We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping facilities.”
Review of Glenmack Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangaroo Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenmack Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great camping facilities.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Glenmack Park over the Australia Day long weekend (3 nights). We've never camped here before and chose the location because we could take our small dog and campfires are permitted (we love a campfire cooked feed). The park is very well presented with permanent and holiday mobile homes/cabins to one side and a lovely camp ground circling a pond, very pretty. We really liked the flexibility of being able to choose our own campsite and for only $28 per night makes for a great budget get away. The park is very quiet and is situated within a short walking distance to the village of Kangaroo Valley where there is a general store and a few speciality stores and cafe's.
The amenities at the park where a big highlight for me (when camping I have very basic requirements). The showers had normal shower heads, not those skinny jet nozzles, and constant hot water even when someone else was using the water. Big ticks!
Our days where spent visiting local townships like Berry (great speciality shops) and sightseeing. Be sure to visit the Flat Rock Falls and Cambewarra Lookout.
The only downer for us was that we where not able to access the river. We felt certain that we must be able to as the park rents kayaks. When asked how we get to it the reception gave us a map with directions and once we walked to the bank of the river there was no access without a kayak let alone with one. Maybe we where in the wrong spot (?)
We paid a visit to another large camping ground in the area and with the limtied amenities and congestion that where there we think that Glenmack Park was the better choice by far.
Thanks for the free Aussie Day breakie BBQ guys. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All camping grounds are flat and clean of sticks etc. plenty of shaded areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bronwyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
30
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just spent four days here with our gandson. We had one of the powered sites, which are situated at the far end of the park, away from the road so nice and quiet. sites are very spacious and face an open field. The park is very neat, clean and provide the usual camp kitchen, BBQ, wash up areas with hot water, and is walking distance from the little town with various shops, small supermarket, cafes & pub. The amenities block is very clean and has lots of toilets & shower stalls. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shirley854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at Glenmack Park, along with my brother and his family. We found the family cabins comfortable and accomodating, the amenities were clean and functional. The hosts were very friendly and offered lots of advice on where to go and what to do whilst staying in Kangaroo Valley. The park is only a very short walk to town, where there are lots of interesting shops and things to see. (I spent way too much in the antique shop.lol)
It was nice to stay somewhere that was truly family friendly, the kids could roam and play, and had a ball in the 'pet park'.
Glenmack was a beautiful, quiet place to stay, far enough away from the craziness of the coast, but close enough that the beach was only a short drive away. The local waterways are ideal for kayaking (hubby and son want to come back and try out their new kayak!) and the town was great for family meals. Check out the awesome bakery too.
For great family value, I can highly recommend Glenmack Park for anyone wishing to stay in the Kangaroo Valley area. I know we will be coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caringbah, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived at the caravan place and received a warm welcome which was awesome. We got into our caravan which we had payed $90 per night, we were staying for 2 nights. The caravan looked like it had not been cleaned at all!! There was hair EEVVVERRRYYWHEERRREE the bathroom walls had hair all over them. It was like a hairdresser had been in there and flung around hair cuttings it was disgusting!! Anyway i decided i didnt care that much as it was only hair. Until we got out the bbq utensils and there was dry egg, dry bacon, dry tomato allll ovveerrr every single utensil in there.. That was so disgusting it made me want to vomit. The bed was uncomfortable and everything had been banged up badly in the caravan. It was scratched and marked and had huge chips out of the kitchenette. The bed was uncomfortable and everything just felt untidy. The next day i went and complained about the whole mess and got a refund back for the first night. I basically did their cleaning job for them for the caravan. Not happy. The bed was covered in hair, bugs and whatever else you can imagine, so we slept on the doona with a rug from the car. The second night we just couldnt wait to go home.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere a bit more expensive if you want to guarantee cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmack03, Manager at Glenmack Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Angela P

Thank you for your comments. We are upset that you did not enjoy your stay at our park.
Our customers are very important to us and we do pride ourselves on good customer service.

As explained when you came to see me the next morning you must have been given a key to a cabin which had not been cleaned and when I investigate it that was the case. I do apologised that we did not pick up on this error until you came to see us the following day, however as I said at the time to you I do wish you had reported it to us immediately on check in and we could have changed your cabin and even upgraded you for your inconvenience, this matter could have been rectified immediately . However as soon as you came to see me I did offer you another cabin plus the refund you said that you did not want to move cabins. Having said that there is no excuse for such an oversight by our office staff we can only hope that the refund went some of the way to recompense you. Once again thank for you time and this will ensure that this error will not be repeated. We wish you and your partner all the best for your future arrival.
Yours sincerely
Tara Larkins Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very nice, quiet park. We had one of the powered sites, which are situated at the far end of the park, away from the road. The sites are very spacious and face an open field. The park is very neat, clean and provide the usual camp kitchen, BBQ, wash up areas with hot water, dump point and lots of space for kids to run around, and is walking distance from the little town with various shops, small supermarket, cafes & pub. The amenities block is very clean and has lots of toilets & shower stalls. Campfires & pet allowed. Overall a peaceful place for a weekend getaway and we'll go back if in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank strawberrychocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
369 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Our stay in Kangaroo Valley was for a girls weekend, so we booked the deluxe family cabin for the 3 of us. The cabin had 2 bedrooms with a double bed in one bedroom and 3 single beds in the other (1 stand alone bed & a set of bunks). The lounge also converted to a double sofa bed. The cabin could sleep 7 people although it would be very cramped. The main bedroom is a good size. The second bedroom is quite small, it has one tiny cupboard & one bedside table-nowhere to hang any clothes. The bathroom was very clean but storage is a problem. It has only one towel rail and no robe hooks so our bathroom towels had to be dried outside each day. Also no shelves put toiletries bags. Sheets are supplied for the double bed only and only 2 bathroom towels are supplied regardless of how many guests you pay for. The lounge/dining area was well furnished and the kitchen had everything you need. Overall the accomodation was clean but small.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Glenmack Park, on the eastern side of sleepy, scenic Kangaroo Valley is a great place to set up as a home-base whilst you venture out to sample the wonders of the Shoalhaven.
We spread ourselves between an ensuite cabin (for the non-tent dwellers) and an unpowered camp-site (for the outdoorsy ones and the dog) and were impressed by all of the facilities.There may be no pool or sauna to lounge around, but dogs are welcome, there's plenty of space to spread out and let the kids play on the well manicured lawns, the Council pool is nearby and you can access the river through a neighbouring property. The toilets, BBQs, camp kitchen and playgrounds are all basic, but tidy and functional. The littlies will love seeing the pony, alpacas and chooks. The staff were helpful and friendly. We'll definitely return to Glenmack, with dog, kids and campervan again.

Room Tip: Book ahead to get a cabin further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangaroo Valley
2.6 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country Resort
0.7 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Tourist Park Accommodation
Kangaroo Valley Tourist Park Acc...
#6 of 9 in Kangaroo Valley
35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Bundanoon Country Inn Motel
9.7 mi away
Pleasant Way River Lodge
21.0 mi away
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
#1 of 7 in Huskisson
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmack Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmack Park

Property: Glenmack Park
Address: 215 Moss Vale Rd, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Kangaroo Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kangaroo Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Park, self contained cabins and villas, powered sites and non-powered tent sites. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing