety) equate to never recommending this hotel to anybody as it's obvious there are weddings every week. This all could have been avoided by careful placement of guests to begin with.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jls001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This place is grossly over-priced. Rooms have been built & fitted out el cheapo with crowning cost-saving effort being the mains water pressure. There should be a public health minimum pressue - lucky to get two drops. Sick from breakfast bacon. Amatuers everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhinonewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiama
4.9 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
706 reviews
17.8 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
17.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kiama Cove Motel
Kiama Cove Motel
#2 of 3 in Kiama
129 reviews
5.7 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiama Shores Motel
Kiama Shores Motel
#3 of 11 in Kiama
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Harbourside Kiama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Harbourside Kiama

Property: The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
Address: 31 Shoalhaven St, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2533, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Kiama Municipality > Kiama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Harbourside Kiama 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sebel Harbourside Kiama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Harbourside Kiama Hotel Kiama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing