We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Young Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banksia Park Cottages
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We travelled as two families with young children (2 months, 11 months and 2 years), and enjoyed our 3-day stay in two cottages, about 50 metres apart.

We loved the comfortable the cottages (complete with toys and books), the large trampoline (about 2 metres/ 7 feet diameter), the small playgrounds (suited to younger children) and the swimming pool and spa set amongst the gum trees.

We enjoyed looking out onto tree-covered hills (rather than grass-covered pastures) from our cottage. Banksia park feels far away from the cares of the big city, but it's just a 10-minute drive to the Kangaroo Valley town (which has a few basic shops and cafes). We also enjoyed a day-trip to the town of Berry (about 50 minutes away) and doing bushwalks (10 minute drive to 1-hour trail near Tallowa Dam - flat; 30-minute drive to Fitzroy falls - first 20 minutes of walk can be done with a stroller)

Banksia Park is an olive farm, so don't expect to see many animals. There are a couple of pigs, donkeys and chickens, which the 2 year old enjoyed seeing at feeding times.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 34 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Be it only your family or multiple family friends each with their own lodge/cottage, Banksia Park provided endless entertainment for all the ages. We went from pool to spa, trampoline to play tractor, feeding the farm animals to spotting native wildlife, bike riding to playing cricket and that wasn't all. Evenings gave us the options of outdoor private or communal campfires, BBQ's and entertaining area's. Table tennis, pool or watching a movie on the big screen. Our 3 nights and 3 days could have easily been doubled!

The setting within Kangaroo Valley with the high sandstone escarpment and scribbly gums all around was beautiful. The accommodation was all we needed being comfortable for lounging and sleeping, as all we wanted to do was be outside to enjoy the great weather and have fun.

We give a huge thank you to the wonderful team at Banksia Park Cottages.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Come here for the peace, the location, the wombats, the wallabies, the kangaroos, not to mention the donkeys and pigs to feed. We came in the school holidays and loved seeing the wildlife in their natural habitat. The kids too loved the freedom of riding the bikes. We also did the bush walk down to the river, which was steep in parts but nice to get away from it all. The only marginal disappointment was the cottage itself, which was very basic, especially the kitchen, no heating in the bathroom, and overall a sense of seen better days. But we weren't there to spend much time inside, so overall we enjoyed our stay. For the price it would be nice to have better facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rammy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Banksia Park Cottages Kangaroo Valley in the two bedroom Wombat Cottage for three nights in June. We paid $180/night. We stayed during the week.
Wombat cottage has a gas fire which warmed the place up pretty quickly. It also has a kitchen with dishwasher (we didn’t use) and an oven/stove (we had trouble using the oven). The kitchen is stocked with plates, cups, cutlery, jug, toaster, bbq tools, tea towels, dishwashing detergent, tea, coffee. They also supply towels, sheets, soap, etc. You have to take your own hairdryer though.
There is an amenities block with a coin operated washing machine and dryer, and an iron and ironing board.
Kids played on the trampoline and tractor, we went for a bushwalk to the river, kids fed the ducks, donkeys, pigs, chooks, sheep and Cooper the dog. Only thing is Cooper would chase the sheep and then the sheep would bolt, which is dangerous if the sheep barrelled a small child over.
There were an array of bikes and a scooter to borrow. They make their own olive oil, which we bought bottles of. It is lovely. So is walking around their olive grove and spotting kangaroos through the mist in the morning.
Just up the road we spotted two wombats on the side of the road. We all loved spotting them.
The dam near the Wombat cottage is fully fenced. The view from our cottage was awe inspiring.
Like another reviewer said, yes there were spiders in the cottage. Got my husband to deal with them.
In town we had scones and coffee. There is a lolly shop in town that is best to avoid, charging ridiculous prices. Walk up the road to the old bank and have a cuppa. They range a lot of local products you might like to try. We bought honey and creamed honey, dukkah and fudge there.
Our camp fire was all set up for us and ready to go. We lit it during the day for the littlies. We toasted marshmallows and bread over the fire. And threw some potatoes (we bought along side of the road as we were driving into town) wrapped in foil in the coals. We cooked our damper in the oven in the cottage. Dipped it in the oil and dukkah.
We were lucky to buy some beautiful pictures from the art gallery, unfortunately it was a closing down sale. The locals we spoke to were all very friendly to us.
We also saw a lyre bird while we were driving down the mountain into Kangaroo Valley, then we spotted it again when we were driving back up the mountain when we were leaving.
The kids loved Cooper the dog, and loved their family holiday on the farm at Kangaroo Valley. We highly recommend Banksia Park Cottages Kangaroo Valley as a wonderful family stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nswAustralia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is only a short 10min drive from Kangaroo Valley, The scenery is just breathtaking! Do not forget your camera! We stayed for 3nights in the Jennifer Cottage with our three boys. We had a communal BBQ & campfire we were able to toast marshmallows & made our own damper which everyone enjoyed. Wombat & Wallaby spotting of an evening was a real thrill for the boys! The boys loved being able to help Alison the owner feed the animals each afternoon. The boys made friends easily with the other kids and enjoyed swimming in the pool & having a spa, playing on the tractor and trampoline, riding the bikes! The kids didn't ask us ONCE can we watch tv or play the DS! So we know they had fun!
We had a gas fire which warmed the cabin nicely, bed was comfy and Alison supplied a high chair & portacot for our youngest. Cabin was clean and tidy on arrival.. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Expect a farm cottage experience and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank shiremummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived later than we had hoped-originally planned a 2pm early check in and finally arrived at 9.30pm after delay in Canberra. Howver we were rewarded with 2 sightings of Wombats on the way in and right at the gates as we entered the property. Everything was working and in order and paul had left the lightes on and made a fire up for us which we got going in no time. we stayed in the Wombats Cottage. We cooked on the BBQ as soon as we arrived and toasted Marshmallows on the fire and got a great nights sleep. In he morning the kids explored the animals and jumped around on the trampoline and had a great time.

Overall lovely stay. we will be back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HowieT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

4 days at Banksia Park and we already want to go back! Our daughter thoroughly enjoyed the animals – especially Millie – and she wanted to take Cooper home with her (infact she doesn’t stop talking about him).
I am a renewed fan of Damper bread and our daughter couldn’t get over the fact that she’s made bread on a fire! Wow! - Go mummy!
The facilities at the cottage were fantastic and we couldn’t have asked for a more comfortable and tranquil setting – the views blew me away and the spa provided great entertainment for us all.
Not only were your animals a treat but we also had kangaroos hopping by at breakfast and even an Australia King Parrot came to say hello and perched on the house deck – all normal events I’m sure, but a real surprise and treasure for us European Sydneysiders.
Our morning out kayaking on the river was a peaceful and relaxing adventure – not a ringing mobile phone or car engine to be heard – pure bliss!!
Your family made us feel so welcome and a real part of your beautiful homestead – thank you very much.
I do hope that we will come back again – until then.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KZGMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangaroo Valley
2.5 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country Resort
12.9 mi away
Mt Hay Retreat
Mt Hay Retreat
#1 of 8 in Berry
69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wombatalla Guesthouse
Wombatalla Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Kangaroo Valley
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat
5.1 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Tourist Park Accommodation
Kangaroo Valley Tourist Park Acc...
#6 of 9 in Kangaroo Valley
36 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Laurels B&B
The Laurels B&B
#2 of 9 in Kangaroo Valley
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banksia Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banksia Park Cottages

Address: 114 Radiata Rd, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Kangaroo Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Valley
Price Range: $167 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banksia Park Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Banksia Park Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing