We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, clean and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pioneer Motel

Pioneer Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kangaroo Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kangaroo Valley
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean and quiet”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend for a family wedding in the valley. Very comfortable, clean and peaceful right in the middle of town. Lovely to stroll to the bridge and look through all the little shops and enjoy coffeee and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdnilAustinmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Pioneer Motel for three nights and only departed this morning. We had a wonderful stay in a large and clean two-bedroom suite, which was quite comfortable.

I have read that they had a bird problem in the car park but I can report that this has been resolved through a humane method of scaring away the birds and is no longer an issue. I'm sure they will soon get to cleaning up after the birds.

My wife booked our room over the telephone as there is no website or online booking. This was both good and bad: bad that they probably miss business but good for us because we were able to book a room only a couple of days before we showed up!

The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating.

I did mark the sleep quality as average only because I find all hotel mattresses too firm and we have yet to find a king-size bed in an Australian hotel.

As it was winter, we did not try out the swimming pool.

Outside the big hotels in Sydney or Canberra, this was the nicest Australian hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerberus2913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Only in Kangaroo Valley for short time on way to the coast so the motel was the ideal spot for us, on the main street opposite the pub, among all the shops and cafes. Booked over phone as don't seem to have website/online booking - only knew about it as had been through Kangaroo Valley before - which must mean they miss business, but at least meant they could fit us in at short notice! As other reviews have mentioned the welcome could have been warmer, but was polite. Rooms were good motel standard, clean and very spacious - with a kitchen/eating area. Undercover parking and nice central garden area. Good pub over the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BananaW0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Kudos to the front desk team for their willing assistance in helping my husband and i find transport out of kanagroo valley. Although we weren't guests at the hotel, staff spent quarter of an hour researching timetable options for us and even allowed us to use some of their facilities, as we were stuck in a bit of a bind, having missed a bus and plane. Can't comment on the rooms as we didnt stay overnight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaHWithoutAnAlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Rooms were big and and clean, with a little dining area and microwave thrown in for those wanting a night of solitude. For everyone else, the pub over the road was full of friendly locals and a guy on a guitar who does some great Rolf Harris covers once everyone's imbibed enough booze. The receptionist at the motel was a bit terse, but that had no impact on my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaguraCato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I went to a 40th Birthday party on the weekend that was held at the Pub across the road. The hotel was booked out with guests from the party apart from 2 rooms.
Initially the staff were very nice over the phone and knew that this was a large group booking. Another friend who had made a booking, luckily for her she called to confirm before the event and was told that there was no booking registered for her? So the organisers of the party made sure that everyone who had made a reservation to phone the motel to confirm their booking as they had apparently some of the bookings were missing? The pub closed early at 11pm so everyone went back to the motel. We were threatened by the managers that if we did not go to bed that he would call the police, however the managers and their family were sitting in side sipping wine, but we were told to go to bed!!!!!! So we went into one of the motel rooms instead of being out side. Then the Manager with 2 or 3 of his teenage sons came up into that room and threatened us again with the calling the police. I must remind you all that we had booked out the motel so everyone (except 2 rooms - who we checked with the next morning said we didnt bother them at all and once we left downstairs and went into the other room couldnt hear us at all).
I must say that the rooms were clean, but the pool was disgustingly dirty I would never of swum in there, also the car park underneath the motel was full of bird crap, so if you park your car down there it will be covered in poop.
Like another post I read, if you do not like people, do not run a motel.
The lady the next morning was very rude to all members of our booking and made it clear to all of us that she would never take a group booking again.
Would I stay there again............................ NO WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mozzie271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kangaroo Valley hotels

Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Not much to say. All pretty standard conditions, execpt that the room quiet large. Room was clean, fresh and new towels, air-con (heat mode) was working great, bathroom was nice and looked renovated. We stayed for a night. As we were in Kangaroo Valley for a wedding we pretty much just slept there. No comment to breakfast as we ate outside. For this region one of the cheapest place to stay - $135. Unfortunately you can book by phone only thus you will not get a confirmation should you book in advance. So you need to trust the receptionist that he/she book it in. In our case there was no problems. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spatzen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangaroo Valley
2.3 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country Resort
11.1 mi away
The Robertson Hotel
The Robertson Hotel
#1 of 1 in Robertson
168 reviews
15.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crystal Creek Meadows Luxury Cottages & Spa Retreat
4.5 mi away
Wombatalla Guesthouse
Wombatalla Guesthouse
#4 of 9 in Kangaroo Valley
23 reviews
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balan Village Motel Nowra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Motel

Property: Pioneer Motel
Address: 152 Moss Vale Rd, Kangaroo Valley, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Kangaroo Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kangaroo Valley
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel Kangaroo Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing