We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, Tidy & Plenty for the entire family!”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden and table on North side of house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden and table on North side of house.
Living room to outside table area.
Kitchen island bench.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Garden and table on North side of house.
Living room to outside table area.
Kitchen island bench.
Some visitors
Kitchen table.
Looking out the sun room has a light and airy feeling.
Outdoor fire pit looking to the outside table.
Wombat on property, drive slowly at night
Echidna on property
Charming Eco Friendly Hand Crafted House on Rural 12 acres
Master bedroom.
Master bedroom bay window looking out to the native bush.
Ensuite with shower.
Main bathroom.
Hot outdoor shower and bathtub.
East end of the house and garden.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 3 - 'The Montana Room'.
Bedroom 4 has a king single bed also.
Games tables and other play things area.
Aerial view of some of our 12 acres.
Bar be que and outdoor table area.
Looking to the North and more of our 12 acres.
North side table.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alexandra...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Clean, Tidy & Plenty for the entire family!”
Reviewed November 11, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Beautiful property in Kangaroo Valley with everything you need for the whole family!
From kitchen appliances to plastic ware for the kids, and plenty or space and games for the whole family to enjoy.

I loved the little touches throughout the entire house, the owners Dennis & Helen have put a lot of effort into maintaining the vegetable garden and the abundant amount of fire wood was amazing!

The pool table and table tennis were a bonus, with the whole family able to enjoy the property.

The Kangaroos come right onto the property and laze around if you're lucky! We saw lots of different animals whilst here, and we also enjoyed the little bush walk with the little statues for the kids to find!
Another bush walk was just down the driveway with a fun walk about 1km long leading to the river to either swim in or take in the scenery. Lots of fun, my son loved the space on the property to run and have a ball.

Would love to return to this property in the future, perfect for friends to stay as well!
xxx Alexandra & Family

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your week at Grey Gums and we enjoyed having you. It was great listening to your son running around having fun and hope you can return some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Grey gums is a tranquil, and beautiful place.”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Grey Gums, was a wonderful place, it made my husbands 50th a weekend to remember,
the kitchen was really well stocked for all our cooking needs. we found the whole experience relaxing and full of joy.

we'd love to return again some day,

thanks for a great getaway weekend. Rachael

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
We are glad you had such a great time and are sorry we were not there to meet you. We hope you can return some time soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmtee68
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were looking for a relaxing family getaway for our family of six and Grey Gums fit the bill perfectly. The property is thoughtfully and thoroughly appointed, spotlessly clean yet warm and welcoming. The many indoor and outdoor games and activities were perfect for our needs. As keen cooks, the kitchen was ideal and met all our requirements.
Grey Gums is ideally situated a short drive from beautiful Hampden Bridge and the little collection of village shops, including some delicious bakeries and coffee shops. The adjoining bushland is unspoilt and beautiful and the detailed directions for the walk to the river were extremely helpful.
Overall, our time at Grey Gums provided exactly what we needed - time away from the big city and quality time together as a family.
Thank you for your hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you very much for your wonderful review Emma. It was great to have your family here having so much fun. We were glad you were able to take advantage of the things on offer and make the most of your stay. We would love to have you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked Greygums for an extended family weekend to celebrate a significant birthday. We found the facilities excellent, and we particularly enjoyed both the fire pit and the wood fireplace in the house. Easy to find, and a million miles from anywhere. Highly recommended for a short or long stay in a fabulous part of Australia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Thanks for the review, we are glad everything went well and that the coffee drinkers were satisfied.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamelajsh...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Kangaroo Valley wonder”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our group of 9 people just stayed for the wweekend to attend a family wedding. We were all extremely impressed with Grey Gums and its beautiful surrounds. There was plenty of room for all of us and the house was so well equipped with everything we needed. Thanks Dennis for your lovely welcome, well hopefully be back soon!
Ps the outdoor bath was fabulous and the pool table was well used by the kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2017
Thank you Pamela, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family. I was impressed with the manners of your kids as they all came up to introduce themselves and to shake my hand. We would love to have you all come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina J
2 reviews
“Quiet house with kangaroos”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed for 4 days and were surprised how well the property was presented. There was all we needed for perfect long weekend away with friends and family. The surroundings were quiet and we were lucky to see few hoping kangaroos as well. Nice easy bush walks, made extra special and interesting for children. The outdoor bath was great for kids too. We all really enjoyed this stay. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
And a big thanks to you as you were great guests and it was lovely to meet you. We are glad all went well with the kids and that some of the locals hopped by to say hi.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay A
1 review
“Great relaxing family break”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A lovely quiet country spot. The house and grounds are thoughtfully set up to provide comfort and amusements for all the family in all weathers. We all enjoyed toasting marshmallows over the fire pit and especially the hot outdoor bath under the stars. Dennis the owner was very helpful and made it all so easy for us to just chill out.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you Kay and David, it was lovely having you stay at our house. I enjoyed talking with you and hope you will be able to return sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing