We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely dinner”
Review of Bistro One46

Bistro One46
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: European, Australian, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bistro One46 has become a favourite meeting point between the Southern Highlands and the NSW South Coast. Whether you are taking a day trip, staying in Kangaroo Valley or travelling through, be sure to drop in to Bistro One46 for a meal or a coffee. In the heart of the village or scenic Kangaroo Valley, Bistro One46 is the place to dine all year round with the grape-vine covered balcony, air conditioning available inside for summer or the open-fireplace inside for winter. Silver award recipients for the South Coast Tourism Award Best Tourism Restaurant in 2013 and 2014. At Bistro One46 we pride ourselves on offering tasty, fresh food sourced local where possible, local wines, professional and friendly service as well as value of money in a relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant is family friendly and offers kids meals, has high chairs available and welcomes bookings for groups of up to 60 people. Open LUNCH Saturday/Sunday 11.00am-3.00pm and Monday/Tuesday 11.00am-2.30pm DINNER Friday/Saturday 5.30-9.00pm and Sunday-Tuesday 5.30-8.30pm. (Closed Wednesday/Thursday & Friday lunch) Group bookings welcome Friday lunch (min. 20persons)
sydney
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We dined here when there was a 48 degree day and a lot of other places decided to close. We appreciated the air coditioning. Lovely food, well worth a visit.
I especially loved the duck. Great it's BYO with $3.50p/p corkage

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blessedgreatly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Blessedgreatly,
We certainly had a few hot days in Summer! We are glad you were comfortable in our restaurant and that you enjoyed your meal.
We do offer BYO wine because, even though we also have a range of local and Australian wines, we know that we can't cater to everyone's favourites - there are so many wines out there - but there are some tasty wines on our wine list too!
Hope to see you again when you are travelling in Kangaroo Valley.
Regards, Nicole Poelzl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    83
    14
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and fabulous food”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I decided to try this bistro based on the recommendations from trip advisor. We were not disappointed. The service was exceptional to the point that one of the waitresses provided us with a dessert menu while we were perusing the menu as she overheard us talking about whether we would have an entree or dessert. My husband had the surf n turf which was exceptional, and I had the lamb cutlets which was also fabulous. We both could not resist the sticky date pudding which was the bes I have ever had. I would highly recommend a visit to Bistro 146 - the food is top notch and the great service makes the experience very memorable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you Sonya, for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and hope you enjoyed your visit to Kangaroo Valley as much. See you again.
from Nicole Poelzl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best choice in KV”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

After reading the reviews here, we had to try this place on our recent holiday in Kangaroo Valley - we werent disappointed - it was the best place to eat in Kangaroo Valley. Just make sure you book though (in peak season), as many people were turned away as it was full when we were there. The food was great - I had the slow roasted duck, and my husband had the surf and turf special - both were great, except my potatoes were disappointing - floury and rubbery. But apart from that, the food was good overall. Desserts were great too - I had the passionfruit creme brulee and my husband had the chocolate mud cake. The night we were there was full and quite noisy with large groups, but the quality of the food and friendliness of the waiting staff made up for it. It has a nice outlook with outdoor seating, but they werent using the outdoor seating at dinner.
Note they are closed Thursdays - not sure why as many people take long weekends. And as Cafe Bella isnt open either for dinner on Thursdays, it means JingJo was booked out on Thursday night that we were there, and the pub was the only alternative for many disappointed people .....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldyFunken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Goldyfunken,
We are glad you were not disappointed by your visit with us. It is good advice to book - particularly Saturday nights. Sometimes we do not book the balcony tables as well as inside - it just depends on weather and the timing that guests arrive.

The surf & turf and duck have both been very popular on this menu! I am sorry you found the mash a bit rubbery -- it certainly is a favourite with many diners here.

We are closed Thursday nights -- but we are open Monday - Tuesday - Wednesday!
Regards,
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, friendly service”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Read other reviews on TA and decided we must try Bistro One46 while in Kangaroo Valley. We weren't disappointed.

Started off sharing the Pork, duck & pistachio terrine. Delicious!! My main course choice was crumbed mushrooms with tartare sauce while partner had potted tiger prawns in garlic cream bisque served with toasted Turkish bread. Both were very tasty.

We had only planned on a main course each for lunch, then the terrine took our fancy for entrée. We could not walk away without trying the potted vanilla bean crème brûlée with berry compote and the apricot bread pudding with dried fruit poached in syrup served with ice cream. At that point we knew we had died and gone to heaven!

Staff were friendly and had no hesitation in splitting up a larger spare table set for 10 so that we could have a table to outside under the fabulous grape vine canopy.

Would eat here again without hesitation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geelongites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Geelongites,

We are thankful for Trip Advisor and the gracious reviews people have put on. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and dining on the balcony.

Enjoy your travels and we may see you again in the Valley one day!
Regards,
Nicole & Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We dined here for dinner then breakfast. This is an excellent restaurant with great quality food and lovely local wines.

Skip the pub and come here instead, you won't regret it. Highly reccomended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank senorgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole Gerald P, Owner at Bistro One46, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Senor Greg!
We are glad you enjoyed your meals with us over your stay in Kangaroo Valley. We hope we see you again when you are here later in January.
Happy New Year.
Nicole & Gerald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro One46 also viewed

 
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven
 

Been to Bistro One46? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing