We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Huskisson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Freshwater
1 review
“A lucky find”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Just happened to stumble upon this b&b on a spontaneous weekend to Jervis Bay. We have 2 kids(3 & 5) so were thrilled with the family suite. Kids could watch a DVD in their room and we were able to relax by the fire in the cozy sitting room. The location is very quiet yet only a 5 minute stroll to town. Kate and Steve were extremely helpful and gave us great tips for things to do in the area. The continental breakfast was fresh and delicious...a perfect way to start a day of whale watching. They have thought of everything and my kids were so impressed with their babycinnos in the morning. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing and memorable stay around Jervis Bay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    36
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
69
172
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Huskisson B&B was the perfect antidote to our busy Sydney lives - the house was warm and welcoming with a stylish decor and the hosts were friendly and helpful whilst also being discrete and allowing us our privacy. The room was perfect - spacious, with direct garden access and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was luxurious and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious and we were made to feel completely at home. 5 minutes to the local cinema, cafes, restaurants, and whale watching tours in the town. We can't wait to go back and unwind at this exquisite little gem of a place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We booked this for the long weekend in June. Arrived to a log fire in the communal area and a lovely warm bedroom.

The garden room was beautifully laid out with everything we would've wanted We took a friends dog with us as we were looking after it. However the place was clean, nice smelling and warm. Not something I'd usually associate with a dog friendly place.

Great suggestions for walks, good list of eating places and good dvd selection of an odd range of films all made this break easier.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I had trouble finding resonably priced accommodation that was family-friendly in Huskisson. So I was stoked to find this place that provides a family 'suite'with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. The area is really well sound-proofed so you dont have to worry about disturbing anyone if you have an unsettled child.
The vibe is so relaxed we immediately felt right at home. The breakfast is simple but tasty and we took advantage of the fire that was lit every evening. Oh, and the stunning deep claw footed bath was very luxurious with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bournemegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Chose this place based on reviews here and was surprised that very few mentioned that the place is actually on a busy road. Added to this the uncared for garden at the front of the house, our first impressions were not so good. It's not necessary to maintain a meticulously kept garden, but being greeted by large weeds is not welcoming. Perhaps someone has been sick/busy and hasn't had time.

The accommodation was lovely, and the bathroom flash. The guest area was cozy and comfortable with plenty of reading material available. Hosts very helpful and charming. Unfortunately, although Huskisson is a relatively quiet place, there is enough traffic to make the front room accommodation noisy. Don't know whether there is accommodation at the rear.

A continental breakfast is included and is good. However at $200+/night, it would want to be. In the end, although good quality, it is still muesli, fruit, yogurt, toast etc. Many people value good food and have access to this standard at home, so not really that special. The price charged begs the question - where are the just-laid eggs and free range bacon????

At the price, given traffic noise and lack of hot breakfast, I think the value is questionable. We were in Blackheath the week before, where for less money we had a simpler but just as comfortable and quieter room with a beautiful freshly cooked breakfast, including local mushrooms. Lounge area was at least equal to Huskisson. It depends what you value, but the 'shabby chic' and cute style of Huskisson B&B is not enough to get me back at the price we paid.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank sasanqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuskyHouse, Owner at Huskisson Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
We are sorry that you were not as happy as our B&B guests usually are. I do wish you had said something about your concerns when you were here, as they were all rectifiable.

1) The road: Perhaps other people don’t write about it because it’s not a problem? We are situated on one of the two roads into Huskisson, and yes, there is some daytime traffic, but this is a small seaside village and it is quiet at night. The couple who were in the verandah room for several nights before you, have stayed here twelve times and always request that room. No one else had ever complained in the eight years we have been here, but a note to future guests: If you have hyperacusis or live in a cul-de-sac, please ask for the Garden Room. (I'm pretty certain it was available when you stayed here and I note that you didn't ask).

2) We clearly state on our website that we serve a continental breakfast and that we will happily cook you (organic, free-range) eggs if requested, as we often do. We buy organic muesli, yoghurt, we squeeze fresh orange juice, make tropical fruit salad (with expensive seasonal fruits like blueberries and mangoes) and cook fresh fruit compote every morning. Steve cycles into Huskisson for fresh bakery bread every morning and we make excellent, individual coffees - cappuccinos and lattes - or pots of leaf tea. The local jams are so delicious that many people go and pick up a few jars from Keith The Jam Man (who lives around the corner).

3) We think staying at Huskisson B&B is good value. Quality accommodation in this area is on the expensive side (there are no resorts or hotels here, so it is at a premium). We are cheaper than all the other boutique bed and breakfasts in the Jervis Bay area - and even the same cost as two of the motels. We provide clawfoot baths in all the rooms, underfloor heating, guest sitting-room with a log-fire, super comfy beds, huge towels, free DVDs and we have some great midweek and weekend specials. We are a tiny B&B with only two rooms. I don't think it is fair to compare us with an other area like the Blue Mountains where there are literally hundreds of B&Bs, guesthouses, hotels and motels. I also suspect you may have booked your stay here without looking at our actual website, as you are clearly an avid tripadvisor reviewer and you say it was 'not what you expected'.

4) The front garden was getting a bit wild and had some overgrown, dead flowers - so we have tidied it up and replanted. It does look a lot better, so thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I found Huskisson B&B a highlight of our two year wait for a break. We arrived frazzled from work and recent demanding lifestyles and left feeling cared for and rested, even though it was a 2 night stay. Initially a one night stay we extended our stay for another night as it was such a pleasure to be there. Kate and Steve are fantastic hosts.

The home was a clear winner for me. I've tried many a hotel, a motel and a B&B in NSW/VIC and this was unmatched. (The only thing missing was a hot breakfast!) I found the decor absolutely tasteful, uncluttered, clean and exceedingly fresh. Which is beautiful as it takes us away from the messiness of life for those few days.

I was very thankful for an intimate B&B that catered to children as well (well mannered children). It is the only B&B in the area (Jervis Bay, Vincentia, Huskisson) that caters to children. Hannah loved the rooms and being able to escape the confines of a small studio as well. Thank you.

Thank you so much for your warm hospitality. We will be back, that's a promise.

Room Tip: Each room is beautifully set and catered for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyOnLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I stayed five days at Huskisson with my aunt in March 2011 and loved it. Did not want to leave! The property is very well located, not too far not too close to Huskisson, it is quiet, spacious and beautifully decorated! I definately recommend it if you go down the coast and want to stop over in Jervis Bay. Kate and Stephen are lovely and so are their 2 cats and lovely dog, Sundae! everything is thought to make you feel comfortable and at home and it works! Comfy lounge, dinning area, and a good range of tips for travellers from your hists! Amazing breakfast; great beds, lovely service, it is just my favourite option ever. Will definately stay there again; thx again Kate and Stephen! Charles

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huskisson
2.3 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ceespray on Owen
Ceespray on Owen
#3 of 6 in Huskisson
129 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huskisson Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huskisson Bed and Breakfast

Property: Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12 Tomerong St | Jervis Bay, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Huskisson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Huskisson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Huskisson Bed and Breakfast is relaxed, beach style, boutique accommodation * 4 comfy luxurious queen sized guest rooms. * All rooms have big ensuites with clawfoot bathtubs, walk-in showers, heated floors or heated towel rails. * All rooms open to the garden or the verandah. * The airy, white bedrooms all have super comfortable beds, quality linen, big towels, heating, electric blankets in winter, reading lights, ceiling fans, TV/ DVD, free movies. * The comfortable guest sitting-room has a real wood fire, games and books. * Free delicious light breakfast of fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, bakery toast & homemade jams. * Handmade espresso coffees or leaf tea in a pot. * Guests have the use of a fridge and microwave. * Free tea and coffee making facilities and ANZAC biscuits at all hours. * 5 minutes level walk to first of Jervis Bay's famous white sand beaches and seapool. * 5 minutes walk to beginning of coastal walking, cycling tracks and play parks * 3 minutes to Huskisson centre's cafes, restaurants, boutique shops, banks, bakery, pub. * 5 minutes walk to dolphin and whale watching cruise wharf, heritage cinema, dive centre. * 10 minute drive to Hyams Beach, Jervis Bay National Park and Booderee National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Huskisson Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing