We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and coffee in a cute Australian village.”
Review of Bistro One46

Bistro One46
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: European, Australian, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bistro One46 has become a favourite meeting point between the Southern Highlands and the NSW South Coast. Whether you are taking a day trip, staying in Kangaroo Valley or travelling through, be sure to drop in to Bistro One46 for a meal or a coffee. In the heart of the village or scenic Kangaroo Valley, Bistro One46 is the place to dine all year round with the grape-vine covered balcony, air conditioning available inside for summer or the open-fireplace inside for winter. Silver award recipients for the South Coast Tourism Award Best Tourism Restaurant in 2013 and 2014. At Bistro One46 we pride ourselves on offering tasty, fresh food sourced local where possible, local wines, professional and friendly service as well as value of money in a relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant is family friendly and offers kids meals, has high chairs available and welcomes bookings for groups of up to 60 people. Open LUNCH Saturday/Sunday 11.00am-3.00pm and Monday/Tuesday 11.00am-2.30pm DINNER Friday/Saturday 5.30-9.00pm and Sunday-Tuesday 5.30-8.30pm. (Closed Wednesday/Thursday & Friday lunch) Group bookings welcome Friday lunch (min. 20persons)
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and coffee in a cute Australian village.”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Great food, good menu at a really good price. But more to the point the coffee was excellent. Sorry to hear some others had poor service. (The owners seemed bent on appearing professional). No complaints here. I always go back there despite there being other choices in this cute town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Nicolette,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that everyone has different opinions and expectations but we do try to provide good produce, good food and good service at good prices.

We'll see you next time you are in or through KV.
Regards, Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    83
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Excellent venue for Sunday lunch. Surf and Turf included excellent locally-produced scotch fillet. Also enthusiastic, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IJR213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear IJR213,

Being located less than two and a half hours from Sydney and Canberra and half way between the Southern Highlands and the NSW South Coast, we have found that many people are visiting us on day trips as well as those staying in KV. The drive is scenic and you can enjoy partial views from the balcony.

We are glad you enjoyed your meal and thank you for posting your comments.

Regards, Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Great place for a small town. I did not expect such a nice place like this in KV. The food was excellent and the service was good and friendly. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ubangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Ubangy,

Thank you for your recommendation. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and hope that it added to your time in Kangaroo Valley.

Regards, Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning food, excellent service”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here last weekend for dinner. The food was sublime and the service attentive and friendly. I couldn't decide on my main - everything just looked delectable. I ended up going for the curry and my husband, the steak. Both were beautiful, particularly the curry. I was so full but my husband had no problem finishing off the plate.

Oh. My. Gosh. The Wine. We chose a local Sauv Blanc which was faultless. We actually went to the winery the following day on our way home to pick up a few bottles.

As we're from Sydney, we were advised to come here, or Cafe Bella across the road. I'm so glad we chose this place, because our experience at the latter the following day for lunch was less than satisfactory.

Helpful?
Thank Mz_Tv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your dinner. We do aim to provide meals that and satisfying in taste, quality and value for money.

I relish the opportunity to share with visitors the local wines and produce that we have. The Sauv Blanc that I have is from Centennial Vineyards in Bowral. Many people are surprised - pleasantly - at the high quality of wines in the local region and of course, Kangaroo Valley sits between two wine regions (South Coast and Southern Highlands). It's an onerous task sampling them - but someone has to do it!! I am glad you dropped in there.

We look forward to seeing you when you come to or through Kangaroo Valley again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent food, accompanied by the friendliest service”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Me and my wife were here just a couple of days ago for dinner. The chef and hostess were wonderful to us, as well as to the others in the restaurant, of what we noticed. Extremely friendly people who were so easy to connect to. Pity they are closed Thursday and Friday (lunch) else would have definitely returned for another meal in the one trip.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manjogol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Manjogol,
Wer are glad you enjoyed your experience at Bistro One46. We love to see familiar faces. Since we were unable to host you twice in this visit, just might mean you will have to return to the valley again! We hope you do and we look forward to seeing you then.
Regards, Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro One46 also viewed

 
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Bistro One46? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing