We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out. They've got your deposit.”
Review of Jervis Bay Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jervis Bay Cabins
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Watch out. They've got your deposit.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

It's funny that this campsite is actually so beautiful. Yet, you feel more like you're in a prison when actually on the campsite- although I think that even the hardest prison officer would be made to look like a very colourful individual next to the people who run this "business".
I have never received worse customer service in my life- and I have been to some pretty awful places. From start to end they acted like we were not welcome and an inconvenience to have there. We were dismissed, belittled and even threatened with being asked to leave in the middle of the night. We had a car issue in the morning that we required jumper cables and the old bloke who runs the place was just so rude.
The real feel of a prison actually comes from the hundreds of signs- each sign has a different rule- scattered all over the campsite- stuck to every tree. Theres even 10 stuck to the back of the toilet door- just incase you didn't see the first five hundred on the way to the toilets.
My favourite part of the whole experience is how money hungry these people actually are. $1 to use the BBQ, $1 for a 4 minute miserable dribble of a luke warm shower, $15 for firewood (god forbid they catch you collecting firewood from the bush). Basically all the basic amenities you need to use while staying in a place like this- you will be charged excessively.
Just to add fuel to the money hungry fire- they will try and take your bond off of you at any point they can- I think they got so mean towards us when we were leaving because they could not find any reason to not give us our bond back- even though they had tried several times.
GOD FORBID they find out you're actually from Sydney as well. As soon as they catch a whiff of that then they are like sharks that smell blood. The old man will walk up to your campsite from the bush in the middle of the night to check you are following all of the rules in a very disturbing way- in the way of him suddenly just appearing in the darkness asking you questions. Also- I think thats why they were so rude to us, because we were from Sydney.
So....
TIPS TO SURVIVING THE JB PRISON AND SKANKY CREEK

-don't make eye contact with the staff
-don't even talk to the staff
-wear your shackles at all times
-if coming from sydney make sure you're wearing redneck masking spray to get rid of that sydney sider scent that they pick up on
-Make sure you get wood before 6pm, if you miss it you will have to face the cold darkness without a light and remember the rule where you can't scavenge wood from the bush or they will take your deposit
and by far the most important which I am sure you will see if you are an idiot and ignore this post and go anyway
-bring a bag full of $1 coins, you will need it.

And this message is to the staff here at JB Cabins:
With all those deposits that you are taking from people, you should buy yourselves a personality and a new set of customer service skills.

Happy jail time guys.

Room Tip: Try and snag a spot in front of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BLB1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huskissonmicheal, Manager at Jervis Bay Cabins, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Correct you are not welcome here, when you disturb other guests by yelling and screaming throughout the evening & well into the early hours of the morning, You obviously, think only of yourself & your group having a "GOOD TIME" and do not consider or care about other campers around you. You also came in extremely late,& were noisy putting up your tent, & then continued to party. We are the only camp site in this area that allows camp fires & our office hours are between 9am & 6pm 7x days a week & if you cant organise to get wood within these times then thats not our problem.
Even though we took a security bond from you (which, incidentally was returned in full) covering you & your group, on arrival, & we explained what this was for & why we do this....it meant nothing to you. You had 2 complaints about your group the first night,, one of which left early because of your rude & inconciderite behaviour. A third complaint would have seen you evicted.This is a quiet place to camp and noisy groups are not wanted because they upset the entire camp. You did not like being challanged about your behaviour, & your constant referral to "Prison" makes us wonder! You did however apologise, showing that you knew you'd caused a problem, but it did little to solve your rude behavior. Your rererral to "worst customer service" is a direct reflection of having to deal with "worst customers"! You had trouble with your car starting, but no trouble asking for help from "the worst service providers". We helped you with this because this is what we do. And lastly..do you think we come from "outer space"??? we are also from Sydney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night a few days ago. We were sightly late in arriving but the owner said this was fine as long as we paid over the phone.

When we arrived we were surprised at how quiet and isolated it was. It is most definitely proper camping. The site is down a track, in the woods by a creek. You can have campfires and sit by the water and take in the noise of wildlife. At first we were a little apprehensive, seeing how quiet it was and a little concerned about how far away it might be from the bay. In actual fact it was very close and the nearest supermarket is a short drive. To stay here though you most definitely need your own transport.

While there are a many good points, we also encountered a few bad ones. To start with it is $65 dollars a night for a powered site. We thought this might include loads of extras so at first didn't mind. We later learnt that this price literally only included your space, and that's really it. You have to pay extra for a hot shower and any other luxuries. To have a hot water shower, you pay 1 dollar into a machine and this gives you 4 minutes. This is done to apparently save hot water. When those 4 minutes run out the hot water cuts off. I probably spent the 1st 4 minutes adjusting the temperature as it appears you can either have boiling hot or freezing cold. When you are finished, there is no way to turn the taps off so the hot water just keeps running until the time runs out. This I would say, is more of a waste.

We were only in a tiny van but it has a DVD player... In reception there are DVDs to rent to the people staying in cabins. I asked about renting one to watch in the van and the owner said no. I thought this slightly unusual as it is no different from renting it for a cabin. I would still be taking it out the office, paying for it and bringing it back.
The third annoyance was that there were 2 camping spots available, one at the back of the park and one closer to the amenities. We were told we could have the closer one if we stayed 2 nights but not for one. Both spaces were available but if we only wanted to stay one night we had to have the other spot.
Checking out rules are fairly strict, check out is at 10 and no later and there is a late check out fee.

In all honesty the place was fine but we have camped in 4 other places this week at half the price, with double the amenities, are much
More friendly and easy going and we had a better time.
I see why people like it here but we found a few things unnecessarily awkward. If the camp were 20-30 dollars a night, I think it's fair, given what you get and I probably
wouldn't have complained. for what it is, $65 is massively overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie123ghp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huskissonmicheal, Manager at Jervis Bay Cabins, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are a unique camp area where you get a "REAL CAMPING" experience....There is no reason to expect more in todays internet world as we do not advertise anything but bush camping with amenities.We do not pack campers in like sardines and we give people large areas to camp. if you have a problem with showers you are asked to report problems to office so they can be recified instead of winging on the internet. You also mention that you spent 4x minutes adjusting the hot water & then said that the hot water kept running & you couldn't turn it off? (the hot water only runs for 4xmins??) You were lucky to get any site at all as you came in off the street with NO BOOKING in Peak season, as well as coming in late & after we had closed. We had 2x gap sites, one for 1x night & one for 2x nights, & with gap bookings you were not getting a 2 night site when you only wanted one night. if you come in peak season expect to pay more any where, as it costs more in holiday periods to run a business. The DVD's are strictly for cabins & are NOT hired, but lent. There is a video easy shop close by for you to rent what ever you may choose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrickville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here Labor weekend so it was busy. But you would hardly know it. It was not crowded and each campsite meant your own privacy. This campsite does NOT attract the drinking loutish crowd so it is a good place to stay. Manager helpful and all very pleasant.
It is a bit of a way from the beach and it is essential to have a car to get around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brianoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Real bush camping with campfires by the creek amongst the paperback trees. Wonderful outlook especially from the riverside sites. Very helpful and friendly managers. Amenities clean and well looked after. Reasonable price. Its great. Also not too far from beaches - 20 mins on the bicycle to pristine beaches and nice cafes.

Room Tip: Choose a site by the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huskissonmicheal, Manager at Jervis Bay Cabins, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Well it is nice to get a good review and meet nice people as well,who know what real camping is about and also who are considerate of the bush and other campers.
thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Found this place to be a wonderful experience right in the heart of Jervis Bay. The park is exceptionally well run. Wildlife and Nature at its best. Campfire, stars, beautiful river - take your camera as you will be impressed with capturing a load of memories. Location is excellent we saw so much of Jervis Bay and National Parks whilst there. We will be recommending this wonderful park while travelling around Aussie. Well done George and Marie this is a credit to you. Oh don't forget to take your dinghy:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

A fantastic camping experience!!! Exactly what we were looking for! It was so great to find a park where tent campers are a priority. A beautiful bush setting. We were able to pick a site that was right next to the river, with plenty of space between us and other campers. Woke up in the morning and dropped a line into the river right out the front of our tent. Caught some flathead and cooked them on the open fire straight away. The amenities were very clean and well maintained. I was tempted to not write a review, so we could keep this amazing place a secret. Two nights camping at Hidden Creek and all the stress of the city has gone away. Marie and George were very friendly hosts and we wil definitely be back.

Room Tip: BYO tent and enjoy the outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolIneOShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson bay nsw
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We started going to Jervis Bay cabins 15 years ago in our Kombi and Tent. We later progressed
to a caravan. Always enjoyed the park surroundings and creek. The Amentities are very clean. Sometime we leave the caravan at home and use the cabins which are light and modern. The bed is very comfortable and the outdoor BBQ extremely popular. The Managers are very helpful and we often join them for morning tea while feeding the birds. The last time we hired a boat and motored up to Huskisson. Very pleasant. We highly recommend this bush retreat.
Roy
Nelson Bay, 2315

Room Tip: We choose cabins near the entrance and take the caravan down to the duck pond which has BBQ's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royNelsonBayNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huskisson
4.5 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
284 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
Jervis Bay Caravan Park
#1 of 7 in Huskisson
253 reviews
2.7 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jervis Bay Motel
Jervis Bay Motel
#3 of 4 in Huskisson
116 reviews
3.3 mi away
Huskisson Beach B&B
Huskisson Beach B&B
#4 of 6 in Huskisson
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jervis Bay Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jervis Bay Cabins

Property: Jervis Bay Cabins
Address: 55 Goodland Rd, Huskisson, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Huskisson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Huskisson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jervis Bay Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Camping On The River With Modern Amenities, Cabins Available With Bathrooms,powered Sites Available, Sites For Caravan / Camper Trailers Available, 4 Min Drive To Huskisson Jervisbay, Camp Fires Are Permitted. Canoe Hire Available Or Bring Your Own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jervis Bay Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing