We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect weekend away”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Red Dog Retreat

A warm and cosy retreat to listen to music, read books, watch movies or just savour the forest.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm and cosy retreat to listen to music, read books, watch movies or just savour the forest.
Simple rustic charm - a place to chill out in the peace and tranquility of the forest. Snuggle up in front of the fire.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
A warm and cosy retreat to listen to music, read books, watch movies or just savour the forest.
Simple rustic charm - a place to chill out in the peace and tranquility of the forest.
Snuggle up in front of the fire.
Savour the view and the sound of birdsong from your bedroom.
Soak in the spa bath and relax
Sit on the veranda and watch the wombats wander past.
Bedroom - electric blankets and goose down doonas supplied
Enjoy a romantic spa bath at the end of your day
Enjoy the cooler mountain breezes in summer
The view from our road
The lush rain forest vegetation
Red Dog Retreat - on 18 acres of ancient rain forest.
Our beautiful ancient stones
Such a tranquil place to contemplate and take in all that nature provides
What a view to wake up to....
A satisfied guest!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Danielle...
2 reviews
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed August 26, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

What a magic spot! I took my partner here for his birthday and we had the best weekend at this beautiful, cosy cabin in the forest. Amazing view over the valley, comfy beds, fireplace, barbecue on the verandah, the cabin had absolutley everything we needed - and even better that we got to take our own red dog with us, who loved exploring the property. Sally went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful, and we can't wait to come back here again and again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jblaikie
brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to unwind”
Reviewed February 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Spent four glorious nights here, so quiet and peaceful. Just what my husband and I needed, and coming from QLD in Feb, it was oh so cool!! Even though the cottage is quite small, there is everything and more that you need.
Communication with Sally was exceptional, very prompt when booking.
My biggest thrill was to see my first wombats in their own habitat.
We explored Berry and Kangaroo Valley which are short drives away.
Would imagine that the fire would get a work out in winter as the cottage receives very little sun due to the surrounding rain forest. Overall all a much needed break in a little piece of paradise.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethelz
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the peace and silence.”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A wonderful place to stay when you're looking for a rest and a place you can go with your doggies. I loved that it was so dark and quiet at night - had the best sleep. Also loved sitting in front of the combustion fire with my knitting (and sitting on the verandah in the sun).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke G
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, tranquil escape!”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

What a lovely stay we had over australia day weekend to celebrate a birthday. Our dog loved the space to explore, a big beautiful indoor spa awaits for you with candles and a window view of greenery, a cosy living area with fireplace and every creature comfort of home. Picturesque to say the least, an absolute blood pressure reducer! Not far from movies and shopping and far away to stay disconnected from the world. Would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, Brooke. We look forward to you returning.
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway! Gorgeous secluded cottage surrounded by wildlife”
Reviewed November 12, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

where do we start.. the directions provided we're spot on. We arrived to the sound of birdsong, sunshine on the lawn and a cottage smelling so wonderful as if we had walked into a day spa! not forgetting to mention the extras provided by our lovely host, Thankyou Sally! The cottage has a beautiful country style kitchen, lounge room equipped with music and movies, a glorious massive spa bath and the bed! was! so! comfy! We were lucky enough to see a lot of the wildlife Red dog has to offer: A Wallaby, Lyre birds, wombats, an echidna and if that couldn't get any better there were 3 tiny baby shrike thrushes nesting at the property! what a magical experience! This is the perfect place to get away, sit on the balcony, listen to the birdsong and watch the mist roll in.. Thank you for sharing this sanctuary Sally, so glad we found Red Dog Retreat! We will be back very soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage, seclusion & tone of it all!
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope you come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
to513
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely getaway”
Reviewed August 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very much enjoyed my stay at Red Dog. The cottage was largely as anticipated and Sally very thoughtful. Largely peaceful and very pretty surrounds, clean, very comfortable lounge room, fabulous fire. The kitchen is tiny, but well equipped. Loved lying in bed in the morning with curtains open, or chilling on the veranda, and looking out at the view. 20 minute drives to some good bushwalking in Moron National Park and Seven Mile Beach.

A few small things took it down to a 4 out of five for me, and more about what I am looking for as an individual - I think the main bed could do with an upgrade. I ended up with a very sore lower back. Since I was staying for a week, I came well equipped with food etc, but found storage for this difficult with the bar-sized fridge and lack of free shelving, so a lot of it ended up on the kitchen table - which also needs to be used for prep space. Great gas stove/oven though! (Just bring large knives if you need them). Strangely for several of the nights, there was some mechanical sound going on at night - and I couldn't work out if it was planes or machinery or a generator being used nearby. Not an issue the owners can deal with, but just a little disappointing that the peace was interrupted, and I was trying to go to sleep.

The second cottage on the property is a little bit further down the shared drive, so they and anyone else passes Red Dog when they go there. It is a very steep drive, so a low front wheel drive is not great. I was there during wet weather, so ended up parking my car up the top of the drive for the whole stay at the smart suggestion of Sally. Just a warning for those with small cars.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
Hi, thank you for your lovely comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I just wanted to respond concerning the bed, in case people are put off. All of the mattresses were replaced with high quality new ones in early June this year. Your bed also had a feather mattress topper for additional comfort. So sorry that, in this case it didn't suit your requirements - a very disappointing outcome. We have had many guests commenting on how comfortable they found the beds. Regarding the noise at night, I am completely at a loss to know what it was. As you know, we are on 18 acres of rural land so I can only assure you that it would not have been any form of machinery, generator, or pump running at night. If it was some sort of air traffic, it would be a very rare occurrence. Thank you for your other comments, we appreciate you taking the time as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiScarlet...
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful escape”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Some of the most peaceful and relaxing days I have had in a long long time. Kangaroo valley turned on the rain and we loved it! A quick trip down to berry for some gourmet snacks and a few bottles of wine and then back to red dog to snuggle up by the fire.
We stayed in the bottom cabin called the fernery, the decor is rustic and charming and it really does feel like a home away from home. The only beautiful difference being you can't hear any cars whizzing past your window just some playful local parrots!
Added to our lovely stay we were lucky enough to see an echidna, kookaburras, a wombat and even some dolphins at 7 mile beach (20 min drive)
We definitely recommend red dog to anyone looking for a lovely mountain escape... We will be back ourselves before too long!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing