We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good access to remote part of Jervis Bay, but not great for snorkeling”
Review of Dive Jervis Bay

Dive Jervis Bay
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good access to remote part of Jervis Bay, but not great for snorkeling”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

was sold as a snorkeling boat trip when i called on the phone, but really they were just filling out their charter boat, which was 7 divers, and 2 guys snorkeling, including myself. they promised to show how to use the snorkeling gear, where to go, etc, but the entire trip was 100% focused on the scuba divers.

they did point out where to go, and how to put the mask on. granted, snorkeling isn't rocket science but a bit more conversation would have been appreciated.


the location they chose was fantastic, though, and well worth the trip. i ended up there on a partly rainy day, so visibility was limited, which was a disappointment, but not their fault.

they also took great care of us while on the boat, with hot drinks and snacks between dives/snorkel sessions.

the dive shop did NOT sell underwater cameras. but a news store (convenience store) down the road did stock them, worth noting if you want to document your dive or snorkel.

was $85 AUD for snorkeling, including full wet suit, fins, snorkel and mask, and the roundtrip on the boat. entire trip took about 4 hours, for about 1 hour in the water. worth it, but wait for a fully sunny day to go.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toby O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveJervisBay, Manager at Dive Jervis Bay, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
On behalf of the staff at Dive Jervis Bay we thank you for the feedback. This helps us to improve on our level of service to insure that everyone gets the most out of their program. We are glad that the snorkelling sites were enjoyable. We assure you that action has been taken to ensure that regardless of the activity, that everyone is fully briefed so they can get the best out of their trip.

Regards,

The Dive Jervis Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good PADI dive centre”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was going to be in the area and called speculatively, the team let me know a couple of days later that a double boat dive was arranged. The friendly & professional team looked after us well, doing all the equipment transfers to the boat, which was well appointed and spacious with dry area in the cabin and enough that everyone could change out of dive gear before we were back on shore. The divemaster was informative and helped us get the best of the two dives on a day when the seals were not very engaging with their "audience". The cost was average for a double boat dive, the hire gear (in my case BCD, reg, tanks and weights only) was of good standard.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drivesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

They made us come from Sydney telling us that the water has never been clearer.
When we arrived we have learnt that the area suddered of flooding and that they were no way we could dive. Which was right. We took the boat anyway The water was very agitated. It was a wate of time and money!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank zakia i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent PADI dive business”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We went for a double boat dive just before Christmas so water temperature was cool but fine for our Melbourne wet-suits. We brought our own equipment except for tanks. The service was excellent with help to take gear from the shop to the boat and back and good facilities for rinsing off the gear at the shop. Wife and 11 year old snorkeled. The dive-master was excellent with a good briefing and led the dive competently. Hot drinks and biscuits between the dives were appreciated. Great scenery. Lots of aquatic life as it's a marine park. Will do it again when passing through the area. Price was reasonable (typical).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crimitorii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well kitted out company, great staff”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Well organised trip, staff went out of their way to help when we had some difficulties, highly recommended!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexF82XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive Jervis Bay also viewed

Jervis Bay, Shoalhaven
 
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 

Been to Dive Jervis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing