We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just not very good”
Review of Wild Ginger

Wild Ginger
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Huskisson
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just not very good”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The booking I made wasn't on the list. No table for 2 available, sat at table between two groups.
35 mins before our order was taken. 45 mins, still no wine had arrived, told they had sold out of the wine we had requested. The wine came and it was poor.
The oysters were very poorly shucked, horrible salty sauce. service was shocking, was it a teenager's first attempt at waitressing?
Over an hour later 2 mains arrived. The squid was good, no knife to cut it with, the pork was very sweet.
$128 = over priced for average food and really actually poor service. Take away fish and chips over the road is a much better option.
Would not recommend, will not go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bellandmaholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    86
    37
    21
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Parkes, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Second visit just as great!”
Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

The boy and I returned to Husky and Wildginger and were again impressed by the the fantastic food! Such fresh and spicey flavours. Yum yum!

Helpful?
Thank Margotjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sydney food in a country town”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

we were recommend this new establishment in huskisson by very fussy foodie friends and to this moment I am still thinking about my meal at wildginger...it was fully booked on a thursday night (outside of peak season) so we were glad to have booked for the six of us...firstly the owners deserve credit for turning that old building into a funky stylish establishment..My whole meal was up there with any flavours that I have eaten at higher profile restaurants..(we were told the chef/owner use to work for david thompson at sailors thai)you could tell straight away that this was true....from the braised beef cheeks to the dlicate pork belly + trout betel leaves this place is going places...well done and lucky locals..we will definately return!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a sensational new restaurant in Husky offering a modern and relaxed dining experience. I am a local and I dont venture to the restaurants too much but this one is by far the best I have been to (I am yet to try Sea Grass which is owned by the same ppl as Wild Ginger).
The menu is modern gourmet thai. I sampled the group menu which is great value..the squid was amazing however all dishes were lovely.
This place also has a great vibe, love the little wine/cocktail bar. A really great addition to husky and I will be back :-)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkipHopJump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect New Years Eve Dinner”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This past New Years Eve the boy and I landed in Huskisson and booked dinner at Wild Ginger hours before eating in the early seating. The meal and the service was great. It was Thai inspired, fresh and flavoursome. The staff were friendly and helpful. In fact everyone we came across in the town was a credit. It is great to see good customer service is not a lost art. Beautiful place, great restaurant!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margotjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Ginger also viewed

Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 
Huskisson, Jervis Bay
 

Been to Wild Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing