We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality dining at a reasonable price”
Review of Bistro One46

Bistro One46
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: European, Australian, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bistro One46 has become a favourite meeting point between the Southern Highlands and the NSW South Coast. Whether you are taking a day trip, staying in Kangaroo Valley or travelling through, be sure to drop in to Bistro One46 for a meal or a coffee. In the heart of the village or scenic Kangaroo Valley, Bistro One46 is the place to dine all year round with the grape-vine covered balcony, air conditioning available inside for summer or the open-fireplace inside for winter. Silver award recipients for the South Coast Tourism Award Best Tourism Restaurant in 2013 and 2014. At Bistro One46 we pride ourselves on offering tasty, fresh food sourced local where possible, local wines, professional and friendly service as well as value of money in a relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant is family friendly and offers kids meals, has high chairs available and welcomes bookings for groups of up to 60 people. Open LUNCH Saturday/Sunday 11.00am-3.00pm and Monday/Tuesday 11.00am-2.30pm DINNER Friday/Saturday 5.30-9.00pm and Sunday-Tuesday 5.30-8.30pm. (Closed Wednesday/Thursday & Friday lunch) Group bookings welcome Friday lunch (min. 20persons)
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality dining at a reasonable price”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This weekend my boyfriend and I had dinner here and it blew us away. His angus sirloin steak was cooked to perfection and my duck was full of wonderful flavour. Every bite was delicious, not to menton the staff were friendly and attentive. There are not many other restaurants in Kangaroo Valley to choose from for an evening dinner, but there is no need to worry with Bistro 146, you could keep coming back time and time again.

While the ambience could be improved a little, it's hardly worth worrying about as the food is the highlight. We'll definitely go back when we visit the valley again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GailCA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    83
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were greeted by a very friendly woman who made us feel welcome. I ordered the steak and my girlfriend ordered the lamb shanks, both our meals arrived promptly and it more then exceeded our expectations! We would return in a heartbeat. Love this place and definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwdwdw_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely evening with wonderful people!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A group of 12 have just spent a lovely weekend in Kangaroo Valley. We had a lovely meal at Bistro One46. The place was lovely and very accommodating of our group. I booked based on recommendations online and am very glad we ate here. Some of my friends were still raving about their meals days later. Highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped at Bistro One46 on the spur of the moment on our way to Berry, and were delighted with our meal. We could tell from the warm and professional greeting by Nicole that this was going to be a very warm place to spend a couple of hours, but were completely delighted by the quality of the meal - beautiful presentation, perfectly prepared, and absolutely delicious. Having worked in a restaurant and been a pastry chef, I can always detect quality food - and this was clearly the work of a well-trained chef. I live in the US, but so wish I could return frequently and become a regular!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pascale295_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Pascale,
We are glad you enjoyed your meal and time on your Australian visit in our restaurant and this special part of Australia.
Perhaps one day you will return - particularly to KV!
Best wishes, Nicole & Gerald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberfoyle park, sa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So good, my husband wanted to start his dining experience all over again!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spotted this bistro some months back and have been keen to dine in since.
Service is prompt and courteous - you are immediately acknowledged with a smile and a warm "good evening" as soon as you step inside the restaurant.
We only came for mains, but ordered entrees and stayed for dessert (delicious !) and digestifs. Flavours are very well balanced and the menu appeared to suit a number of palates.
My husband and I have dined in many restaurants all over the world, and agree that this quaint bistro is definitely one we shall return to. In fact, after looking rather satisfied at his empty plate, husband happily declared that he could, right there and then, begin his dining experience all over again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Sonia G,
I am glad you and your husband enjoyed dining with us. There are many classic favourites on the menu that our guests enjoy selecting. It is sweet that your husband wanted to begin his night again - just means you will have to return in the not too distant future.
Regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro One46 also viewed

 
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Bistro One46? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing