We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Things Really Mattered”
Review of Karuah Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karuah Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

In my life I have driven through Karuah on the way north more times than I know. Until the bypass went in a few years back, it was more a chore than a joy. A good friends party gave me reason to actually stay in Karuah for the first time and I am so glad I chose this hotel. Maryanne is the host and she was welcoming and very friendly. Karuah is a very small town and she pointed out the local facilities as well as how to get to the party venue.

The room itself was very clean and modern. The alarm clock had an integrated dock tor the iPhone that let you play and charge it. A large flat screen TV in the room with perfect digital reception and pay channels to choose from. Ground coffee and a plunger was on offer. The bed was firm and sheets all really clean. I have stayed in international chains where the rooms have not been as well appointed.

The bathroom in my suite (6) was very small. But being by myself for 1 night wasn't a drama. I would even be happy to stay a few nights if I was exploring the area. It had all the personal cleaning amenities you need if you have forgotten to bring some and the water pressure and shower head where great for a morning after soak.

If you are staying in Karuah and you like them, fresh oysters from the shed of the local oyster farmers is a must have. They are the best oysters (in my opinion). Have a beer at the Karuah Motor Yacht Club on the northern side of the river it is right on the water and very peacful.

I did not try the meals, so can't comment on them. But other little things that I liked where the free WiFi to the room, parking close to the room and the neat gardens. The highway is no longer busy so no traffic noise.

This hotel was great value and I am happy to recommend it to you if you are wanting to stay in the area.

Room Tip: A room nearer the office will improve WiFi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 179 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Karuah was once a place for us to have breakfast on a drive to QLD. I cannot recall how many times we have driven through the town and won't even try. This was the first time that we had left home in the afternoon and decided that Karuah was a good stop for the evening, given that it is now bypassed and should be quiet. We were correct, and the Karuah Motor Inn is an excellent place to stay. Despite being an old style Motel, the rooms are very nicely renovated, very clean and yes, quiet! The owners are friendly and it has a good feel. The plunger coffee was a nice touch and greatly appreciated by my wife.
Just a short walk away is the RSL Club and a variety of food in the restaurant as well as a nice cold beer, or great fish and chips and oysters a short walk the other way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimberBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was so good to receive a warm & friendly welcome at the Karuah Motor Inn after travelling all day from the Sth Coast in atrocious weather conditions. Our Queen unit was clean & comfortable and we appreciated the little extras supplied. The tariff is very reasonable and we enjoyed the breakfast - also reasonably priced. If you want a quiet night away from the noise of the Pacific Highway....take the by-pass into Karuah. It is certainly worth it!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tricia1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The rooms are small but clean, colourful and modern. We asked for permission to have our small quiet dog sleep in our car and the owners were happy for us to do this as long as he was not on the verandah or in the room. Perfect for an overnight stay. Walk to the river and club. Like most motels rooms are close together so sleep quality depends on how noisy your neighbours are. There was a barking dog in the yard near the motel which was annoying.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karuah_Motor_Inn, Owner at Karuah Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thanks for your kind thoughts, we appreciate that guests provide feedback on our service, as it ensures that we are providing the best service we can. We also take a keen interest in Karuah through involvement with the Chamber of Commerce, and will be pleased to pass on to them your observations of our town, we have a lot to offer, and hope your thoughts encourage others to take the time to call in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Pros:
- Convenient to highway, but well away from it to avoid the noise
- Room itself was quiet and I was in the one closest to the road
- Very comfortable bed
- Room was very clean and modern
- Staff were friendly and helpful

Cons:
- Not a great range of local options for dinner, but we did get in quite late on a Monday (~7pm)
- Bathroom was a little small, but it was definitely clean and adequate

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieGal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Friendly owner. Excellent rooms with ALL the extras - good fish and chips shop opposite.
Iga and liquor store opposite . Really clean and good size rooms.
Probably the best motel we stay in. Quiet too!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

What a lovely place to stay. Rooms clean, bed was very comfortable, all toiletries supplied. Fresh milk for tea/coffee and biscuits as well. Mini bar prices were excellent. Dining at RSL approx 2 mins walk from motel. Would recommend this motel to travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOldiesNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karuah
0.0 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Karuah Gardens Motel
Karuah Gardens Motel
#3 of 3 in Karuah
20 reviews
12.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
200 reviews
10.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,169 reviews
12.1 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karuah Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karuah Motor Inn

Address: 422 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Karuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Price Range: $89 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karuah Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karuah Motor Inn is a quiet resting place to recuperate from your day's journey or the ideal place to base yourself for that relaxing holiday. Within a few minutes of the Pacific Highway, in the centre of town, the Karuah Motor Inn provides convenient motel accommodation only 200 metres from the waters of Port Stephens and a short stroll to shops, food outlets and the RSL club.Karuah Motor Inn is the only motel in town to offer HOT & COLD BREAKFAST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Karuah Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karuah Motor Inn Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing