We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place don't eat the scones”

Junee Licorice & Chocolate Factory
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Junee
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Junee Licorice & Chocolate Factory is open 7 days a week, everyday except Christmas Day, 9am-4pm. Take a tour through our historic landmark, originally the Junee Flour Mill, built in 1935. Tours run every hour on the hour. Starting at 10am and concluding at 3pm. For the more adventurous guests there is freckle or rocky road making. This is where visitors are able to have a “hands on experience” with our Organic Belgium couverture chocolate and make their own chocolate freckle or creation of rocky road. With a beautiful cafe and gourmet lunches available.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place don't eat the scones”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Had coffee and scones with some friends, the scones were to say the least terrible. They were chewy and hard to swallow. We told the waitress who apologised and took them away. she later returned to tell us that they were 'old' and a new batch was being cooked. We were not offered a refund nor did we get spoken to or an apology from the people who do the catering. Overall this is a lovely place, and I highly recommend a visit. The catering side of things need to be greatly improved, especially considering they are willing to sell old food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    142
    30
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The food is great. The sweets sublime and the Gift /Kitchen shop would leave a Big City Shop in its wake. i would move to Junee to go to this shop a lot.

What a great find.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yurugaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yummy Licorice and Chocolates”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Visited Junee Licorice and Chocolate Factory last month with friends and really enjoyed it. I did not know what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised. There was a demonstration of licorice making with lots of tasting of various items which they sell to the public. My favourite was the fresh 'organic' licorice and I learned that if it goes a little hard after a while, I can zap the pieces that I want to eat straight away into the microwave for a few seconds to refresh it. I loved the chocolate coated ginger also. There is a very nice cafe where you can sit inside or outside in the courtyard - very nice! Upstairs there is a kitchen/homewares shop where I found things that I have never seen elsewhere - well worth a visit. All in all it is a good place to visit if you are in the area - it was only a short drive from Wagga Wagga, where we were staying.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorrisydney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Attraction”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you are in the area this is a MUST VISIT. There was 12 of us and we all thought it was fantastic. The old building has been renovated just enough so it maintains its charm and sense of history. The tour cost $4 and the guide was informative and fun, tour is not to be missed. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Fresh licorice & chocolate samples led us to the shop to purchase many delectable delights. We stayed on for a delicious lunch at The Graze and were pleasantly surprised to be entertained by a very fine blues musician, Rhys Crimmer (or similar to that). The Junee Railway Station is worth a look and an overnight stay at The House of Monte Cristo is also worthy but that is another review.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

What more do you want? A day out at a place where you can first enjoy the sights and smell of chocolate being made to the bigger delight of tasting it. You can get a a small talk before watching a video before commencing the tour. Of course you have to leave here with your pockets full of yummy chorolate and liquorice

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junee Licorice & Chocolate Factory also viewed

 
Junee, New South Wales
 

Been to Junee Licorice & Chocolate Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing