We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karuah Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Karuah Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

What a lovely place to stay. Rooms clean, bed was very comfortable, all toiletries supplied. Fresh milk for tea/coffee and biscuits as well. Mini bar prices were excellent. Dining at RSL approx 2 mins walk from motel. Would recommend this motel to travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOldiesNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    46
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
82
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were so happy to arrive at the Karuah Motor Inn again. I was feeling quite ill with a cold, but I knew we would receive a warm welcome. I was not wrong and before long was tucked up in the blissfully comfortable queen bed with lots of soft pillows and hubby making me some plunger coffee ( supplied in the free welcome hamper).
The corner mini suite was very quiet and comfy, with everything needed for a pleasant stay. A bonus was looking out the back window and seeing the owner's friendly little dog, Dodge, rolling and playing on the grass.
After yet another incredible $8 breakfast - poached eggs, plenty of good quality bacon etc, we hit the road heading for the Gold Coast in Queensland.
Karuah is a perfect stop over for us when we drive from Canberra to Queensland and the fact that we can be absolutely guaranteed of a good night's sleep - the motel being off the highway- is very appealing.
Karuah has every facility, including a chemist, as well as a supermarket with frozen meals to cook in the Motel's microwave. Lots of little cafes and a take away fish and chip shop.
The lovely owners enquired after my health the next morning and asked if there was anything we needed. How often does a traveller hear this. We look forward to returning for more pampering.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cavvygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This gem of a motel was a real find. We wanted an overnight stop between Melbourne and the Gold Coast and couldn't have found anything better. Easy to find, just off the highway, we were greeted by a very pleasant host who offered fresh milk for our tea/coffee (plunger) and was happy to provide advice on dining options. (We opted for a delicious Chinese meal at the nearby RSL.) Our room, while not overly large, was freshly painted, tastefully decorated, had a very comfortable queen size bed, a table and 2 chairs, fridge, microwave, tea/coffee making, toaster, reading lights - everything we could possibly have wanted. Bathroom was small but spotlessly clean and plenty of hot water. As others have commented, the breakfast menu was unbelievably good value and we even made a purchase from the mini bar because those prices too were so reasonable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room but all the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice3934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

This place is a perfect stopping point for travelers now that the highway bypasses the town. We stayed in the adjoining family rooms and were very happy. Rooms were spotlessly clean. A nice touch with the little choccys on the bed. The hostess (Erica?) was lovely and helpful.
A big plus was the wall mounted bar heaters. We were there on a very cold night and used the aircons to warm the rooms, then left them off all night and just left the bar heaters on. No aircon noise, awesome!

We asked where there was a nice restaurant and were directed to a Chinese restaurant inside the local RSL club. It's a 100 metre walk from the motel. We had a variety of dishes and they were all excellent.

We will definitely be staying here again on future travels.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I came up from Sydney for W/end getaway and now I come here once or twice a month.The management and staff make me feel so much at home but without the hustle and bustle of Sydney. I highly recommend this Motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

My sister and I stayed here on our way back from Brisbane, just after the Easter weekend. Most of Port Stephens was packed so we decided to stay in Karuah - it being more affordable and not too far from the port.

The room was nice, clean, and the little details (bedsheets, decor) made the place charming. The bathroom and the bedroom both had a nice big mirror each which came in handy for us two girls. There are allocated parking lots for each room, so just take note to get your key before parking! (we obviously found out the hard way - happily parked in a random lot and had to move after we checked in)

The room does not have a kitchenette, but it does have a fridge, kettle, tea, and even a little coffee plunger and a container with ground coffee beans! That made me smile, since most other motels just have instant coffee.

We asked the gentleman at the reception where we could go for dinner, and we suggested two places - the fish and chips just across the road, and a greek restaurant further down the road. The greek place sounded amazing but we were a bit lazy to drive, so we opted for fish and chips, and went to the supermarket IGA just next door to get some drinks. By the way, we had one breaded and one battered, and only realised when we got back to the room that the portions were huge! (So if u do go there, just take note of that).

We went sandboarding the next day and got brochures from the frontdesk before checking out! be sure to do that! Would definitely recommend this place if you are alright with staying somewhere further out from the main town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kleh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed at the Karuah Motor Inn on our way to Port Macquarie, to break up the trip north for the IronMan competition. We chose Karuah because of the reviews from Trip Advisor and that it was off the main highway, but not too far out of the way.

In short, it was a great choice. We had an adjoined family room, which was fabulous. The kids had one room with a single bed and a bunk, and we had a adjoining room with a queen. The rooms were lovely - with new and modern furnishings and renovated bathrooms. Each room had a TV, although we could not get the one in the kids' room to work.

We had driven from Sydney on a Friday night after work, arriving late (after reception had closed), but they were very friendly and accommodating. They had instructed us to call as we were getting close, to see if they would still be around. They weren't going to be, since we were so late, but they told us our room number over the phone, and told us how we could get in. We simply got there, got into our room and just checked in and out at the same time the next day!

As a place to stop on the way up or down the coast, I think it was brilliant - quiet and really well appointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karuah
0.0 mi away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#1 of 3 in Karuah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
15.0 mi away
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
Colonial Terrace Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mercure Newcastle Airport
Mercure Newcastle Airport
#1 of 1 in Williamtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
14.2 mi away
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
BIG4 Karuah Jetty Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karuah Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karuah Motor Inn

Property: Karuah Motor Inn
Address: 422 Tarean Rd, Karuah, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2324, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Karuah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karuah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karuah Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karuah Motor Inn is a quiet resting place to recuperate from your day's journey or the ideal place to base yourself for that relaxing holiday. Within a few minutes of the Pacific Highway, in the centre of town, the Karuah Motor Inn provides convenient motel accommodation only 200 metres from the waters of Port Stephens and a short stroll to shops, food outlets and the RSL club.Karuah Motor Inn is the only motel in town to offer HOT & COLD BREAKFAST. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Karuah Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karuah Motor Inn Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing